Every Writer's Dream [Trollers Gonna Troll...]

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

A reader pointed out that this particular post might be confusing if you haven't read the comments section of my previous post, so here's the link to it if you're not up to speed: previous post. Just reveal all the flagged comments and you'll understand.

...

Sometimes I’ll write a post and will feel sort of meh about it. I’m a perfectionist and the thought of feeling meh about anything drives me insane. However, due to time restraints because of my job and my motherly duties, I’ll often just post my article quickly and call it a day. After all, I’m not here to write professional pieces, get hired for my writing skills, or please anyone in particular; I’m here to share my voice with the community and guide myself through the therapy and inner work I’ve needed for so long.

Sometimes, though, someone else makes me realize my words were significant and provocative without that being my intention; this is how you know you wrote something worthwhile that the world needed. This, my friends, is the ultimate compliment to any writer. Indeed, it's every writer's dream come true when a piece resonates with a reader. Sometimes that dream can turn into a nightmare, however.

writing-923882_1920.jpg

Photo source: Pixabay.com

My post yesterday struck a chord with someone, and it was strong indeed. That person clearly possesses so much unhappiness, nastiness, and judgment that I can feel it from here. Sorry to tell you, @arthur-schopen, but only God has the right to judge me.

At first, I thought I should just let your comments go. But after thinking about it more, I don't feel that's the right thing to do. You need to be held accountable for your words.

My post was meant as a personal journal allowing me to express my feelings and expose and move on from a painful relationship experience I had. My post quite obviously had nothing to do with you, Arthur, but if the shoe fits…

@arthur-schopen might want to look into the theory of psychological projection and then take a long, hard, honest look at himself and his own life situation before judging others.

As a writer here on Steemit, I offer myself and my thoughts it their rawest form before you, my valued reader. As a result, I subject myself to your criticism; it comes with the territory and I don’t mind, I really don’t. Anyone is allowed to make whatever comments they want, as that’s our basic right of free speech that everyone in this world deserves to have. If you want to pull random bullshit out of your ass about someone you don’t even know, that’s your prerogative.

Just don't expect me to put up with your bullshit. That is certainly not something that is required of me.

As I’ve mentioned before, words are one of the most powerful things we possess and they can be used as a weapon or as tool at our discretion. @arthur-schopen is a fine example of how words can be used as a weapon against someone he views to be vulnerable and defenseless. I’m just some bitter bitch whining about my life, right?

One disadvantage to this platform and posting on the Internet in general is that it’s easy for trolls like Arthur to come out to play. You never really know who anyone is. People feel the need to make cruel, unnecessary remarks on the Internet that they wouldn’t dare utter in real life because there is no accountability for such actions. These trolls don’t mind making fools of themselves because they can easily hide behind the comfort of their computer screens like cowards; this is the only bit of power they will ever feel like they possess.

@arthur-schopen, I invite you to travel to Los Angeles to discuss your comments to my face. I’ll even buy you coffee and pay for your hotel for your trouble. Heck, I’ll even buy you the expensive Starbucks espresso; I’m not a cheap date. Get out from behind your computer screen and humanize this interaction if you feel so strongly about what I wrote. Come and tell me about your infinite wisdom. Tell me more things I never knew about myself – like how I’m overweight, how I want an easy life with a man of a higher social status than I, and how I don’t have a job. We’ll just have to meet up in the evening or on a weekend because I work during the week at my job as a Marketing and IT Director at a home remodeling company.

I offer sincere apologies to a few of my followers who had to deal with this guy.

20170722_170611.jpg

Obligatory photo confirming my identity. Just for you, @arthur-schopen.

Sort:  

Yay @cali-girl! Your post be like...
yourpostbelike4.gif

Holy shit, do you know what's happening in the gif?

Yep, @suprepachyderm, I know exactly, and it's this:
@arthur-schopen's car parked right next to the explosion. I'm sure he didn't see it coming, just as he didn't see this post coming, or all the mutes and flags that he got after his lame comments for that matter :D
Go @cali-girl.
Be gone from Steemit idiot trolls.

PS. Otherwise, it's a natural gas explosion from a leaked pipe at some facility somewhere in Russia :)

I think more people would be forced to have civil conversations if they met face to face. The Internet can bring out the worse in anonymous behavior.

Notice how he doesn't respond? :)

Haha, yeah. I don't think they actually want to have a conversation - just looking for that quick dopamine rush that comes with being an asshole sometimes...

Sort of feel that's a bit of a mic-drop moment there. I generally, as a rule, don't feed the trolls, but this post was awesome. It has so much deeper meaning. It highlights how the angriest people online are like that because they don't have much self-power in real life. Rather than work on themselves, they'll use the internet as a crutch to support the great loss in other places.

I actually loved this. It's why I'm nice all the time, it's why I don't feel the need to be a bastard, because I like myself. And I have waaay too much respect for other people.

It's funny that, you'll find the shoutiest trolls are usually the quietest in real life. The quiet people online are quiet because they are too busy with real life, and the balanced people on the Internet run a healthy balance.

Definitely. Hold people to account all the time :)

Careful: Don't feed the trolls. They'll come back. Even if you feed them back their own shit.

His own shit must have been fatal because he hasn't returned yet...

Hi caligirl! Shoutout from the OC here!
I don't like trolls and how some internet users sense no accountability. I hope these words don't affect you. I haven't been a victim, but I have seen how PATHETIC and CRUEL some of these trolls can be.

Steems been treating you well for blogging? It does have incentive to promote good content, which i like :)

Hey! I was actually in OC earlier tonight!

u must be trying to get some food or disneyland huh! haha

Food of course!!! :)

Don't even give a moron like that the time of day. He will most likely enjoy the attention you're giving him.. Just keep writing and do what you do, there are always going to be idiots like that guy everywhere and in everything you do, just address them once and move on!

Yes, you are right. He won't be receiving any more recognition from me.

I think that this post should have a different title. Something that gives out what this post is all about. I am a reader, and I read every word that you wrote here, and for the most part of it I was confused and felt left out, like a secret joke or an incident that everyone knows except me.

You should have posted the back-story post link, in the beginning, to give new people some context.

And honestly, I did like your piece titled “What Kind of Woman am I,” your explanation of why you don’t smile is apt. I have heard that from several women.

Keep writing and don’t let trolls troll you and spoil your mood over them.

P.S: I post stuff on How to Become a Writer and make money with Steemit, please take a look at it.

Thank you.

I have added the link to the beginning of the post and added somewhat of a description to the title. Hopefully that's helpful to some people.

Thank you for making the changes. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cali-girl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great post and trolls are everywhere!sad but true! Ignore them and don't feed them... came here through the post of @ocd ! Following for more :)

Yay! Nice to meet you @redtravels!

Great post as whether it is steemit or whatever the case is we've all dealt with this in one form or another. Words definitely have a ton of power in them but not everyone sees it as such.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Sure, share away!

Congrats as your posting made our daily compilation and you should be getting a lot more exposure rather soon. Have a great rest of the weekend.
Here's the link https://steemit.com/ocd/@ocd/ocd-daily-issue-19

Wow, thank you!

My pleasure and keep fighting the good fight ;)

I will never stop! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35