The Flint Knappers - Chapter 9steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

kellepics.jpg

The morning is such a beautiful and sacred time for we Vanara. And for me personally it is always the best time of the day. I prefer to spend my time above ground so I can watch the sunrise. My heart sings each time and I would hate to miss it by being deep in the caves.

As I was out gathering berries this morning I came across something most amazing. In a clearing near the cave entrance I found a sleeping female Adama. She seemed ill but with no signs of harm. Her hands and feet were cold but her heart was pounding. When I poked her she didn't wake up. Fearing what would happen if the Rakshasa were to come along I decided it would be best to take her into the caves where she would be safe. She is the only one of her kind I have seen besides Newman. I must tell him of her right away. I hope she will be ok. Newman is so lonely. He doesn't show it on his face but I can hear his heart crying.

Her presence here is a complete mystery but I am so happy I found her. We have become such good friends with Newman and we would like to see more of their kind. The Vanara and Adama have walked together since before the great war began. On their planet we were allies and our legends still speak reverently of the great warriors Bhima and Arjuna.

It is sad that they have forgotten so much of our history together. Ever since they built the tower and the great one silenced their ability to speak with their hearts they have been walking mute. They became trapped in their minds and will remain that way until they remember their path of wisdom.

As I am entering the cave there is an air of excitement among my kin. I thought it was because I had found the female but I was surprised to discover that there was yet another female who had been found and was already resting in the place of healing. I am a little worried that the one I am carrying in my arms will wake up and panic at the sight of me. It is a common reaction for those who do not know us. She begins to stir as I place her in a soft spot and cover her with pelts. I will sit nearby and watch over her until I know she is better.

My son cries out to my heart as I am waiting. I can see that he is along the trail near the village and is startled to find yet another Adama. This one is a male with brown skin. I can sense my son's excitement and confusion as he is asking me what he should do. I tell him to go for help to get the Adama to Newman's home. Soon after he is running to find Tar'eyuh the village healer and they quickly return and begin to carry the man away.

I didn't even finish gathering our breakfast and my day has turned to a most pleasant series of surprises. There will be time to gather food later but for now I must care for these helpless cubs until we can bring them all together in a safe place. I can't stop smiling as I think about how happy Newman will be to see more of his own kind. I'm sure he will be here soon.

The End


Read Chapter 1
Read Chapter 2
Read Chapter 3
Read Chapter 4
Read Chapter 5
Read Chapter 6
Read Chapter 7
Read Chapter 8

Title image provided by pixabay user: kellepics
Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Your killing us out here my friend ;) going through withdrawals waiting on the next installment...

I've been kind of busy with a couple of contests the last few days. I have been trying to decide what direction to go next. I thought I would close this series out for now and try something else. I would love to hear what you think about that. The way I closed out this chapter leaves it open for continuation. I didn't want to seem like I was trying to milk it forever.

I'm ok with doing a never ending series but I would still want the plot to go somewhere.

Thoughts?

Was there something about this series that stood out to you? A favorite chapter or character?

cheers

I would like to see Newtons reaction to reuniting with his friends and rekindling his romance with Astrid? Also as they develop technology how that effects the Vanara good and bad, and the Vanara showing them how to reconnect with their heart and higher mind etc. Lots of directions it could go. I hope you don't close it out, it really could be a best seller and I am really picky LOL. Maybe at some point they could even get back to earth or a planet of humans. Or they are like the Adam and Eve Story for this new planet etc. Keep them coming my friend!

Just a quick update...I've decided to continue the series with a few refinements. I'll be posting the first installment later today or tomorrow.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by btcnoodle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @btcnoodle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @btcnoodle to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82