The Flint Knappers - Chapter 7steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

hans.jpg

Having completed the beacon I am hoping to turn my attention towards exploring the surrounding area. While I have managed to piece together a pretty good map there is still much to explore.

In the process of getting to know the Vanara I was able to learn where they get their iron ore. They are mining from the various caves that I spotted on my first day up the hill. While I have been eager to explore there I have been prohibited from entering. Every time I try to wander off in the direction of the caves I never get far before they surround me and in a polite but firm way let me know that I shouldn't go any further. I have figured out that they spend quite a bit of time both below and above ground. I suspect the caves are used for keeping most of their children and elderly safe and also for storing goods. Apparently they also do some mining as well and have access to a number of useful materials. Most of the trace minerals I needed to forge the chalice came from their mines with a couple of items we could never find being traded with the Naga.

I have long imagined what their hidden world might look like and today it looks like I will get to find out. They have finally agreed to give me a tour based on a recently boosted trust level. I really got their attention with the harvest of our first sweet potato patch. It was a natural variety that seems to thrive if you give it even the slightest attention. They love to have them roasted and seem to understand the benefits of having them close by in a garden. I wasn't exactly clear on the invitation but I think the reason for the trip is to take a load of the potatoes to the caves. Probably some to share and some to go in storage.

I need to get ready for the journey. I can't be sure how long I will be away so I will pack a few light provisions. My next entry will hopefully be from the caves.

memorycatcher.jpg

We have thankfully made it to our destination deep inside the cave. I'm writing now from a comfortable hammock approximately six kilometers below the surface. All I can think to say is "Wow!" I have been in a constant state of amazement all day as we made our way deeper and deeper into this mysterious hidden world. Where I expected a dark, damp hole in the ground I was stunned upon entering the first chamber to find myself in a vast and well furnished room that had been decorated most meticulously.

It seemed dim at first but after a few minutes of time my eyes adapted to the level and it was enough to see well. The light was emanating from some sort of phosphorescent slime on the walls. While I would expect that sort of chemical lighting to be a spooky green color that wasn't the case. The slime produced a very clear white light as a result of another interesting property. If the slime gets smeared you'll have a different color of light that comes from it as the recently disturbed area is exposed to the atmosphere. As it dries a thin iridescent film forms on the surface. As the light from the inside passes through the outer layer it is evenly transformed somehow into a perfect white light. I suspect it is a nano effect like that of a blue bottle fly. It reminds me of fine Venetian glass. The Vanara have obviously smeared it around where they want more light and the hand drawn streaks continue down through the various passages leading further in. This amazing light display illuminated the space in a way that would rival the great cathedrals of Europe. It was welcoming and inspired thoughts of the mystical. It seems pretty obvious that this represents something of a utilitarian temple for the Vanara.

Having seen much of this particular cave system in our descent today I can understand the need to be selective with guests. They are vulnerable here. We passed a creche and healing chamber on the way to the food storage. I shudder to think what a Rakshasa could do to this place if it ever managed to get in. That would be no small feat however as the Vanara have created a labyrinthine maze of tunnels and rooms that run in every which way. Even if a breach occurred their system of trap doors and narrow passages would greatly hinder the beasts movement. It's really quite clever. It reminds me of Cappadocia, the underground city in Turkey.

We have gone as deep as we intend for this trip. The mining that has been taking place here shows great promise for moving my tech capabilities to the next level. One of the pigments they use for painting the cave walls is often found in the same areas as copper. If I could find a source of copper ore a whole range of new capabilities will come online. With a little luck and lots of sweat I may be able to build my first crude electronic components before I die of old age. Hah, I shouldn't be so cynical. Truth is I'm still way ahead of the curve in terms of mission milestones.

There is still an ever present awareness of the mortal threat posed by the Rakshasa. One of my Vanara friends showed me a series of amazing cave paintings near the area we stopped to rest. It was a very plainly depicted scene of a Rakshasa attacking a group of Vanara. The figures were primitive, just a little better than stick figures, but they conveyed the point well enough. My friend was pointing to a scene where the Rakshasa is throwing something at some unfortunate Vanara warrior. He keeps pointing back and forth between the illustration and his head. It took me a moment to realize it was him depicted in the scene and the scar on his face he was pointing to was a result of getting hit with a burning log!

My friend pointed to a crude wooden vase on the floor that was filled with a pigment powder. He was letting me know I could do a little painting if I wanted. This put a smile on my face and I took the time to leave a few impressions of my own. I didn't think I would have the time to chronicle all of my adventures and settled for a few human hand prints instead. To whom it may concern....a human was here...

Having stored all of the potatoes (and enjoyed quite a few as we traveled) we should be ready to start our trek back to the surface after we all get some sleep. A strange thing about the Vanara is they sleep standing up. It's rather odd to watch but that's how they do it. Knowing this in advance I brought my hammock along for the trip. As I write this and get ready to drift off to sleep I decide it was well worth the effort to bring it along.

To be continued...
Read Chapter 1
Read Chapter 2
Read Chapter 3
Read Chapter 4
Read Chapter 5
Read Chapter 6


Title image provided by pixabay user: hans
Second image provided by pixabay user: memorycatcher
Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Your writing style is impeccable, my friend! Do you have anything published? Anywhere I could find your works?

Always great to get a nice compliment like that.

I've been a computer geek my whole life and only recently started creative writing here on steemit. So, basically everything I publish is a steemit exclusive original. If you liked this one I suggest you check out chapter 1. I am having lots of fun with the different group projects on here as well, like the freewrite.

I'm planning to wrap up this series soon and start on a new story line.

Still figuring out what the steemit audience is looking for. So far it's just been a struggle to get the ideas out. Hopefully I'm getting better as time goes on.

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @btcnoodle to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12