Skipping Stones on the Stream of Thought - #2

in #writing6 years ago

jacob_mckinley.jpg

I hope everyone has had a Merry Christmas. It's a good time to reflect back on the previous year and look forward to the new. 2018 is going to be an eventful time. Reminds me of that old Chinese curse, "may you live in interesting times".

Or how about an Arabic variant? "May all your wishes be instantly granted". The lesson here is be careful what you wish for. As we roll out our plans for the new year be considerate of the law of unintended consequences and don't entertain fools.

I recently wrapped up the next installment of the Flint knappers series (The Flint Knappers - Chronicles) while leaving it open for a continuation. I learned a lot from publishing this series that I intend to apply to the next. Lessons learned include both getting accustomed to writing on a regular schedule and the mechanics of steemit publishing.

I want to try something a little different but still stick to the episodic format. I'm thinking either sci-fi based on a 5 minute freewrite I did about an old derelict ship that gets restored as a bar and flies around to different places looking for business, or possibly a noir/private investigator sci fi series. Or maybe something that I haven't thought of yet.

Whatever I decide on I want to write it mostly in advance so that when I start publishing I don't have to worry about the story feeling rushed. There are a few writing contests that are still in process so I want to be careful not to spread my time too thin.

Having a blast, thanks to everyone on steemit. It's still a grind but I'm learning something new every day and I can envision my path moving forward. Onward and upward.

Title image provided pixabay user: jacob_mckinley

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

@btcnoodle I have really learnt some lesson on this post about Christmas and been careful of oneself wishes for.
Merry Christmas to you dear

Cheers to the new and interesting 2018! :)) I know that nothing but success awaits you on Steemit :))

Hey, great to hear from you. I hope you had a nice Christmas with your family. Thanks for your kind words. I'm still having fun with it so I guess that's what counts. Working on ideas for my next story.

Cheers!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by btcnoodle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @btcnoodle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

You got a 1.57% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @btcnoodle!

You got a 2.84% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @btcnoodle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99