You'll see this post title — and then you'll scroll down past it — and then you'll scroll back up, out of sheer curiositysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

And then you'll click.


no reason 1.jpg


You'll click, and you'll look at this picture, and you'll wonder what in fuck that weird wooden structure thing is.


no reason 2.jpg


I'll tell you exactly what it is.


no reason 3.jpg


It's a headframe.


no reason 4.jpg


Headframes are things they built above vertical mining shafts back in Leadville's boom days.


no reason 5.jpg


They built headframes as a kind of aboveground anchor, and they attached cables to it, and they sent those cables down the mining shaft, so they could haul ore up out of the earth.


no reason 6.jpg


Then they dumped that ore into rail cars and shoved them down the track.

See that wooden wreckage in the foreground up there?

That's what remains of an old railway support.

150ish years ago you'd have been looking right down the barrel of a rail car right here.


no reason 7.jpg


But it's not 150ish years ago.

It's today.

And I've got a lot of things to say.


no reason 8.jpg


The things I have to say are related to the fact that there is no reason for me to be writing right now. I've tried to find a reason. I've tried so hard, so many times. But the reason isn't there. Some people seem to have writing figured out. They seem to have a reason. They know how to scroll down, and then scroll back up, without any problems. But I can't figure it out. I can't scroll down, or up, or anywhere really, without creating some kind of complicated cantankerous mess of everything. I'm just not very good at writing. I've tried to be good at writing, I've tried so hard, so many times, but I'm just not good at it. Writing just seems to get the best of me. I don't understand writing, but writing understands me, apparently, because it always gets the best of me. Writing knocks me down, and then when I stand back up it knocks me down again. Writing is brutal. Writing is brutal. It's brutal. I guess what I'm trying to say is,


no reason 9.jpg


I scrolled down this vertical mining shaft,

and I can't figure out how to scroll back up.

Help.


※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※


Hello from the high Rockies of Colorado. My name is Brandt, pleased to meet you. I live in a little ghost town called Leadville. If you like mountains, snow, jokes, scrolling, running, hiking, breathing, not working, &c., &c., then you and I have a lot in common. We should chat sometime. Yes, all photos are mine unless otherwise noted. Outstanding: my entire Steemit archive. Even more outstanding: funny postcards for sale. So incredible: my website. Jesus Christ, @brandt's signature is so fucking long and stupid, he should end it soon. The end. Thanks for stopping by, and have a lovely day.

Sort:  

blah blah writing... I am writing right now. Nailed it. You do that anyway. Keep nailing it eventually it is nailed so much it will never move. Then you don't need to do the scroll up and down since it will be nailed in place. Just keep nailing it :)

Unless you said help I would have imagined you would not mind being at the bottom of that mining shaft.

Normally I don't mind being at the bottom of mining shafts, but this one had a ghost and he was mean.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

You'll see this post title — and then you'll scroll down past it — and then you'll scroll back up, out of sheer curiosity

Nope, I clicked on it first glance. I'm a rebel like that.

Looks like a catapult, like every wooden structure that doesn't make sense to me. That explains the enormous crater.

I don't have a reason to write either. Your right, it has us. Being a writer makes us write. It's a painful disease. I'm a little masochistic.

The world needs more rebels. Let me know if you'd like to start a revolution. There is lots of old wood lying around here to build catapults with.

I'd love to build a catapult. I don't think I'd be that great at the revolution part though. I'm squeemish. I'm great at baking bread though, if that helps :)

Excellent. You can help build weapons and feed the troops.

I'll keep you posted on the status of the revolution.

I think you're better at writing than you think. After all, you got us to click, and then told us a great story, in both words and photos, about mining operations in days-gone-by. Bravo! Lovely photos and I enjoyed the narrative! 😊

Thank you @thekittygirl! I'm glad you enjoyed my little meltdown narrative.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by penderis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56