Descriptions on the Spot: Jun 29 - Jul 6

in #writing7 years ago

Well, now that I've had to send @ladymaharet back to the frozen wastelands of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, I am back on track to stay current with my posting and keeping everyone entertained. In that particular vein, we are back with another week's worth of contest to entice you fine folks to use those writing muscles!

Welcome to another week of Descriptions on the Spot!


Special thanks at the moment to @kryptik and @jedau for resteeming and upvoting last week's post to get it circulated around a bit farther. @kryptik, just so you know, you owe me a contribution for this week since you said you'd give me one last week. And the week before. AND THE ONE BEFORE THAT. You're writing checks your body can't cash!

In case you missed our first return post in six months, Descriptions on the Spot is a writing contest for fiction authors. It isn't genre specific, and anyone can enter.

How it works:
I'm going to leave a few writing prompts in the comments section. You are more than welcome to add to them. Writing prompts can be anything, but try to keep them short; a sentence or less if possible. You can also use photographs and images that have been posted by people here on Steemit as prompts, provided you ask their permission first and link back to their original post in your story!

All submissions must be original works; no copying and pasting older stories! There's no maximum limit on word count, but please at least make it 250 words long. Once you have a story written up, leave a comment below the specific writing prompt you responded to with a link to your story. That will keep the comments section relatively cleared up, and it will make it much easier for me to go through and read all the entries.

What you can win:
Well, I want to say that winning the respect and approval of your peers is enough, but a cash prize is always appreciated, right? Since I don't have anyone else curating the post with me at the moment, I'll take a look at the submissions myself. Every week will have one winner, and they'll earn at least 5SBD or the SBD for the post payout; whichever ends up being greater that week! SBD rewards from previous posts, if unclaimed, will roll over into the next week's posts. We're up to 30 SBD!

Let's get some submissions going and put some work in! Time is money, and there's already some money on the table!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by anarcho-andrei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This week's prompts from yours truly are as follows:
mediation
gumption
too cool for school
polarity
reversal

And since I'm getting rid of MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE, I will replace it with:
DEATH INCARNATE

Hello and thank you for the opportunity to post here! My entry is under the reversal prompt. Thanks!
https://steemit.com/writing/@nexusfyre/descriptions-on-the-spot-july-6th-contest-entry-under-reversal-prompt

Thanks for sharing this info, I'm following you

Wish I had a bit more time to write but I gotta be doin that drawing thing :) will end up reading chapter 2 of your story prolly later tonight though!

Awww c'mon! 30SBD is within your grasp! It's at your fingertips! :D If you want to start tagging your art with #descriptionsonthespot or posting links to them in the comments here for other authors to use, I'd really appreciate that. :)

I think that's a cool idea. Here are 2 pics that is free to use for inspiration or to include in a story post for this contest. All I ask is you include "Artwork by @steemitadventure" right below the pic so it links to my profile.

I'll submit something either tonight or tomorrow. Gotta keep myself busy. Lol.

I didn't mind the redirect this time!
I wish I had know about this sooner. For my series I have been using pixabay images because when I look at beautiful photography my mind just takes off and runs away with it. I want to enter one for meditation :)

Feel free to! Just make sure you source your picture via a link in your comment and post a link to your story below it. I'd also suggest scrolling through some of the pictures and photos that Steemians on here have posted and asking if you can use them. I've had a lot of success doing that; just gotta make sure to credit the original picture in your post. :D

Hello, I always credit the original picture it the post! You will learn that about me.
I would also rather keep using public domain photography and credit that even though technically I don't need to. Steemians would not take kindly to manipulation of their pictures even with credit. And anyway it's more difficult to search Steemit for a picture that speaks to me because scrolling though some are originals and some are credited from elsewhere themselves. Seems less complicated to source my own :)

That's why it's always best to ask. Sometimes I get shot down, but I've had really positive experiences and built a lot of fantastic relationships with artists and photographers through this. @zaebars is one such user, and she's still one of my favorite photographers. :D Best of luck! I look forward to seeing what you come up with if you decide to try your hand at it.

It's really great that you have had positive experiences! In the future I will definitely keep an open mind to the idea of building relationships here with photographers and artists. For now though my method works for me and it's what motivates me. There is no either or here is there? Right now I don't feel like I have a choice in the matter for the purposes of this contest.

No no, please don't take it that way. I've been so laser focused on trying to build that bridge I can come off as overbearing. Use whatever you'd like :)

Okay, awesome! I don't have any ideas right now for 'mediation' but I did write something new this morning that fits 'meditation'. So as much as I would love to enter the other prompts don't inspire me. Perhaps next week :)

Feel free to choose your own prompts as well! This is all self-guided. I'm just tossing out ideas :D Whatever does prompt you to write a story for this, just add the prompt in your comment response.

What a great idea for a contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12