Descriptions on the Spot: Jun 22 - Jun 29

in #story7 years ago

Sorry for the delay on posting the next week of Descriptions on the Spot, but I've been busy spending time with my lovely girlfriend @ladymaharet! We've been having a great time down here in Montgomery, and I just got back from a fantastic time at Perdido Key in Florida.

Welcome to another week of Descriptions on the Spot!


Special thanks at the moment to @kryptik and @jedau for resteeming and upvoting last week's post to get it circulated around a bit farther. @kryptik, just so you know, you owe me a contribution for this week since you said you'd give me one last week. And the week before. You're writing checks your body can't cash!

In case you missed our first return post in six months, Descriptions on the Spot is a writing contest for fiction authors. It isn't genre specific, and anyone can enter.

How it works:
I'm going to leave a few writing prompts in the comments section. You are more than welcome to add to them. Writing prompts can be anything, but try to keep them short; a sentence or less if possible. You can also use photographs and images that have been posted by people here on Steemit as prompts, provided you ask their permission first and link back to their original post in your story!

All submissions must be original works; no copying and pasting older stories! There's no maximum limit on word count, but please at least make it 250 words long. Once you have a story written up, leave a comment below the specific writing prompt you responded to with a link to your story. That will keep the comments section relatively cleared up, and it will make it much easier for me to go through and read all the entries.

What you can win:
Well, I want to say that winning the respect and approval of your peers is enough, but a cash prize is always appreciated, right? Since I don't have anyone else curating the post with me at the moment, I'll take a look at the submissions myself. Every week will have one winner, and they'll earn at least 5SBD or the SBD for the post payout; whichever ends up being greater that week! SBD rewards from previous posts, if unclaimed, will roll over into the next week's posts. We're already up to 25 SBD!

Let's get some submissions going and put some work in! Time is money, and there's already some money on the table!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.


Sort:  

Thanks for the shoutout, man! You have my support whenever you need it, of course. It's great of you to pool money and give it as an incentive. I hope that attracts more people to this initiative :D

But...did you go to the Flora_Bama?

HA! No. We went to the yacht club across the street though! We weren't keen on hanging out somewhere that was packed full of loud, obnoxious rednecks.

Not sure why I wasn't following you already. Go figure after noticing you have a way with words in your comment to my post I stop here and in fact you do write :) looking forward to reading some of your work. Good luck with law school btw!

I do what I can. Really I just roll my face across the keyboard a couple of times and slam the enter button with my fist. Thanks for the follow! Hope you enjoy what I put out :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64