Descriptions on the Spot: Jun 15 - Jun 22

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I figured we might get off to a slow start, but that's okay! We are still here, and we are gonna keep plugging away at this until we get the ball rolling again. I've got nothing but time (since I'm basically broke and will be until my debt is paid off)!

Welcome to another week of Descriptions on the Spot!

Special thanks at the moment to @kryptik and @jedau for resteeming and upvoting last week's post to get it circulated around a bit farther. @kryptik, just so you know, you owe me a contribution for this week since you said you'd give me one last week. Consider yourself served!

In case you missed our first return post in six months, Descriptions on the Spot is a writing contest for fiction authors. It isn't genre specific, and anyone can enter.

How it works:
I'm going to leave a few writing prompts in the comments section. You are more than welcome to add to them. Writing prompts can be anything, but try to keep them short; a sentence or less if possible. You can also use photographs and images that have been posted by people here on Steemit as prompts, provided you ask their permission first and link back to their original post in your story!

All submissions must be original works; no copying and pasting older stories! There's no maximum limit on word count, but please at least make it 250 words long. Once you have a story written up, leave a comment below the specific writing prompt you responded to with a link to your story. That will keep the comments section relatively cleared up, and it will make it much easier for me to go through and read all the entries.

What you can win:
Well, I want to say that winning the respect and approval of your peers is enough, but a cash prize is always appreciated, right? Since I don't have anyone else curating the post with me at the moment, I'll take a look at the submissions myself. Every week will have one winner, and they'll earn at least 5SBD or the SBD for the post payout; whichever ends up being greater that week! SBD rewards from previous posts, if unclaimed, will roll over into the next week's posts.

Let's get some submissions going and put some work in! Time is money, and there's already some money on the table!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.


Sort:  

Is there a word max or min? Is flash fiction allowed?

I hadn't thought of a word limit. At least 250 words, if you could. I'm always in favor of flash fiction, but I'd like to see some more fleshed out ideas. If your story about the history of mankind is "he was born, he lived, and he died," well, that is rather poignant, but it doesn't really entice the imagination :D

Cool. I'll work on something to submit. (Though, as an aside, I would argue that strong flash writing can achieve as much as a short story (maybe even as a novel).)

Absolutely agree. I'm very much looking forward to see what you produce!

What about:
"He was born, into a world without limits. Yet he lived within his limitations. He died having met his limit."

Just playing. I decided to see if I could make your example more compelling and stay under 20 words with it. LOL

Updated to use the words.

"He was born, into a world without limits, destined for glory! Yet he lived a stoic life within his limitations. He died perturbed, and down for the count, having met his limit at maximum overdrive."

Best I could do on short form notice ;)

Here's some prompts for this week:

stoic
perturbed
down for the count
glory

And, just because I like the way it sounds, I'll carry this one over from last week:

MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE

You're free to use your own prompts! If you use an original prompt, make sure you include it in your comment with the link back to your story!

Just keep chipping away at it, bro. I just know that your dedication to this is going to bear fruit. I have the utmost belief that you'll be able to breathe life into this and make it your own :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61