Descriptions on the Spot: 8 Jun - 15 Jun

in #writing7 years ago

Admittedly, I have to laugh at having another "we're back" post for this, but, once again, we're back. I sincerely apologize for the 6 month long hiatus; that was entirely my fault for getting busy with other projects. That said...

We're back!!!

So now that I've returned to Steemit and found that DotS has once again gone inactive, I'm going to try my darnedest to pull it back up and get it going again. This was easily one of my favorite competitions/collaborations, and this was part of the reason I became so fascinated and invested in Steemit in the first place. I never had the opportunity to write flash fiction (or rather, in a way that generated any feedback at all), and it was thrilling to submit my original stories to be considered by other authors.

How it works:
I'm going to leave a few writing prompts in the comments section. You are more than welcome to add to them. Writing prompts can be anything, but try to keep them short; a sentence or less if possible. For example, my story here was in response to a single word prompt: "solaris." You can also use photographs and images that have been posted by people here on Steemit as prompts, provided you ask their permission first and link back to their original post in your story!

Once you have a story written up, leave a comment below the specific writing prompt you responded to with a link to your story. That will keep the comments section relatively cleared up, and it would make it much easier for me to go through and read all the entries.

What you can win:
Well, I want to say that winning the respect and approval of your peers is enough, but a cash prize is always appreciated, right? Since I don't have anyone else curating the post with me at the moment, I'll take a look at the submissions myself. Every week will have one winner, and they'll earn at least 5SBD or half the post payout; whichever ends up being greater that week!

That's it! It's really that simple. So I just have one question: what are you waiting for? Get out there and write!


Andrei Chira is an anarcho-capitalist, former 82nd Airborne paratrooper, vaper, and all-around cool guy. He's a father to one wonderful little girl named Kate, lives down in Alabama, and spends his time writing stories, posting to Steemit (not as much as he probably should), and cultivating the mental fortitude to make it through three years of law school.

Sort:  

As promised, here's a few writing prompts:
gossamer
aurora
out of fuel

And this one, because for some reason I got it in my head and I need to put it down:
MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE

Cool stuff man. I'm going to resteem this for you.

Please and thank you! Also, if you wanna contribute... >.>

I'll contribute a submission of some kind lol.

Okay, there's one more prompt I want to add and I swear I'll leave it alone lol

The end of the internet

I just wrote a short about that on someone else's post for giggles, and I thought it might be a neat idea!

Haha talk about Throwback Thursday! Wow! It feels like such a long time since DotS. This was the first contest I've ever had a part organizing. It's a shame it had been lost, but yeah, as I said in your previous "We're Back" post--it's great of you to revive this, man! I'm sure it would help a lot of new Steemians the way it did you.

I sure hope it does. I've yet to receive any submissions, but I'll keep plugging away at it to keep it going until it gets a little more popular. I hope lol. With any luck, we can get some great new authors some exposure!

Haha yeah.. Good luck with that! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32