Subtleties of Inspiration -Original Poem for Rensoul17 WherePoetsDream contest

in #wpchallenge6 years ago (edited)

In my dreams I see the place where we all go to meet
with our ancestors and loved ones who are deceased.
In this place of care and honor, amusement graces
peace, creating a space to experiment with ease.

Here is where the grass tickles my knee, and fairies
come happily to give what I need. There are large halls
and magnificent poets whose cryings don't need paper
for they are written with emotion. Sitting together,

I am embraced by an angel on my left and bearded man
to the right. Discourse on understanding triangular
magnetism lasts all night. Then others come to learn
as well, but the poet only needs vibration to hear.

The subtleties of inspiration can become clear if
seen through the lens of dreams, and given care.

~
This is my entry to @rensoul17 newest contest - Where Poets Dream.
The image is from Pixabay and was the prompt for creating this poem.
This poem was actually inspired by my last nights dream :) I have many dreams where I see poets and artists coming together with ALLL sorts of amazing magic and troubadour fun! Whatever you can imagine is real if you believe it !

Sort:  

Incredible, @lonestarpoet many things you wrote is what I saw when I first laid eyes on this picture. And I felt in my spirit the word "Innocence" you truly captured the meaning of this competition. It is so interesting to read what you wrote about your dreams thank you for sharing such personal moments. I have been changed as a person by not just this poem but by your writing and your authentic way of being in life as you have shown it on Steemit. I browse, I read and I see a lot. Thank you for your entry. I will return tomorrow when my steem power is up to upvote.

I'm so glad to hear that my poetry is life changing for you, because that is my lifes work; to transmit my ideas for the betterment of all our Earth. I'm ecstatic to share personal moments in my poetry because I know how much wisdom comes from sharing authentically. I'm so glad that you have been putting on these contests with so much pizazz that being vibrant is easy and enthusiastic to stick to the meaning of your competitions!

Love this:
Here is where the grass tickles my knee, and fairies
come happily to give what I need. There are large halls
and magnificent poets whose cryings don't need paper
...

And this!
Discourse on understanding triangular
magnetism lasts all night. Then others come to learn
as well, but the poet only needs vibration to hear.

====
I'd like to see the whole poem read like this, as opposed to the pentameter and rhyme of the opening stanza, which seems misleading to me, but this is why I do not *critique poetry. What do I know?
Not a poet

If you really are into poetry and like that type of poem then I'm certain you'd enjoy my book Unpredictable Observations by William S Dazey available here https://books.friesenpress.com/store/title/119734000011407153 because I rarely used rhyming schemes in the book and made sure that the poems were all very succinct.
Thank you for your feedback :) I wonder where the misleading comes from exactly - the pentameter ?

First, I normally avoid reading poetry (except Pablo Neruda, and certain "bad" poets like Robert Service), and I'm only reading poetry now because of Isle of Write. Second, "misleading" could be the wrong word. The poem opens one way but shifts into another style. Terrible as I am at poetry critique, I will say no more. I highlighted my favorite lines. If you ever want feedback, check out the poetry channel @isleofwrite

Thank you for the feedback it's much appreciated I'm super happy you visitied my poetry even though you normally don't likethe genre. I'm on the discord already :) Cheers

@cassidyandfranks has APPROVED this POST!

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Followed Upvoted Resteemed and Promoted!

https://steemit.com/promoted/strategy

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #16 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.45% vote... I was summoned by @lonestarpoet! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

I got to say :) I am proud to have you in our group man. You are adding value by the hour... :) Great Poem . I think you will win this time :) Well I hope I don't become false prophet but :) we'll see.

This one did win 3rd place =)h
Happy to be a poetunited

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50