What if everyone in the whole World spoke the same language?

in #world7 years ago (edited)

An era of vocal fluidity?

What a thought isn't it? If every person walking this Planet would be able to speak the same language. There are 6909 languages spoken across the planet and that's mind boggling to think about. Now, I speak two languages and that's Dutch and English, and even though Dutch is an Anglo-Germanic language, it still feels so alien and uncomfortable to me. I really try my best with Dutch, but it's very hard to learn, especially when you're at my age with my rigid and stubborn way of thinking. But, I'm slowly learning everyday, it's just going to take a while. Now time isn't something we always have, and if you have ever tried to learn a second language in the latter stages of your life, you'll know it's really quite hard.

I asked a friend what he thought about the idea of everyone in the World being able to speak and listen to one another, using the same language taught to every person, and he just couldn't even fathom the notion. Well I can, and I have experienced many misunderstandings, uncomfortable moments with zero clarity, and that's the way it will continue, and may even get worse. I made a post the other day relating to a possible impending One World Crypto Currency called the Phoenix Coin, which was predicted nearly 30 years ago in the Economist, worth a read in the link below.

https://steemit.com/crypto-news/@flatrider/the-phoenix-crypto-currency-could-be-coming

So, if we are moving towards a One World Currency, One World Order, then why not a One World language? Imagine how fluid commerce would be, the markets, export & import, online gaming, and as Humans bonding together more easily because we can understand each other? I don't need to go on with the benefits of everyone being able to speak the same language, as I'm sure you can use your imagination and see them all for yourself.

This is merely a play on your imagination, to gage your thoughts on the idea of every person being taught one language, that can be understood at every corner of our World.

What do you think? Without using the word 'culture', see if you can think of a good reason why the world wouldn't be better place to live, if everyone spoke the same language?

Just a thought.

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

Sort:  

I think the world would be more peaceful.
Surely we would have a better understanding of each other if we spoke a common language. Hopefully that would lead to less conflict.

I couldn't agree more TP! Upvote for that comment.

Lets use emojis 😀

✋ = Stop ❤ = love 👍 = like / all the best 🖕 = *** 👊 = mind you

Brilliant! There is a trend for these here, so Emojis could be the language of our future. :-D Thanks for posting on this article @kskarthik.

Pictographs were used long ago. Now emojis are new pictographs 😁

I've just learnt something new, thank you so much @kskarthik.

Thanks KSK, I'll check it out.

You're Wecome :)

Lovely thought. It may be difficult to indeed have one language as many top countries may not agree on which language should be superior. Maybe English, what about French, and China would also want chinese to win the contest.

Notwithstanding I see technology making this happen. There are already apps that do translations in voice. I am seeing a future where a one language world will be supported by technology wearables that translates in real time. Like an earpiece that does translations that one will hardly notice a lag

Interesting point Stevo! ;-) Thanks for contributing.

Didn't we already try that with Esperanto? I agree with @stevenomole, technology is already part of the way there and we'll likely end up with something like the Babelfish in the Hitchhiker's Guide

I am now looking into this Babelfish @deirdyweirdy. :-) I haven't read the book, nor seen the film, so forgive my ignorance. I have an idea of what it could be, let's find out Google.

Ah, you must b a young un. In my day The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy was a big deal and just about everyone had read it.

Well I'm youngish DW and I only know that there is a book because my friends still rave about it. I'm definitely going to read it at some point. I found that the Babel fish is a universal translator that neatly crosses the language divide between any species. Now that's what we need today!

Indeed it is a little yellow fish you place inside your ear. Now that'd be very handy indeed.
I lived in Holland for 15 years myself. Het is een lange tijd geleden maar ik kan nog vrij goed nederlands praten. Veel geluk!

Wouldn't it just DW. Wow! 15 years and your Dutch is awesome, so much better than mine. I really am struggling with the grammar and I rarely type it, so I'll just say "goed gadaan en mai Nederlands heeft Engels grammatica, welke is zo anders to a native Nederlander's, mar ik probeer elke dag to lere as veel as I kun". See, it's a mess!! :-D

Well, it's not easy when all the natives want to do is speak English with you the moment they hear your accent.
You probably have it already, but just in case this is a very handy free app: https://www.duolingo.com/placement/dn

Thanks DW and I'll check that app out. You're not wrong there as you probably know yourself, so I'll just plod along with my 'Dutchish' (English & Dutch fused together) and keep trying.

What if, since we don't use all of our brains, we had the ability to speak all of these different languages and we just didn't know it?

Could be Dee, that's a really good point. I looked into the whole brain usage debate, and I am still between 2-100%? There are so many different results. The jury will remain out on that one as I have no idea. Thanks for contributing.

Actually, the idea that humans do not use all of our brain capacity has been rejected by most scientists. We use all of our brain capacity; the neurons don't fire all at the same time, much like pistons of an engine do not all fire at the same time. We do have examples of human brain firing 60-80% of neurons at the same time; it is a neurological condition known as epilepsy.

I mean when people have seizures don't we worry about them potentially dying?!?!

They're not consciously aware that they're using 60-80% of the neurons in their brain. Overstimulated. Like I said..."IF" we were had the ability to understand many languages because we are consciously able to use more of our brain.

When we're in certain situations I'm sure we use more of our brain without being aware. I stated "what if".

Man uses all of his brain functions, 100% of his neuronal capacity. The idea of man only using 10% of his brain capacity came from a flawed imagining study.

Does a 12 cylinder engine not use 100% of its capacitu because not all of its 12 pistons are firing at the same time? Most of human brain function is dedicated to inhibition of lower neuron excitation. If all of the inhibitory neurons were used at the same instance I will posit 3 senarios:

  1. Inhibition of all lower neuronal voluntary function resulting in catatonia and catalepsy.

  2. Negation of all higher inhibition resulting in myoclonic and sensory epilepsy.

  3. Combination of 1 and 2.

You're teaching me. Thank you. So with that understanding, do we use all of our brain to control these potential outbursts (epilepsy)? If I'm understanding you correctly you're saying all our brain capacity is being used to stop us from going crazy?

In a sense, I would agree with your conclusion about inhibitory-excitory balance keeping us sane. All of human neurons fire, but at different times, much like a piston of an engine needs to fire in sequence and staggered fashion to function as an engine. A functional imaging of the brain at a given time will highlight only a few areas, much like a functional image of an engine at a given time highlights only a fraction of the pistons firing.

The default mode of the brain is to inhibit neuronal firing because intensity and frequency of a neuronal cluster firing will result in the growth of that cluster over other clusters. The brain has such limited space that each neuron and neuronal clusters compete against each other to occupy as much real estate as possible.

All sensory input, excepting for touch and scent, passes through the thalamus, which inhibits most of sensory input from ever reaching the higher cortex. All motor output first needs to overcome the default inhibition of the higher cortex to activate. In a sense, our "free will" is the ability to inhibit behavior rather than activate behavior in the neurological field.

Sensory input overload, due to lack or inhibition would be akin to what an autistic person may experience. Sensory over inhibition would be the state of catatonia. Motor output overload would be myoclonic epilepsy. Motor output over inhibition would be catalepsy.

Would be good if we all knew the basics like Hello, Help , Toilet etc I only speak one language but know a little of sign language :)

Me too Karen! :-) I'm a novice, just like you.

I passed level one but failed one part of level 2 :(

Congrats and at least you've got the ball rolling Karen! ;-D

I have a deaf neighbour who I can now have a conversation with :)

Awesome Karen, that's so good of you to take the time to learn sign language. Your neighbour must be so pleased. Neighbour from heaven! Good on you. :-)

Thank you, I think the basics should be taught in school, saying hello, learning the alphabet, would make a different to a lot of deaf peoples lives

Definitely and it's strange you mention this as I wrote an article when I first started on Steemit about how to say "Steemit" in sign language? We didn't get anywhere with it though.

https://steemit.com/question/@flatrider/how-do-you-say-steem-steeming-or-steemit-in-sign-language

I don't know sign language @karenb54 but have a little French and Spanish, can read and speak some Turkish, Moroccan Arabic (Darija, which is mostly a spoken language and very country specific) and my main fluency is English.

Even sign language isn't universal either though, there American and others.

A universal single language would be a massive undertaking and would likely cause chaos before the decision making one language the world language.

I think we will gather on the plains of Geshon and start building a technological wonder that will reach the gates of heaven itself. We will make clay gods of ourselves and dictate our will to God himself. But there is the danger of the divine sending a computer virus to confound Google translate implanted into our left parietal lobes causing mass confusion and strife.

One world Language, yes that would definitely cause a fight to decide which one wins.

Younger people on this planet would probably say emoji should win, but not everyone understands emoji (or even wants to), and how would the blind read emoji or the deaf hear emoji.
What of the humans with no device to display emoji, do they even count?
More to the point why should there be only one language anyway, the world doesn't need to assimilate into one, it needs to keep individuality and uniqeness alive.
You got an upvote & resteem too.

Great response @pqlenator and there seems to be a trend here with emojis, which I think is brilliant. I do however believe that 6909 different languages is slowing down our fluidity as humans all living on the same ship, metaphorically speaking. We only get a 75-100 year lifespan, so I just don't think we have the time to get our heads around so many. We don't have to lose our individuality, if we all spoke the same language, it's our geographic cultural connection that we believe is synonymous with the language, which it is, but is that the best for our future together? It's about a modern day perspective on the world and I just see and experience so many problems with language barriers, that it prompted me to write this post. We all see the world through different eyes, but I would like us all to be able to say what we see to each other. Thank you so much for Resteeming, you have yourself a reciprocated follower.

Yes humans do if lucky get a lifespan of up to 100 years, debating which language would become the only one used on the planet could take up a huge portion of that lifespan, knowing how various governments view the need to control everything. What would happen in the mean time prior to the momentous decision when the language is introduced....tiny humans are born every second and they need to start developing language skills as soon as humanly possible. It could be 10-15 or more years into a child's life before the language is introduced as the only one to be used, suddenly all prior language is null and void...hmm not so sure about that being a good idea.

It's called a managed transition @pqlenator. With any big changes, there's always a transition period, and I think that's what you are referring to. Of course that period is going to be messy, it always is, but then that's life. A good example would be for 1500 years we were told the world was flat, but then for the last 500, we've been told it's actually round. There's always going to be a choppy transition period.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64927.90
ETH 3519.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38