You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if everyone in the whole World spoke the same language?

in #world7 years ago

Didn't we already try that with Esperanto? I agree with @stevenomole, technology is already part of the way there and we'll likely end up with something like the Babelfish in the Hitchhiker's Guide

Sort:  

I am now looking into this Babelfish @deirdyweirdy. :-) I haven't read the book, nor seen the film, so forgive my ignorance. I have an idea of what it could be, let's find out Google.

Ah, you must b a young un. In my day The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy was a big deal and just about everyone had read it.

Well I'm youngish DW and I only know that there is a book because my friends still rave about it. I'm definitely going to read it at some point. I found that the Babel fish is a universal translator that neatly crosses the language divide between any species. Now that's what we need today!

Indeed it is a little yellow fish you place inside your ear. Now that'd be very handy indeed.
I lived in Holland for 15 years myself. Het is een lange tijd geleden maar ik kan nog vrij goed nederlands praten. Veel geluk!

Wouldn't it just DW. Wow! 15 years and your Dutch is awesome, so much better than mine. I really am struggling with the grammar and I rarely type it, so I'll just say "goed gadaan en mai Nederlands heeft Engels grammatica, welke is zo anders to a native Nederlander's, mar ik probeer elke dag to lere as veel as I kun". See, it's a mess!! :-D

Well, it's not easy when all the natives want to do is speak English with you the moment they hear your accent.
You probably have it already, but just in case this is a very handy free app: https://www.duolingo.com/placement/dn

Thanks DW and I'll check that app out. You're not wrong there as you probably know yourself, so I'll just plod along with my 'Dutchish' (English & Dutch fused together) and keep trying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41