FIRED! Unemployed and soul-searching.

in #work7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I was finally excused from my job. I was working as an Admissions Manager in a for profit career college that was seeing declining enrollments over the past year. In retrospect, I really did not enjoy my job so in a way I am feeling a bit of relief. I will admit though, there is that looming thought in the back of my mind of "how am I going to pay my bills?" Luckily, I have a small emergency fund that will support me through the next 2 months...but still!

Today begins a new chapter. Instead of doing what the normal person would do i.e. get on job boards like Monster, Indeed or Glassdoor or file for unemployment, I am going to do a bit of soul-searching. What do I want? What do I excel at? Where do my interest lie? These are the questions I have to ask because being unhappy for 5 days out of the week is not a way to live.

I must be honest I am a bit skeptical of working in "corporate America" again. I wonder if the experiences I have had in competitive and political workplace environments are commonplace. If I did get on job boards and find another position related to my field would I be insane? They say the definition of insanity is repeating the same behavior expecting different results, right?

Maybe I'll just become a full-time Steemian! Yeah right. I'm a believer in this community but also have to be realistic in that I must support my family.

Something that has been on my mind lately has been working in computers. There is so much information out there to learn programming and computer science but I'm not sure what direction to go. I ask myself If I should go back to school and get a degree in computer science or just self-teach and get certifications? I'm aware that's a huge endeavor​r​ to switch​ fields like that in just 2 months time but it's something I would be willing to do. Any tech professionals out there I would love your feedback!

I'm going to take the next couple days to evaluate my priorities and what is going to make me happy. I have that excited feeling in my stomach like this is a great opportunity​ for me and I can do anything I set my mind to.

Thank you all for your support.

@r0bbntheh00d

Sort:  

Just a huge step forward in my book. Keep your chin up and know that all the doors are now open. Take a lil' time for yourself too. The world is yours. Choose wisely.

Thank you for the kind words @stillwater!

Congratulations @r0bbntheh00d! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @r0bbntheh00d! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67