PROGRESS ON THE LAND - TEAM WORK WITH THE ANIMALS & A LOT OF MULCH

in #work7 years ago

This is going to be a lot of work...


As always though, it is nice to have help. For a while now, we have been using animals to clear the land for us. Basically, we open up a portion of the raw land overrun with briers and thorns for the animals to work on. After a while, they eat it back to raw soil. At that point, we cover it with mulch to suppress those plants from regrowing. Here are a few short videos about it.

WORKING SMARTER NOT HARDER WITH ANIMALS - VIDEO 1

WORKING SMARTER NOT HARDER WITH ANIMALS - VIDEO 2

In that second video, you could see our hogs and the goats we borrowed from @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood beginning to work on a new section of the property. Here is what that portion looked like the other day.

I know that it may look like we have destroyed part of the earth by doing this. Hold on, I can explain!

Basically, to have a bunch of Poison Ivy and Green Brier on a section of land doesn't really help us. Neither do non-edible shrubberies. Our goal is not to get rid of the plants or forest on our land, but rather to replace the existing one with one that we prefer.

We would prefer to have a mixture of food-bearing plants and medicinal herbs growing on our property. If we can grow a lot of our own food supply and also have enough to share, swap, or sell to others, this will be far preferable for us.

Since @bluerthangreen has a dump trailer that I can borrow, and since we can get free mulch nearby, I took down part of the fence so that I could dump this load where I wanted it. The mulch will cover the soil for now, and eventually build it up. It'll prevent weed growth and retain moisture, and in time, we will begin to plant a mixture of annual and perennial food plants.

This is what another part of the land looks like right now, where we planted some peppers to put the soil to use for the time being. They have grown very well there so far, and we can't wait to get more growing next year. In case you're wondering, these happen to Ghost Peppers, one of my personal favorites!

Once the trailer is in place, getting the mulch out is no problem. With a simple push of a button, it unloads itself!

Sure, I have to spread it around a bit, but I like a bit of hard work. Actually, I am currently in the best shape of my adult life right now, thanks to all of the hard work I am putting in on our land!

After I got it spread, I evaluated the situation. I'll need another load for this portion, but all of the old plants should now be removed. We will use the space for annual crops until we are ready to sculpt the land with swales and such to help control runoff and retain water from rainfall. When we combine some shaping of the land with soil-building and mulching, we should be able to water our plants less and have them stay moist for longer.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-progress



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Nice work @papa-pepper, wish I had a place around here for free mulch. We do have a place to get mushroom compost up the road away, but it ain't free!
Keep on improving that land and it will pay off soon!

Nice comment @jed78
Mushroom compost is ok but you can convert your waste to both your plants and yourself... Keep it up

Oh I'm clear on that, been composting my own stuff for years now, but free mulch is free mulch!

Sure...do also find time to check my blog posts for many related beneficial tips...😉

Thanks my friend, you know I'm working on it!

Real hard work from the main man...all the @peppers are up to the task for sure.. keep it coming...upped...

Amazing post!

I do a bit of apartment gardening but this is way more fulfilling - of course having more land is always better and satisfying in many ways!

Like many others I too like the part where the animals "do their work" by eating what you don't need. They can do what costly machines may do with a lot of effort - from humans who operate it.

You have some awesome work going and it's always a pleasure to read your updates. Keep it up - and thanks for your posts!

If you have time, it would be great if you could please check out my Missing Steemit FAQ, my latest post.

Nice post @papa-pepper

You remind me of farming with my late dad. I guess i'll have to go back to my roots.

Glad to hear I help bring back the memories!

Nice video in post.@papa pepper thanks for sharing .

Great posting @papa-pepper , a lot of sweat equity (and blood I'm sure) going into the land for long term benefit.

This looks awesome, I'm getting ideas for our place!

What would you say are your top 10 plants to replace with?

@knownassam i have followed you and i hope you follow me back and we upvote each other thanks

Ten would be hard.... there are so many. I've started a video series on plants on the homestead, which I will begin to release later today. Until then, I'll have a think on it.

Too many. I'd probably do a top 50 HA.
But I'm curious to know what' you'd think.

Sounds good. Will creep your plants series when it's released ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84