A GREAT TOOL FOR THE JOB!

in #work6 years ago

A lot of my life lately has been experimental experience.


While I am fully aware that actual how-to videos and such exist, for some reason I just like to figure things out by myself and see what happens. Using this front-end loader with a backhoe attachment is one of the recent things that I have been experimenting with.

IT SURE BEATS LIFTING THESE THE OLD FASHIONED WAY

IMG_9260.JPG

After uprooting all the trees that I needed to in order to make room for the mobile home and cutting the trees and branches up, I still had a huge mess to deal with. Although the quantity of things to pick up was far reduced, the size of the items were incredible. Mostly, I has giant logs and huge stumps to move.

IMG_9273.JPG

Without a team of mules, I'm not even sure what I could do with this stump on my own. I could perhaps use a log as a lever and maybe get it out of the hole, but that would be about it. Since some of these are so heavy, I even had to be careful when attempting to get them out of the hole with the equipment. Did I mention that I am a complete novice at all of this too?

The larger stumps had to be removed from the hole with the backhoe and then pushed off to the side with the tractor. Smaller stumps could be carried in the bucket, and although I would move these manually, it was still much easier with the equipment, so I took advantage of it.

When I was cutting up the logs for firewood with the chainsaw, I left a lot of the larger trunks more intact. I plan on purchasing a portable sawmill from a neighbor up the street once he finishes with it. When that happens, I can mill my own lumber, so saving bigger logs like will come in handy.

With a little finesse and some careful placement, I was able to pick up these incredibly heavy logs and move them. The shorter ones fit in the bucket just fine, but larger logs had to be scooped with the backhoe. Some of these caused the tractor to rock a little, so I took things slow.

Eventually I was able to make a nice pile of logs to be used later. They are out of the way enough for now, but easy enough to access when I do need them later. I could have probably rolled these all together by hand if need be, but it would have taken me hours to do so, and would have been more dangerous too.

PROGRESS AND JOB RECAP

About a week ago I began clearing a section for an 80 foot by 16 foot mobile home on our property. We are getting it from a friend and are going to use it to get our family actually on our land while we decided what to do next. We are still contemplating how to build our home and making sure that this is where we are supposed to be. The photo above shows one cluster of trees that had to be removed.

After uprooting the trees and tipping them over, I had a huge mess to clean up with the chainsaw. I picked up all the branches and then cut the firewood pieces into lengths that would be movable to stack for later. That left the large logs and stumps, which I cleaned up yesterday, as shown earlier in the post.

IMG_9281.JPG

Now the area is mostly flat and tree-free. The dirt section in the center of the photo above is where the tree cluster shown earlier was originally located. By placing the mobile home in this location, we will be leaving the house site open while still being able to use the power, water, and septic tank. Day by day, but we are still moving forward! It's required that I learn a lot of new skills and experiment to figure out exactly how to get things done, but it's been working!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-use

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Cool! You have a Helper for big jobs...:)...

Hats off to you for accomplishing a heavy duty :D

Now we are talking! Nothing like powered tools to develop a land! It's what diferrenciates poor indian towns from rich american landowners

hello @papa-peper was conducting a mission of clearing a small drowning fish channel.
P_20180320_174730_1.jpg
to clear the land requires sophisticated tools according to the times.
and the tool has a different function even though the same tool there are 3 in 1 and there is one function.
P_20180320_174623_BF.jpg
and the tool below is clearing the sinking land, then splitting the help from the stronger including us in steemit.
P_20180320_175749_1.jpg
mission to help friends finished, thank you and good work @papa-peper

Many hands make light work, but with a baco you need only two and a little diesel, nice job boss, my goal and dream is to live on a plot (farm) get off grid, solar and possibly wind or Hydro power, aquaponics BOOM... Gold, nice work mate I am rather envious of your outdoorsy/selfsufficient/clean/green/off grid lifestyle, no better way to live exists. Cheer$:)

Good work @papa-pepper I always follow you

waw, heavy equipment is very helpful work like that @papa-pepper

Dang, man. You're working hard there. That's not messing around. Where do you find time to do it all? Steemit posts, take care of the animals, take care of the wife and kids, property improvement projects... and how do you have the energy? Must be the quail eggs. :)

LOL, it must be the quail eggs!

Following along and taking notes. Your family is a perfect example of ways to turn ordinary days into blog content.
Uncle Mark has a backhoe for sale and Papa is determined to buy it this summer. Meanwhile I add another idea for future blogging. 😉
Looks like the place is coming right along. Have fun with the big toys I know we sure do

While I am fully aware that actual how-to videos and such exist, for some reason I just like to figure things out by myself and see what happens. Using this front-end loader with a backhoe attachment is one of the recent things that I have been experimenting with.

Hahaha, thank God for technology sometimes i wonder how our forefathers live's without modern technology, technology has made things easy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59