Word Vomit #1: My disorganized thoughts put into words

in #wordvomit6 years ago (edited)

Where is Steemit taking me?

I have taken time off from my usual posts for a reason I cannot point out. I just didn't feel like posting about anything at all. I take a look at my computer screen, scroll through the posts I have made and feel like I haven't been giving it my all. I have had a long list of things I would like to write about for some time now which I believe people may want to hear. In fact, my bio says it all:
self.PNG

That's a lot to take in. My long list goes one and each day, I seem to add another note telling myself to do this and do that. I have so many aspirations for the platform but it disappoints me to see myself not working my way to get there. In all honesty, I am making progress though. I am a little bit closer to what I had envisioned myself.

My #clayartcontest is doing fine. I have had 4 sponsors for 5 runs and I couldn't have imagined myself with the contest right now if it weren't for their help. It's an arduous task to host a contest and I did not expect the work I had to give to make one a success. However, looking back at my first post I believe I had my vision set straight out: I am a quality curator in Steemit and I will reward clay artists in steemit with whatever I have to offer. I guess it's one advantage of writing a blog. When you feel like you have lost your fire, you just look back at what sparked the flame in the first place.

I have posted 3 health education posts. That's not a lot considering the number of insights and information I have of the medical field. I have so much to say but to no avail have I posted them. The list goes longer each day as I tell myself, "I should write about this. It could help people understand themselves and what they are going through".

I am blabbering. I guess what I am trying to say is maybe I should give myself a pat on the back for reaching this far. And while my list has not gotten shorter, at least my sanity is still intact which leads me to my second point.

Taking Time for Myself

I think part of the reason why I just don't feel posting at all is how I haven't had any time for myself in the past days. Before Steemit came, I used to spend countless hours alone and thinking of just about anything that enters my consciousness. It's a bit unorthodox but I very much enjoy doing things alone as it allows me to have full control over my personal space.

It was common for me to sit outside, on the balcony with a cup of milk or coffee and music from the 90's playing from my phone. Just thinking about it makes me feel how heavenly it was to be in the comforts of my own time, my own pace. I could most probably do it now but there is that lingering feeling of leaving so much. In Steemit, we have an unsaid rule of "no post no pay". Of course, we could always comment and curate but the fact is that you are still using the platform.

I guess I need to constantly remind myself to take a sit back and relax. My brain is just so wired with the idea of earning that I compromise the quality of life I want for myself. To myself: "You need to learn the virtue of balancing between work-play". The idea of not posting for a day just sounds dreadful. I need to correct that.

I guess these thoughts have something to do with me being a type A personality - where everything has to be as it should be. Long story short, type A personalities are perfectionists. This brings me to another thought in mind:

Quality Content?

In Steemit, we are told to create quality content, make posts which are of value to the community. Each one of us is urged to gather all that we can muster to make sure that our posts are worthy of being read.

As much as I can, I strick through this idea. While I could game the system and post shitposts to get money, it just doesn't seem right, does it? Some people do it, why can't I? I have these thoughts sometimes. There are moments where I would love to talk about something comical but "Quality Content" hits me right in the gut and I tell myself to save it for other social media sites. There is something intrinsically wired within me which compels me to stick to the rules which govern the things I do. I am a Blogger in Steemit so quality should be a priority.

But it does assert the question: "What about my thoughts? What about my epiphanies, my sudden realizations, and quick insights? Am I allowed to blurt out my inner darker, less filtered thoughts on the platform? Would that constitute as quality content?" I would love to hear everyone's thoughts about this.

In defense of myself (lol), I believe everyone has the right to post anything they want. It's part of the whole system being decentralized. No one can take away your freedom of speech. I realize that you are creating a brand in Steemit and if you would like to be known as such then so be it. It doesn't matter if you talk about what you wore today and put it up online but you have to be aware that the entire international community can see it. What you post becomes a definition of who you are.

Word Vomit

With that thought process, I would like to add another 'gig' to my blog called #wordvomit. In my own unbiased perception, the Steemit community has a rather corporate appeal to it. While it is a social media site, the meritocratic system favors those who are more deserving of the rewards. This makes people, mostly myself, to try to act as professional as I can on the platform.

However, restricting myself to the boundaries of the corporate world takes away the authenticity of my thoughts. It erodes my psyche to think most of the time, my actions are being evaluated by everyone. Heck, all you do is recorded in the blockchain for crying out loud. That's one thing that's very scary about Steemit sometimes. Yikes. It's not healthy to think about it sometimes.

I just have this misconception that I have to create tutorials, informative posts or wordy explanations all the time. I try to be as informative as I can but it drains you sometimes. I find that feeding your ego and writing about yourself and where you are heading does help a little bit. This is just my opinion, I would love to listen what you have to say.

All I am trying to say is that maybe I need to allow myself to be quirky and stupid and slightly unprofessional in Steemit from time to time. We are not machines and sometimes our thoughts and emotions maybe worth sharing. I will be making #wordvomit occasionally posts to release my inner thoughts and maybe you should too. I really found writing this post to be therapeutic as it allowed me to organize myself a little bit. It has been found that writing about something concretizes that experience allowing you to have a deeper understanding of what you really think.

I leave the evaluation of this post to be 'quality content' for you. What do you think? If you have any thoughts, do share them below. I would love to hear your sentiments.

Sort:  

What about my thoughts? What about my epiphanies, my sudden realizations, and quick insights?

For those you can try Zappl, Steem's version of Twitter. 🙂

Thank you for telling me. I have been trying to use it but it shows an "zappl says undefine" error message. I also have the app but i cant seem to make it work. Twitter has always been a great platform for me and now that Zappl is here I would most likely use it if I can solve this issue. Am I the only one experiencing this?

Seems they had an issue yesterday but it's back up and running now.

https://steemit.com/zappl/@zappl/zappl-is-now-up-and-fully-working-again

Hey man! Awesome article. I actually made a few "word vomit" posts of my own on here.

I know what you mean. I haven't put as much time into the platform as I wanted, and I expected to have covered a lot more ground by this point of time. I guess when I hopped on the platform I kind of saw a lot of people already writing about the things I wanted to and thought, "well, that's covered". I didn't really understand the platform at the time and now I understand I should've done it anyway.

But that's the other thing about Steemit; it's all forward progress. When I look at my blog I'm very dissatisfied. But then I think about it and I think, "well, at least I've gotten this far". I believe Steemit has a lot of room to grow and with that growth will come a ton of new users. During that flood, the content we're posting now will essentially disappear, unless one were to specifically look for it.

So I think we're all doing well here, in my opinion. I haven't really written about anything I planned on, but I believe there is plenty of time for it. And as I touched on before, the longer we wait, the larger our audiences.

Cheers!

Yes that is exactly how I feel. I guess I wrote this one late at night around 3am. I guess its to maybe make myself feel better lol. Im actually silently laughing in my mind while reading this now but I believe these were all valid thoughts.

I really believe we should give ourselves some slack. It all started when I began looking at whales and how they earn so much. I just cant help but compare myself which is so wrong on so many levels. We are our own here and we simply let people decide if they hit that upvote button or not.

Long post, short post, informative or artistic, the choice of hitting the upvote button isnt really yours to make. So I say give yourself a break, try to make good content and leave the rest to the community.

And yes I believe I read your rant with regards to the slider. I use busy.org to give me that false assurance of having my own slider lol. But before that, I did envy others a lot.

Anyways, thanks for reading man. Best of luck to us!

nice post, writing a quality content is draining and takes time, im frustrated sometimes if theres no upvote when you sleep 3 am just to post it but i am always thingking if 1person might bump in my post and make a little impact to go through the day then,its an accomplishment..youre right we should also take a break and slack smetimes. Our mind is not a machine anyway😊😊😊

I guess I was writing that to justify my inactivity. We need a break sometimes to get our mind uo and running again. I guess it has a lot to do with balancing your activities. Wow being an adult and trying to earn is hard haha.

Thanks for stopping by @orhem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65