@%^&*^&@$ New Wordpress (Gutenburg)

in #wordpress6 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

Sigh... Last night I did the right thing and updated my websites to the new Wordpress version which includes the new updated editor (Gutenburg)... and unfortunately, in the last half hour or so, I've completely struggled with the new editor! So, I've pretty much given up on it for the next few weeks. I just can't get it, and I have neither the time nor the will to sit down and figure it out. So, I'm dropping back to the trusty tools of @steempeak and @steemit. I know how they work, and I'm going to feel less frustrated using them. I don't have that much time to spend here on Steem that I can afford to be struggling with editor tools and relearning the new tricks.

So, this is my little tiny rant about how much I really hate the new new Gutenburg editor for WordPress, I wish they hadn't folded it into the core Wordpress, or at least offered a decent opt-out or easily had a plugin that would restore the original editor. I have no doubt that it probably has some really great redeeming features and all of that... but I just can't use it! However, that said... probably in a few months, I might give it another go and find that I like it and find it indispensable.

However, for now, I'll do the responsible thing and do an internet rant and rave and rage at something that I have had a limited and terrible experience with!

Unsplash

EDIT: @shadowspub gave me the solution (See the comments). I feel a touch sheepish for ranting before I researched a solution.... I fell for the internet raging!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Yeah especially since they’ve been telling users for months this was gonna happen AND how to keep using the classic editor 😉🤦🏽‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha ha... Yes yes, I'm going to be eating humble pie for a few days here...

Rage away! Rage Against the WordPress doesn't have the same ring about it, but we've all been there (stupid Google Map error message...).

Yeah... although next time I will do what I normally do and investigate solutions instead of doing a random rant! Somehow, this time I was just too tired... so humble pie it is for me!

howdy sir bengy! oh that's ok about the rant, who hasn't been there with most programs, I'm glad the solution was available! Do you have alot of holiday performances in the next couple weeks?

I have a few but mostly a quiet time this time around with a good amount of time to spend with family (my mother came from Australia for Christmas!). So, I stay close by and don't travel for a while!

oh that's wonderful news sir bengy!

Bengy... back to your WP you go .. and seek out the plugin called Classic Editor .. install and get back to work :)

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Thanks! Nothing like a un-deserved internet rant to bring about a solution! Thanks again!

I really should have engaged brain before ranting... It's been a long day...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.042 which ranks you at #3477 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48