Weekly Woodworking Competition #2 New rules and prizes!!!

in #woodworking7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the second week of the woodworking competition.

cyb.gif

This is to encourage writing within the woodworking category.

The Judges are myself and @ skycranehandwork.

Because people of different skill abilities , from novice to master, will be entering the winner will be based on many things not just end results.

Things such as ingenuity, personal improvement, original ideas/ designs and technique.

This will be a lot of fun and promote a healthy competitive spirit within the community.

We have decided to change the format of the competition, It is all a learning curve.

The prizes will be:

1st Prize: 50% of the total SBD (after curation rewards) of this post, plus a link to your post in next weeks winners section.

2nd Prize : 25% of the total SBD (after curation rewards) of this post, plus a link to your post in next weeks winners section.

3rd Prize: A link to your post in next weeks winners section.

SMALL PRINT! As we know the pay out for a post is partly in sbd and partly in sp after any curation costs. The prizes will be a percentage of this sbd amount and not the amount shown on the post. Any pay outs can be verified by looking at my wallet transactions.
 
 

Jist_Separator.png
 
 

The new rules are:

  1. This post must be resteemed and upvoted.

  2. All entries must be received by 8 pm GMT Sunday.

  3. The post must be woodworking related.

  4. Please leave the link to your entry post in the comments section below.
     
     
    Jist_Separator.png
     
     

Last week's competition Winners.

So basically we had no entries last week.
smallest violin.gif

Oh well onwards and upwards.

There were a lot of good woodworking posts though, and although these posts will go without a monetary prize, we have highlighted our favourites below.

Here or our three choices from last week,

  1. My Best Friend’s Building a Camper… (Part 1) by @jayjayjeffery
    A great post showing a full strip down of a camper. It has given me all sorts of ideas and I am looking forward to part 2.

  2. How to make a Harmonograph by @idea4u
    A very interesting post. I could see Stephan's engineering past coming through. Well explained and well presented video. ( If it doesn't work on dtube you can see it on the woodworking on steem discord channel)

  3. My 3year old makes Chopsticks by @gohba.handcrafts
    The perfect project to get the younger generation involved. I will be starting my youngest son with this one.

So there we have it the results are in.

The competition for week two is now officially open so get writing.

Good Luck!
 
 
Jist_Separator.png
 
 

We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

Thanks,
@jist

Sort:  

If it is not clear already, you can enter by adding a link to the post you want to enter here in the comments, or by DM on discord to me or @jist. But you also have upvote and resteem this post.

I sure hope winter let's up some day so I can go use my shop. It's hard being a woodwork hobbiest in Northern Canada!

I have to admit I have been in the shop less than normal due to the cold. Not as cold here though so I have no excuses.

well I thought for sure at least a couple would have entered. I would have but I just didn't have anything new going on but that might just change this week....... The heater works pretty good in the shop and I have enough hand tools I can do this without my table saw............. I hope......lol

I will hopefully see your post. Good that the new heater is doing the job.

I participate, post on my blog

Great. Thanks I am looking forward to reading it

Thank you. What a nice surprise :)

Here you go fellas, if I need to send an entry fee please advise. https://steemit.com/woodworking/@jerryt/backyard-alter-sanctuary-from-d-logs

I know nominations for First aren't a thing in this contest, but you've got mine so far.

Thank you.

Excellent. No entry fees needed my friend.

I'd say this is closer to beginner level, and not as engaging as other posts I've made, but the more entries the merrier.

https://steemit.com/blog/@rasgriz311/a-little-experimental-project-i-m-beginning

Great, thanks for your entry.

Thanks for the mention guys, I'm honoured :)

It was well deserved.

Here's my first submission to the weekly woodworking competition. This is a laser cut "Constellation" lamp that I designed last summer: https://steemit.com/diy/@fisherck/diy-laser-cut-constellation-lamp

Thanks for your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54