My 3year old makes Chopsticks

IMG_3920.JPG

Over my Christmas holidays I had grand plans on making all these different bits and pieces and a heap os stock for my sites. Basically none of those plans came to fruition. But I did manage to make some chopsticks and recruited my 3year old to make a pair with me.

My boy absolutely loves to be up in the shed, for Christmas all he wanted was his own drill, not a toy one a REAL one.

To to start, we selected a nice straight piece of Tasmanian Oak and chopped it down to about 12" long on the drop saw.
IMG_3910.JPG

Then we need the material at about 8mm square, so we go to the bandsaw and re-saw the stock into blanks.
IMG_3911.JPG

IMG_3912.JPG

Then we go over to the Japanese chopstick jig. This is paired with a traditional Japanese plane. The difference between a standard plane and a Japanese plane is that the Jap plan gets pulled towards you, where as western planes are pushed. This little puppy is razor sharp and a dream to use.
IMG_3913.JPG

IMG_3914.JPG

So the jig helps put on the tapers that you're used to seeing on a normal chopstick. You're meant to go around and taper all 4 sides, but they goes too thin for my liking, so I just taper 2 of the sides.

Then comes the fun part, the part all woodworkers look forward to. The Sanding !!! Perfect job for the kids. I plonked him down in front of the TV with a sanding block and told him to make it smooth.
IMG_3917.JPG

Next we seal them in Mineral Oil. The best by far is baby oil, its non-toxic, food safe and dirt cheap.
IMG_3918.JPG

Then to buff them down
IMG_3919.JPG

Then to show them off. He's as happy as a pig in .......
IMG_3920.JPG

IMG_3923.JPG

This was a great fun little project, doesn't take long to make. I actually burnt his name into them, but the photos of that didn't show up very well.

I hope to make this type of story a regular feature here, let me know if there's anything you'd like me to make.

gohba.handcrafts01.png

Sort:  

Cool project Gohba

Thanks mate :)

Looks like a fun project for you and the boy :) love the shots showing him glad to be out there working with you

Thanks mate, he loves it up there :)

It’s a good experience for him

That's super cool man, looks like a fun little project together.

Now you gotta take him out to use them on some food after a job well done lol

nice kid. keep it on

Future Craftsmen right there. That is a great project for my youngest, he has just learned about Chinese new year in school and is showing interest in woodworking now.

Great work. My son is 5 years old and loves to work with his older brother @chrismiller even has his box with the tool. You had a great and fun day. You have beautiful son.

Hi @gohba.handcrafts I am not sure if you know but we started a woodworking post competition last week and no one entered. We decided to choose the best posts of the week anyway and you won third prize this week. No actual prize I am afraid but you are in the winners post. https://steemit.com/woodworking/@jist/weekly-woodworking-competition-2-new-rules-and-prizes. Well done I really enjoyed your post. Thanks

Thanks mate :) I'm so glad to see a woodworking community building on here. My goal when I started was to build it, but no one would follow me from my Instagram followers. I'm hoping to do more woodwork posts now that there are people who are actually interested.

No problem. The woodworking community is picking up speed now and it is something I am very passionate about. Lots of work ahead but it is happening. Feel free to check out our discord channel we would welcome you. I will look forward to seeing your posts.
Thanks Man

I would love to, do you have a link mate?

This great post has been included in 📌'Notes'📓- Issue #13!

Do stop in and
show your family some love :)

this is adorable. i wish i could be a little intern of yours, too! just started some basic woodworking crafts, and my first purchase to help me along the way is a hand sander. I find myself wanting to pick everything up at home depot all at once, but do I really need tools on tools on tools to create? What is your one "luxury" tool you couldnt live without?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56