Past Commissions : # 2 Oak French Armoire

in #woodworking7 years ago (edited)

Hi Woodworking enthusiasts,

Oak french armoire 1 40.jpg

I am writing a series of posts on previous commissions,

You can see the first here: Batman Plaque


I was asked to make a wardrobe by a very good client of mine.

They wanted something for their spare room.

I have made many pieces for this client over the years and with each piece they can see what I can do.

This has made them more relaxed ,they trust in my judgement, and allow me to be artistic.

My criteria was a wardrobe which had carved panels matching an existing Wardrobe in the room.

The rest was up to me, but after discussing it through with them ( and knowing their taste in furniture) I suggested a French armoire.

I had never made one before and it is not my personal taste but I relished the challenge.

The design

I had to do a lot of free research for this one but it is all part of the learning process.

I started with the overall dimensions. I had worked these out on site.

Then I studied French armoires and tried to establish the essence of one.

It was quite tricky as there are so many different types when you look closely.

I got as much information in as I could and started my design.

The vertical uprights and the top of the plinth were my only datum.

I decided the starting point were the scrolls in the centre of the cornice and the cornice itself.

I drew these out full size and made sure I was happy with them.

This part had to be correct as any imperfections in the curves would ripple through the rest of the wardrobe.

I then designed the plinth. This was to be a solid base for the whole structure to rest on.

Once I hade these I designed the frames and doors.

The frame and sides were to be plain and the door panels were to be carved.

I made a scale drawing and presented it to the client. The client wanted the central doors to be carved only.

In my original design I had hanging space in the centre and shelves either side.

This was changed to shelving through out.

Oak french armoire 4.jpg

Making the Wardrobe

This was tricky. I had limited straight edges to work to, but the main thing was the focal points.

So as I started the design with the cornice and plinth, I did the same with manufacture.

I made templates out of 1/4" mdf.

Which I transferred on to the oak, choosing the grain carefully.

Because of the complex shapes I did most of this by hand.

Once these were completed I could make the carcase.

Thing got easier for then on.

When the carcase was made I took templates for the doors.

The Doors

Oak french armoire 2.jpg

I made the door frames and jointed them mainly by had because of the awkward shapes.

They were mortise and tenoned with a groove for the carved panels.

The panel design had to be elongated from the original .

Carving detail 40%.jpg

Not only that it had to be a diamond shape so I had to draw it out free hand.

I roughed out the panels with my router and then copied the carving style of the original.

Did I mention that this was December 2016 and the dead line was the 19th.

Every year I plan my work on the run up to xmas months in advance.

That year everything went wrong.

All the jobs I had lined up were postponed or cancelled and totally out of my control.

It was a choice between a very lean Christmas or investing in materials etc and going for it.

I went for it but it was gruelling.

Working through the night and doing two hour sleeping patterns was the norm.

This was so I could wake up and glue up!

I had no choice to succeed. The 19th was the last day until the new year.

All good fun.

The Delivery

Oak french armoire 3.jpg

I had designed the wardrobe to be flat pact so that it would fit in through the clients door and be manageable.

I always go over the top on strength and assume the piece will be disassembled and re assembled many times.

I enlisted some help with the carrying and construction.

To be fair it went together well.

The doors were a bit tricky to hang, but have not need adjusting yet.

Did I mention that this was December 2016 and the deadline was the 19th.

I always plan my work up to Christmas months in advance but this year every job was either cancelled or postponed.

I had the choice of a very lean Christmas or going for it.

I went for it.

I had to work through the nights but it was done.

It was a good Christmas that year.

If you have any questions about woodwork, furniture or being self employed as a craftsperson let me know.

I know my wood and I have spent years teaching myself furniture making , furniture history as well as living it as a self employed cabinet maker .

I am also in the process of writing a

'How to series: Setting up a Woodworking Business'

Which you can read here;
Part 1: Workshop
Part 2: Tools and machinery
Part 3: Finding a good timber yard
Part 4: Deciding what type of woodwork you are going to do.

Still I am learning every day and the journey is the point.

Many thanks for reading,
Until next time,
@jist

Sort:  

I mean … wow! That is STUNNING. Seriously, kudos to your skills. What an amazing piece and heirloom they now have.

Woodcarving: I also did a course on this years back. My woodcarving instructor would've cut our hands off if we admitted using a router. He's very pure, old school. That's beautiful carving though.

I'm gonna really enjoy your blogs. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. I only used the router freehand to take some of the waste away. Just saves time. Thanks for reading.

Yes, that makes sense. Speeds things up a bit. :)

This post has received gratitude of 0.54 % from @appreciator thanks to: @jist.

Beautiful work! resteemed

Thanks mate.

Simply awesome, resteemed

Thanks man

I love the panel designs and it's details. It must be quite challenging to carve? Not sure if it's the correct term. Great job @jist.

Thanks @dawnsheree. Yes that is the correct term and yes they were a bit tricky. The hardest part was setting out the longer design. If that is wrong then everything else is a waste of time.

Yes, I know one wrong move and it's going to be a waste of all your time.

This post has received a 2.77 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @jist.

This post has received a 0.86 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @jist

That is what I call serious skill.

It looks fucking majestic.

Especially with the panels.

I imagine a huge working table out of wood just like the one of the president with runes and norse gods carved in them.

I would pay 1000USD for such a table.

Thank you. I spent ages getting the proportions and the design right. It is an honour to make pieces like that. When clients let me do my thing they get a lot for their money because it put my all into it. Literally bold, sweat and almost tears.
That is the resolute desk in the white house. It was a gift from queen Victoria and it was made from oak from a ship called the HMS Resolute. That would have been some serious oak from back in the day.
The Vikings had a really cool carving style I really like the boat carvings.

Fuck, I will probably order one and have it delivered from the states (I don't care about the massive delivery costs) and pay around 5K for it, you better get some practice.

I want a presidents table with runes and Norse gods carved into it in the future.

I like that top one of Thor.

You got a 39.73% upvote from @upyou thanks to @jist!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46