How to make wooden Rings (Part 2) [ENGLISH]

in #woodworking6 years ago (edited)

How to make wooden rings..?

Part 1: https://steemit.com/woodworking/@eibemmchen/how-to-make-wooden-rings-now-available-in-bad-en

There it is. What recently looked like Barney Rubble's cartwheel still worked its way out as a pretty particle.

"This way will not be easy..." Up to this picture it was more manual work than I expected. In order to get the ring around evenly on all sides, it is important to alternately grind, look and feel. The finale is still coming and I would like to give due recognition in a final part.

What happened until now...


After I professionally (coughed) marked the wood, the scroll saw may run again to roughly everything that is so angular to remove, because the less I have to grind.

At this point already a small Eibemmchen tip:
If the piece of wood drilled into it has a slightly conical shape, it is great to think about sawing it too, because otherwise a very ungrateful shape will emerge, which somehow has to be repaired with great difficulty.

Grind, grind and - grind again...


After sawing, it goes to the grinder, with which I get a reasonably curved-round shape. Armed with 80s sandpaper, this machine really makes the job a lot easier. By the way, you can wonderfully see my mistake here, as I had not thought when sawing that the piece of wood is slightly conical (* cough). As a result, one side became thinner than the other (and you have not seen the back yet, at the just hung a good millimeter). But since a lot of material had to go down, I was able to iron it out in the end. I was very happy about it, because until then my heart and soul are in the ring.

By the way, speaking of heart...


A little workshop romance is also part of this and may not be missing in my work of course. I hope you like my pictures and explain the individual steps as well as possible. Here is the ring as good as finished. With a lot of fingertip feel all around the same level and the edges already rounded. Well, I do not have much experience with wood and the poor ash tree was a bit shy. But I did not want to subject her to boredom right from the start, and I was informed how to lure the ash out of the reserve a bit.

The stain creates stimuli (ok in german it rhymes, sorry)


Look! ..! The ash still conjures up a smile in my face. Through the stain, the grain of the wood is very beautiful. However, she still looks a little "dry". So I give her what she wants: a layer of linseed oil and see what the ash tree can do ..! There are still 1-2 layers of it and depending on how the final result then looks like, I may still decide to grow. First, see how many layers of varnish the wood needs, until Ash says it has enough. Thirsty thing: D

eibemmchen34.jpg

I hope you enjoyed it so far and you are as excited about the finale as I am. Incidentally, I'm always happy about tips from professionals - so just let me know ..! : D

Love,
Eibemmchen

Sort:  

I like this a lot..... I del toys and musical instruments etc. At craft fairs and these would be a hit. Now if there was a way to do them quickly and still have quality.....hmmmmm

That pleases me. Such rings are certainly great as a giveaway.

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Wow..! Thank you very much..!

wooden ,
how natural and impressive ,

congratulations

Thank you..! :)

I have some buckthorn that I want to do this with. I'll have to do that sometime soon...

Yes..! Do it..! :D Let me see the result..!

That'll make for a fun stream! I just need to finish my existing projects... >.<

Beautiful project. Thanks for sharing your process.

Thank YOU for reading my projects :)

Oh..! You're the man with the ties..! I Love them..! Really really great idea..!

Haha, "the man with the ties." I like that reputation. I am glad you liked them.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD curation Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept and are willing to let us share your post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd to learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you have any questions regarding the project or nomination, please, let me know.

Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26