How to make wooden rings (now available in bad EN)

in #woodworking6 years ago (edited)

How to make wooden rings..?



Good question.

Well, it's not like I could answer that, but maybe you'd like to join me on my way to find out. On such rings, which you can see in the picture on the right, I have been working around for a while, but somehow I have to do something massive for a change. So I get down to work and see if I can manage that somehow.

Step 1: Wood

Due to the storm, many trees have fallen over, causing the city increasingly cleanup and - well - who is probably with the jute bag behind the workers and trying to get cut waste ..? - Correct -
I'm lucky, an ash tree has fallen to its death and I'm ready to accept the fresh organ donation.

Now I've dried the wood a bit and dug out a tender piece with the scroll saw. In my opinion, now is the right time to drill a hole, which corresponds approximately to my ring size. Oh -

Step 2: Determine ring size

Today, to determine the ring size Spartan, I put a well-fitting ring on a ruler and read off the inside diameter. This is 17.1 mm for me.

Step 3: Drill

A drill about this size is helpful, the less I have to rework. So I decide for one of my favorites: the 15 mm Forstner drill
-> Wikipedia Forstnerbohrer <-

Due to my inability to just drill holes, I clamp the drill into a drill stand (also much more fun).

Step 4: Safety First

Armed with goggles and dust mask, I look a bit in love with how the Forstner drill brings the shavings to light and I'm already there.

At this point, a little Eibemmchen tip:
Anyone who checks in advance, in which direction the drill turns, saves a lot of campfire smell in the shack and can
leave the windows closed ;) (* smile)

Ufz – so far not so hard. Now I have to work through in the coming days from the 15 mm to 17.1 mm, so that the ring fits well. And a bit misshapen he is also;) I will report how it goes on.

--> Part 2: https://steemit.com/woodworking/@eibemmchen/how-to-make-wooden-rings-part-2-english

Love,
Eibemmchen

Sort:  

Very cool.
Working it down evenly has got to be difficult.

Oh yes, it's really tricky and a bit annoying, but I think I'll make it 😎💪😁.

resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26