Rustic Bar Build Update

in #woodworking6 years ago

Hello Steem! Today I am posting an update of a bar I am building for some friends, I think my last post was about two weeks ago. As you can see from the second picture, a lot has been done--top slab is on, stain and shellac has been applied, and the foot rail is in. When they told me they wanted a rustic bar, fitting our little town's history of logging, I knew I wanted to use an old railroad rail as the foot rail. I have some railroad spikes I will be securing the rail with once they get some stools.

IMG_0353.JPG

This is where I left off on my last post--cedar 6x6, with reclaimed 1x material in between. I installed the flooring in this room since the first post, as well as the bead board, live edge shelving, and the baseboards. The painters also got all the walls and ceiling done.

IMG_0332.JPG

The homeowners also had me build some mirrored shelving with some old redwood decking to go behind the bar. The two vertical shelves sit on a live-edge pine windowsill that is stained to match the bar top.

IMG_0357.JPG

IMG_0352.JPG

The next step is tile on the back of the bar, and a few small odds and ends. Soon they will be enjoying their new bar!

IMG_0354.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Awesome look I like the train rail and the beefy slab.

Thanks, I thought the 4 inch slab would look better than a thinner one.

Wow, pretty impressive. I agree the proportions are excellent and the craftsmanship appears pretty stellar.

Thanks, appreciate it!

Looks really good, rustic. I'm sure they'll love it!

Rustic as heck!

Holy mackerel, that's looking awesome... and I'm not a bar guy. What type of wood is the top slab? That must have been fun to lug around. How did you attach it to the base? Pocket screws or something??

Thanks, its a big old pine slab, was about 36'' wide, but we cut it down. It's screwed from the bottom front and side, also got a screw into the wall side.

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

1createdwoodworking.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63