Pecky Cypress Glow-in-the-Dark Coffee Table

in #woodworking6 years ago



Glow-in-the-Dark Pecky Cypress Coffee Table

I originally made this table for my wife's workshop, but when my son moved into an apartment at college he wound up with it.

He told me the chicks dig it!

I found several short pieces of pecky cypress in a pallet of flooring scraps that I bought from E. B. Smith's Cypress Depot in Port Barre, LA. I tossed them on the scrap pile and grumbled about people hiding trash in the middle of a pallet load of lumber.

That evening I was cruising the internet and saw a post with a live edge bar top that the craftsman had filled viods and knot with epoxy. The novelty was, he had mixed glow-in-the-dark powder with the resin!

I fetched those scrap piece off the burn pile and used the biscuit jointer to glued up a large plank to use for a coffee table.


Notice the Long Pecks or Voids in the Surface


For my purpose, I wanted the worst side up. On the bottom side, I found the exact center and drove a finishing nail. I made a loop in a piece of nylon string and dropped it over this nail, then stretched the string to one edge of the plank and tied a pencil to it. Then I scribed an arc from side to side. I did the same thing on the other end and cut along these lines with a saber saw. The symmetrical curves at each end looked pretty good as shown in the picture above.

My Pattern

For the legs I used the worst pieces of rough cut ,2 inch, stock from my scrap pile.
I used a piece of 1/4 in luan plywood to sketch out the shape of the table legs. Then I cut these out on the band saw to use as a pattern.

I had to cut this pattern into three pieces on account of I did't have any stock big enough to make a solid leg from one piece. These were cut from 2 X 6 rough cut stock and assembled with pegs and glue.

I ordered some bar top epoxy and some blue, glow-in-the-dark powder. I waited until these arrived by UPS.

That driver knows where I live! We're on a first name basis.

Before I mixed the epoxy, I took great care to seal all the cracks and knot holes that went all the way through the plank.

I bought a couple of rolls of aluminium tape to use for this.

Epoxy Applied
There were several places along the edge that I had to form a dam to compensate for missing material. If you are the first one to say "one half SBD" in the comments you win 0.5 SBD. Using the instructions that came with the glow powder I mixed enough epoxy to fill all the voids. You must read the directions for using this product closely.

You do not want excessive bubbles in this product and once mixed you have to work fast.

A heat gun or small torch can be passed quickly over the surface to pop the inevitable bubbles that do occur.

Use the epoxy sparingly. I had to sand the excess off and it wasn't an easy task! I bet I went through a whole box of 80 grit paper to get it level.

_**Sanded**_

I assembled my three piece legs using pegs and glue and used a pecky rough cut 2 X 4 for a longitudinal brace. These I treated with epoxy and glow power also.

I used extra long pocket hole screws to attach the brace and filled the counter sinks with walnut pegs.

Then I sanded the entire piece to a 400 grit finish.



Here's the Finished Piece Getting a Coat of Polyurethane

I put 5 coats of polyurethane on the top and sanded between each coat. It finished to a high gloss that was very reflective.

I experimented with exposing the top to different light sources. Florescent light charged the surface pretty well. I had less than desirable results from incandescent bulbs. But when exposed to sunlight or black light the results were spectacular!

The luminescence would dim over time but lasted at least 9 hours when exposed to florescent lights or sunlight.

Here is the result , on the left is a view in the dark on the right is the same camera view with the lights on!

I hope you enjoyed this little post, I had fun making it.
CARRY ON!



Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Win SBD in our Weekly Woodworking Competition

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

“one half SBD” aside the idea of a glow in the dark table is pretty cool. I never thought or even knew that glow in the dark powder for epoxy was a thing. It looks pretty sweet too, with with the lights on and off.

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

29 seconds ago Transfer 0.500 SBD to hrissm @hrissm is the winner of 0.5 SBD for being the first to mention the winning line in the content! Thanks for reading @hrissm you get an upvote and follow too! CARRY ON!

I was confused at first haha thanks for the contest and interesting post!

You make my wood projects look like nothing.

Ha! I've had more time to bang up my knuckles! You're way ahead of the game kid! At fourteen, I couldn't do what you're doing! CARRY ON!

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

What a cool idea...and of course 'the chicks dig it' haha

I grew up on a farm where money was always in short supply. My parents were always refurbishing something to create a useful something else! It's awesome to see what you did with scrap wood!

I love your hidden 'sbd message' in here as well. Pretty clever way to see if people are reading your post in it's entirety or to encourage more readers. Smart one!

Cheers :)

(oh, btw, on my "image" post (thank you for resteeming!), someone in the comments told me that the "party-girl" image I used might get flagged as well because, if you notice there's faint writing across the picture, and he said it was advertising for shutterstock. Man, I can't win haha)

Dang! You really gotta watch those sites...they sling out a few freebies and try to sell you the good stuff! It isn't always obvious either! I still have a post out there that no one found the clue to....I hid it too well I think!

Right! So sneaky...and so much to learn!

haha now I'm curious...I'm going to fight the urge to go over all your posts, but I love a good challenge...stay tuned ;)

Great post this is a good bisnis

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

Congratulations

That is a beautiful piece of furniture. Very nice work. It would have stood on its own just great, but the addition of glow in the dark is money. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for the kind reply!

No problem. I am very impressed!

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote
Resteem Over 10,200+ Followers

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4300+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 10,200+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

Outstanding craftsmen work.. and what a great idea to add the glow in the dark powder to the resin. Very cool, I bet your son will appreciate it that table. Followed and upvoted

Thank you for the kind reply!

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

One half SBD. Haha love it. I did the same thing in one of my posts to see if people actually read it. Great project looks awesome.

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

Thanks man....I had fun making it...the sanding was tough, that epoxy loads up your paper fast!

Beautiful detailed work. Bet you could make more of them and have no trouble selling them!

You would think! But I don't have folks beating my door down wanting to buy them! HA!

Ha....have you looked out the door @beekerst to see if they are lined up?? Ya never know!

LOL.......I wish!

WE HAVE A WINNER! Congratulations @hrissm for finding the winning line in the content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75