Why #WomenSpeakOut is a Good Thing for Men

in #womenspeakout7 years ago (edited)

Women Speak Out is a movement to encourage women to share positive stories in an empowering way. The first #WomenSpeakOut post speaks to the collaborative idea behind the tag, which is the brainchild of #TeamGirlPowa. The post also includes guidelines, and a journalistic piece highlighting women (including Oprah) and one particularly supportive male (Bono from U2) all working towards empowering gender equality.

This post is about continuing the conversation.

Are Men's Voices Welcome on Women Speak Out posts?


Absolutely! Men are 100% encouraged to engage in thoughtful conversation in the comments.

@trumanity spoke up in a reply, saying #EveryoneSpeakOut, and jesting (sort-of) about a #MenSpeakOut tag.

He brought up a valid point. I think, in the fury of women around the world collectively confessing things no one should have to confess, and bringing to light the inequality happening everywhere, a lot of men are feeling like it isn't safe to speak.

I don't want anyone to be afraid to speak.

But I also think we need to learn to listen to each other. (I am so not perfect at this, but I'm trying!)

I wrote such a lengthy response to his comment I figured it would make a good second post for the WSO tag. Here goes!

ocean child
Yeah, that's me. Let's call this one, "Humility."

In response to the question: "What would happen if I used a tag like #menspeakout?"


BY ALL MEANS, if someone is inspired to start a #menspeakout tag, and y'all invite women to participate in the comments, I think that would be great! You'd be adding to the conversation.

I can only imagine all the references that would be thrown around between #womenspeakout and #menspeakout on Steemit. Like, "hey this guy had something really important to say," and, "listen to this girl, she's got a great point." We can toss gratitude around, laugh at funny comments, contemplate deep thoughts, and probably cry every so often.

Let the heart of it be all of us on the same level, moving forward together in a positive way.

#womenspeakout is a helpful category. Think of it as a library celebrating women's voices. I'd love to see one celebrating men's voices too, if it includes anyone identifying as male, like we've done here.

We all see from different perspectives. Each one is important. I don't want anyone's voices muted, unless they are hurtful or detracting from the positive nature of the concept we're building here. (And I am only one ambassador of this concept, which was born in the #TeamGirlPowa group chats.)

Equality is a tricky conversation to have, on any issue. Racial equality, gender equality, carnivore vs. vegan—whatever—we all have different views. My main intention for posting on #womenspeakout is to encourage positive conversation about a very difficult issue, to celebrate women feeling empowered, and to give a shout out to EVERYONE supporting them!

Yes, #everyonespeakout. And, while we're doing so, let the #WomenSpeakOut tag collect the stories of brave women and the tribes they belong to, so that we may read them and be inspired.


In the spirit of keeping the conversation rolling, I'd like to nominate @jeremyc to do a post on #MenSpeakOut (if you want... no pressure, lol!)

I met Jeremy in the blur that was my first few days on Steemit, both of us brand new here only a week ago, and he's already posted on the importance of allowing each person to have their own perspective. Jeremy, I'd love to hear what you have to say!

So why is #WomenSpeakOut good for men?


Because it invites us to have meaningful conversation, with everyone on a level playing field.

Because it is an opportunity to contribute to a great shift happening in the world right now.

Because if we don't listen to each other, we all miss out.

But if we show up for each other, then we all win!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Namaste
photo: Nat Anfield | model: Katrina Ariel
Oprah gif via giphy.com

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

The idea of a #MenSpeakOut mostly reminds me of this cartoon about BLM.
allhouses.png
Because we dudes literally speak out ALL THE TIME.

This is perfect. I didn't want to get into this argument, but I knew others would voice up. I spoke out in a conversation about diversity once on Twitter and got a public lashing, BUT I also learned a lot by listening to people. Thanks for posting this! :)

Grateful to have found this post - and you! There's so much conversation happening in so many avenues, but as usual, not all of it is equal, positive, mutually understood, or constructive. Creating a space for women AND men to have constructive conversations for a brighter future is JUST what Steemit needs!

With regards to #MenSpeakOut and #EveryoneSpeakOut - this is reminiscent of "black lives matter" vs "all lives matter." While all lives most certainly matter, the importance of narrowing the field of conversation in order to impart real change for a selection of humans means that we can focus on fixing one broken piece at a time. By focusing on #BlackLivesMatter for a minute and #WomenSpeakOut for a minute, we aren't purposefully leaving anyone out, we are instead getting hyper-focused on a part of our culture that seriously needs changing. If we try to solve everything at once and do everything at once, we're spread too thin to get anything done!

Everyone should speak out in the #WomenSpeakOut tag because if we don't have buy-in from all groups, we're missing the mark. We aren't women-exclusive, we're just briefly women-focused to #getshitdone. ✌️

Please excuse me while I go down yet another wonderful Steemit rabbit hole that is #womenspeakout and #teamgirlpowa

YES!!!! I was going to include this line of thought, but I wanted to focus on inclusivity and figured someone else would contribute this perspective. Thank you for doing so!!! This is so important.

Great thoughts here @katrina-ariel
YES it's a community conversation. I only posted my #metoo story this year. Once this entire movement for an accountability across gender lines matures, I think we will all profit. Untold numbers of men are suffering in silence and the numbers would astound. Let's keep the conversation going!

Thank you so much for sharing that here. The #metoo movement is vitally important, but all those painful stories (that need to be told) have created such tension. Instead of drawing lines in the sand, let's link hands. Together we can break the pattern and evolve as human beings. Love!

Exactly what I'm trying to say! :D

But if we show up for each other, then we all win!

Well done girl

Thank you ever so much.

When women speak out, i really do hope that men interpret it the same way women do

I think each person can only interpret from their own experience. The more we learn, the more we listen and try to see through others' eyes, the easier it is for us to understand each other.

Beautifully written. Logical but from the heart at the same time (which believe it or not is a highly difficult skill). We couldn’t have chosen a more perfect ambassador. Thank you!

You're making me blush. :) Thank you so much. Sincerely honoured.

brilliant Idea
Men have been speaking out for thousands of years an women learned to imitate them and sound like them to get accepted in the conversation so it's time now for women to speak out as well
#womenspeakout and don't try to please men when you do 😉

Your last line is pure gold. It is so hard not to edit myself when speaking with others, to try to make people feel comfortable. See my comment and this whole post by Jeremy. Thank you for your encouragment! So appreciated.

😍😍
You and I should be closer friends
I think 😊

Men's voice are welcomed and that's why I have composed something on #WOMENSPEAKOUT #MENSPEAKOUT

Oh girl. You are so clearly full of love and patience. I bet your kids love you!!!! A true mommy goddess.
I disagree that he had a valid point. He was simply triggered. As we all are. Some men might be afraid to speak but those mrn are just that way imo. Ima habe to write a 2 am post gotdamn

Please write a post! Yes, he was likely triggered, but I want to make sure everyone feels like their voice is welcome here, if they have something worthwhile to contribute. Also, I think a lot of men (a lot of people in general) are not as aware as others of the depth of this conversation. The only way they will learn more is if we continue to offer opportunities for them to do so, without shaming them or scaring them off.

I wake up right before work.,.. come home .. relax..get sucked in tondiscord.. suddenly my brains shut off... soon . Soon.

lol! Self-care has to be first. I look forward to the post when you get there. :)

This wonderful post has been featured

in the latest edition of Memos.
Do stop in and see what
the rest of your family is up to!
Memos #thealliance syndicates.png

AHHHH!!!! Thank you so much for seeing this and including me! I 💕 #theAlliance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37