Why I Stood on my Balcony and YELLED!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

If the world was a more conscious and aware place I think it would shock most people to find out how many times they decided not to do something due to the fear of what others would think.

Obviously, this is a very known and prominent issue that affects all of us at some point or another - the most clear cut example being the fear of public speaking. It's interesting to know that some people have more fear for this than death itself.

jason-rosewell-60014.jpg

Apart from the more obvious examples, I think this stops people from doing things more than they actually realise and I believe it to be important to break down the barriers once in a while. What this will do is provide positive reference experiences, which will make it easier for you perform again in the future. The lovely thing about this is it then spreads in to other things that could be viewed as seemingly unrelated (this process is known as "far-transfer" and I will do a post on it soon).

jan-jakub-nanista-112550.jpg

I was standing on my balcony one morning and the thought just ran through my head that it would interesting (and freeing) to just yell. Within milliseconds of thinking it, the thought was forced out of my mind (because who the hell just yells randomly on their balcony?) and I walked back inside to head for the front door.

Random thoughts come in to all our minds once in a while! I stopped and realised however, that the reason I dismissed it was because I was scared of people seeing me.

So now, I had to do it. For no better reason than to break down that mental wall I formed and to prove to myself that no one would care.

I went out on to the balcony and let out the loudest yell I could.

Untitled.png

Hell, I even let out a few more. It definitely felt weird, but it also felt great that I didn't let the thought that other people would judge me get in my way.

Apart from one guy who stuck his head out of the window to laugh, no one cared.

End result: I shared a laugh with a stranger, broke through a self-imposed fear, and provided a positive reference experience for the future.

Next time you decide against doing something, try and become conscious and see if it is the fear of being judged that has made the decision for you. If it is, make yourself do it. You will grow unimaginably and so many more opportunities will present themselves to you!

Thank you for reading!

It would mean so much to me if you could upvote ☝️ this post if you found it of value and resteem ♻️ it if you think your audience would like it :)

New posts daily!💡

Let's connect:

Steemit: @JeremyC
Instagram: Jcorne_

Get to know me: Read My Steem Intro

Sort:  

You are correct. We tend to be conditioned on most of what we think and feel. If you would ask someone why they believed a certain way. Most would have no idea as to why. We pick up things from our parents, friends . Bravo on letting this hangup go out the window. ; )

@seareader1 that is SO true. Most people live their lives by circumstance and their thoughts are not their own! Thanks for sharing :)

"the most clear cut example being the fear of public speaking. It's interesting to know that some people have more fear for this than death itself." - this line holds so much truth in it! we humans are so used to being fearful to the point that we dont realize that the fears we have is irrational. thank you for this bro! i love your writing style! and with that, you have a new follower! :)

Cheers Andy! A lot of our fears are subconscious and if we do not reevaluate we may hold on to a fear without realising we have grown past it.

Thanks for your comment and thank you for the follow!

my pleasure bro! i agree with you completely! see you around buddy! :)

What about the amount of stress released by doing it? Also, were you in a condo or a house? Was the street full of bikers or pedestrians or not? However, like this experiment.

But I have another concern. I am not afraid to speak in front of people I never met before. I am more afraid of expressing myself in the presence of the closest ones.

If you are stressed then I am sure it would feel great afterwards. I was in an apartment and my balcony had a lot of others around it so there was no shortage of people.

Whether you are afraid of anything because of the fear of being judged, do it! Our greatest fears direct us to where we need to go most :)

yessssss I did this in our appt a few months ago :p GREAT POST!

Bet you felt a bit better after too!

awesome post @jeremyc ....I am a follower

Thank you @starzy! I am so glad you enjoyed it :)

ROAR!!! Your post has so much truth in it. The amount of times I've edited myself to make someone else feel comfortable (or do what I think would make them comfortable) I can't even count. Sometimes it feels good to just shout! To let yourself be free to express the things that naturally arise!

Funny you should be writing about such topics, Jeremy. I just nominated you (should you wish to accept) to do a post on the #MenSpeakOut tag. If you have a look at this link (my post on the WomenSpeakOut tag), you can get enough of an idea to see if you want to go for it or not. :)

Respect!

Yes! Good job on having the awareness to know when it is happening. Most people don't and they dont even realise!

Thank you so much for the nomination! I humbly accept :)

Yay! I think you can do it justice. Of course, it's controversial, so ... well... just read the comments on that post before you give'er. lol! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23