WhiteIsWhite: White Water Long-Exposure Captured on Maria Island, Australia

in #wiwcontest7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to the white is white contest by @dmcamera. Today's theme is white water in nature.

This photo was my first try with a ND1000 filter; the water is not actually white in reality, but with the ND-filter, I was able to capture the movement of waves during 5 minutes creating this photo of smooth, white water. I got up early in the morning for this shot and took this photo from the shore of Shoal Bay on Maria Island which was close to the national park campground I was staying at.

01-jpp-20160419.jpg
18mm, f4.5, 5min; Click on image to enlarge

Camera Gear

The camera I used to capture this photo is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent photo posts!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations! This terrific water shot is a winner in the wiwcontest!

Amazing, thank you! :)

Truly amazing shot!!!😊

Oh man, you got me to click on all of your other links. I'm like a kid in a candy store. "Oooh! Otavalo! click" and "Ooh! Cuba! click

Thanks for telling us which camera you use etc. I really want to start taking pics with something other than my phone.

Finally someone is reading these old posts! :D Thank you for all your nice comments!

With a more professional camera, you get many options that you wouldn't have with a smartphone, but I am always amazed by how good smartphone cameras have become.. My camera was actually an entry-level DSLR, I just recently upgraded to a better one.

haha I'm glad you noticed I'm reading old posts! Sometimes I wonder "will they ever know I'm trying to talk to them if I comment on old stuff?" Newb question.

Wow, really. You're making me seriously think about it...if you work wonders like that with an entry level, I can't imagine what you'll do with an upgraded one.

There is a "replies" tab in the Steemit profile that notifies me of all replies ;)

Actually, the benefits of an expensive camera are not that significant; for shooting photos for the web, in most cases, you won't see a difference between a 500$ and a 5k$ camera. They can only play their advantages in low-light or when shooting high resolution for large prints, but they are less compact and less suitable for travel photography.

Beautiful, glassy long exposure! Lovely work!

Thanks for your comment, happy you like my photo! Hope to see you around more often :)

That's a lot of skill in one photograph. And it turned out so beautiful like it's from another world :) I wish to learn photography too. I'm too lazy and rely on auto settings :D

Thanks for your comment :) Photography can be really fascinating, but even with auto-setting you can produce amazing photography if you take photos consciously and look for nice motives and framing.

You're welcome :) And thanks too for the tips. I'll check more on framing and motives especially now that I post them in Steemit :D

Sounds great, looking forward to seeing your photos! :)

Well , I'm a basic ignorant, don't know much about the art of photography.
But whatever you are doing there it looks like magic!

Haha thank you, I am fascinated myself by the results I get with ND-filters, it really seems like magic!

This is a stunning view! So peaceful! It is very rewarding to get up early and witness the sunrise! Beautiful feeling!

I love the light during golden hour! It really is the best motivation to get up early.

Thanks! This was actually my first try with such a strong ND filter and since I didn't carry a tripod the composition is not perfect, but happy you like it! I loved your long exposure of the Moeraki Boulders btw!

Got to love an ND filter! Great shot!

Thanks! This shot was actually my first try with an ND1000 filter and is far from perfect :D

Plenty more to come then! You'll love it!

Great shot. Good luck with the contest...

Very soothing picture. Thanks for the info of how you took it. It's always interesting to know.

Always happy to read your nice comments! I find ND filters fascinating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47