My Witnesses - time for a clearout & rebirth

in #witness6 years ago

A week ago I posted the first part of my Steem Springclean.

In that post I outlined how I was re-evaluating much of my interaction points with steem - people I follow, Discords I belong to and witnesses I vote for.

Cutting down the number of people I follow and usefully interact with is working well - but still a work in progress.

Leaving a considerable number of Discord servers that I never had time to visit has been absolutely fine. There is still more refinement to be done. I would rather be more actively involved in a small number of Discords than fleetingly present in a great big bunch of them.


Then I come on to witnesses.

This is much more complex.

As I have poked and prodded, and investigated a good bit more, I have realised how important witnesses are. Perhaps more important than they realise themselves.

So my choice of who I vote for is important. Not because I am a major whale voter. But because I am voter and an investor. As the cool dudes would say I have skin in the game.

To date I have voted for almost my full quota of 30 witnesses.

However by and large my reasons for most of the votes have been quite lightweight - someone has told me they are a good person, I have seen they are doing some potentially useful project, or I have just been asked by a friend...


Now though I want to cast my votes with more understanding and more meaning.

I want to know much more about each witness that I vote for.

I want to know if they have the same ideas about steem and steemit as I do.

For example, are they pro or anti bid bots.

And I would really like to know about them as human beings. Are they people I might like or are they people I might abhor?

It is going to be interesting finding out.


Maybe I should invite all the witnesses on to my radio shows for a bit of a chat and a cup of tea.

The invitation is on the table for any witness who would like to come on either of my shows - My Life in 8 Songs or The Alternative Lifestyle.

Maybe I won't be able to find out much at all about some of the witnesses and they won't be willing to tell me. My little pot of 19 MVests will not be of interest to them.

But with my 19MV I am amazingly the 1056th most important witness voter.

So if I am of no voting interest to a witness what hope is there for the other 900,000+ accounts out there...



My quest will begin in earnest.

If any witness, up and coming or top of the tree, wants to make contact with me in the meantime I am always happy to chat. Just hit me up on Discord @Pennsif#9921

To make the reset and rebirth complete, and to keep all the playing fields level, I will likely remove all my witness votes to start afresh.

So if everybody's best friend Gina tells you that I have unvoted you, it is not because I don't love you anymore. It is just that I feel we need to get to know each other a little better before we take it to the next level.

In the meantime just kick back and watch a Harrison Ford film...

Sort:  

I would love to hear those interviews, but don't think I have the tech necessary to listen. Do you put them on DSound by chance? I think that worked for me once.

Any interviews I do will certainly have recordings posted somewhere - probably DLive.

I won't use DSound anymore since I discovered the sound files there are deleted after 7 days or so without warning.

O: That's crazy that DSound does that! Wtf!

DTube is similar. Although it retains the files a little longer as it uses 10% of the 25% post rewards to pay for some additional storage. But that is still only a few more weeks.

Don't use DSound or DTube as permanent storage locations.

I understand DLive is better / different as I believe it uses Amazon for the file storage - but then it is not really decentralised.

I think I need to do the same. Time for a #springclean

It will be interesting to see where our lists coincide or otherwise at the end of the process.

Witness voting awareness is a very important issue to me as well. Looking forward to your re-voting; and your reasons for doing so; going forward.

Keep watching my posts - more follows 😊

Haha!! "Everybody's best friend Gina..."
I use it. It is incredibly helpful. I pronounce it "Gyne-bot." Like "gynecologist." I presume the reason is obvious... :)
And I was just thinking it is time for me to figure out the witness stuff, thanks for the lead.

I think we 'wise up' and become more discerning as we grow Steemit-older.

We've had time to assimilate data, find niches and communities, and (hopefully) figured out just what the heck we are doing here - and what we want to see happen.

Expecting certain things from our witnessess, and seeing if they can deliver those things, becomes another 'something' we begin to seek out, I think.

Indeed, as we become more invested in the platform so our desire for 'democratic representation' is likely to become ever stronger.

Upvote and reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and upvote and reply to my last comment. @a-0-0

I appreciate this post. I too struggle with who and how many people to follow. I up vote every one I follow and try to read every ones post. If I follow too many these are hard to do. Thanks for include me in your top 100.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84