Steemit is Broken ~ The Proof

in #witness6 years ago

Have you ever used a platform and you could tell there was a bunch of things wrong with it. 

I know, you keep using it anyway because it is fun and here we happen to get nickels thrown at us from many directions as well. 

The problem I have uncovered may make you all double think using this platform because it really shows just how broken this system is. 

This issue is pretty scary to me and should freak any and all users out as much as it horrifies me. 

Seriously, what kind of broken system is this?


@erodedthoughts, what did you find?

What makes this place so broken?

Why is this not the best place on the planet?

One simple fact makes this place broken..........






I hit 1,500 followers

See 100% undeniable proof, this place is broken

I love you all and this is a real honor for me

I know I do not follow the normal set of rules the platform is made up of such as

Pointing fingers while in a glass house

Self-voting myself on every post

Only voting for those with big wallets

Not voting for the little guy at good power

Powering down during spikes

Complaining in general

and I damn sure don't give away my money or buy votes for other users who get no love

I'm an asshole, what can I say

I have one witness vote left, who do you think deserves it and why?

User with the best answer, get to use my last witness vote

I will also proxy for anyone who does not understand how witnesses work, if you trust me to do so

Sort:  

@erodedthoughts, if I was close to you, I would pulled your beard some for this. I was expecting a lengthy post on what is broken on steemit.

Anyways, congrats on hitting 1,500 followers. I hope they are the kind that actually pay attention to who their following, after all, you could be the Pied Piper of Harlem, for all we know. Lol

Getting to where you are without the numerous boosters being applied all over the place to get to where you are shows that you are a man of integrity and that is a rare species in these waters, I must say.

My submission for which witness you'd use your last witness vote for is impossible to say as I do not know the witnesses you have voted for already. Hmm... I think @steemcommunity. Why I chose that witness is because it is ran by @abh12345 who I consider to be another dude with integrity on this platform. It therefore stands to reason that his witness, his and @paulag, will be intent on serving the best interest of the steemit community and the steem blockchain. I can get behind that. Again, you possibly might have voted the witness already. Lol

I fired @pumpkin and added @steemcommunity

We are at least one step up from a pumpkin!

Thanks kindly! :D

I wish you a speedy journey up the ladder. The numbers game is a little skewed so it is a tough climb but I will do my part to get you there.

No, I have found complaining for profit to be one of the biggest abuses on steemit. We all know what is wrong, hundreds of complaining post don't do anyone any good except those posting and self-voting or circle voting.

Yeah the posts are all over the place. I have never really looked at it from your angle before. Funny enough, everyone that should comment on it or do something about it is silent or in denial. It's just tiresome. Meanwhile, everything is still kosher.

Just how it works out, easy profits keep things going.

there are problems on steemit and the balance of control has to change. This will take time, a lot of time.

There are a some witnesses that don't engage in the practice you mention, @steemcommunity begin one. We are a rather new witness team and we believe in empowerment. we don't sell delegation for profit, instead we use it to empower others on steemit. Please do check out our witness post
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@steemcommunity/introducing-steemcommunity-a-witness-project-by-abh12345-and-paulag

1500 followers is awesome - now all you have to do is engage with them all :-)

I don't go actively searching out witnesses, I believe they should come to us to earn our votes. I have personally interacted with everyone I have voted for and is how they have earned my votes. I do thank you for popping in, I wasn't referring to all witnesses in this post either. It applies to way more users than witnesses but according to Steemit's own abuse policy, selling votes is considered abuse. One day steemit will step up and enforce their own posted views, maybe. The only major problems that will leave is the self-voting and voting rings up at the top. Slowly people are making more bot's to embarrass users, all of the information is there, someone just needs to write the code to pull each example off the blockchain.

all of the information is there and you are right, it can be pulled from the blockchain.

When you say steemit will step up, do you mean Steemit inc, or the general population of steemit users?

It is the job of Stinc but it will fall on the masses. 2nd to last on the list should disqualify many from being a witness. Most of the rules on this list are broken. Requiring resteems and votes to enter a contest is just as bad as selling them. Wallet spam, the list is endlist.......

Screenshot-2018-4-14  erodedthoughts(5).png

not to defend steemit inc, but they do delegate to steemcleaners via misterdelegation to help with this. Personally I dont think it is their responsibility. Steemit is self governed, it is not governed by a centralized organisation like steemit inc.
There were fuck ups at the start that allowed for a very poor distribution of power, at the moment most of the problems can not be tackled by the community because the abusers have the power. But with small steps, if we can shift the balance of power, we can move steemit in the right direction.

I believe the little guys will end up on top or I would have left long ago. I do see many profiting from daily complaint post about bid bots and many, many, many spam comments by new bots that are being rewarded. These comments could be made as a post but since some people want the information they are overlooking it is spam.

There needs to be some integrity in views as a whole and not just what suits the selected group at the selected time and how it serves their agenda and wants. Spam is spam.

maybe its time you consider being a witness too. We need more people that think like this standing up and saying, hay there is a better way ( and use your last vote for your self)

I have talked to a few witnesses about a setup but one thing you will learn about me is, I do not self-vote unless by accident. The name of the game is to share and one can not do that if they put things in their own pockets.

I peaked under your beard and saw that you have not voted for @sircork who is now a three-headed beast giving voice to the masses together with @rhondak and @beanz

A person forwarding the cause of writers and poets, another who is a no nonsense kind of person that talks about politics and a person who runs a boots on the ground charity.

majority of the other witnesses you have are the same as I have.

I fired @freedom and added @sircork

Great of you to do that and sorry I am still going through my comments lately. I think there was a website before for You are Hope but he took it down and all efforts are placed in the Steemit account @youarehope.

The website is really important for any real 501(c)3 to have. Steemit is very small and limited to the help it can provide a nonprofit. A website speaks volumes to the legitness as a nonprofit. Mainly posting their 501(c)3 number for the world to see.

Never heard of them either. This is the reason for this post. I have not be contacted by any other witnesses other than those I have voted for. Not all are locked in stone as some have changed along the way and are doing things differently than when I did vote for them.

Everyday that we are here on the platform we learn something new about those around us. Things change and sometimes our votes have to change with the times.

I made a post which is over 7 days already but was the fruit of two weeks of chasing and talking to witnesses, stalking their profiles, reading through their witness updates and dropping by their communities to observe how they interact with people thus seeing their "reputation" and not that useless number to the right of our name.

You can check this https://steemit.com/witness/@maverickinvictus/this-redfish-understanding-of-witnesses-and-why-they-are-important

A lot of the info i got from @drakos site steemian.info/witnesses

That site is okay but is missing key information, how many total blocks the account has produced. Showing how many they missed is useless if it doesn't show how many they produced. If someone has produced 100,000 blocks and missed 350 it is much better than someone who produced 100 and missed 38.

Providing half of the information is never useful.

As a person whose family has a 501-c, I am a little confused why wearehope.org is just on the steem blockchain and not a site beyond steemit. Why does it say .org?

@neoxian should get your last witness vote. He is basically running a bank for the Steem community offering deposit services with yearly interest, traditional loans, and SP delegation loans. Check him out if you haven’t already. I joined his discord today and he seems like a pretty genuine dude.

Never heard of him, checking him out now.

He has been giving a shot. Seems like a real legit dude.

Congrats!

800px_COLOURBOX28884067.jpg

When you wake up from an afternoon nap and see this.

It's a Trump thing, lol

Red rocket, red rocket! Reminds me of Fortnite, this one does.

you deserve this flag and brought it upon yourself
Congrats erod

Thank you, it seems to grow way quicker than I expected it to, that is for sure.

Me so I can fight to lower the payment threshold and help train new users. At least 1,000 of my upvotes were worthless. :( I do need a server but I have zero witness votes now anyways. lol

The best thing any witness can do is support their voters. As your voters grow so does your rank.

Yeah now I can really support my supporters now that I know about the payment threshold. I might have upvoted your reply but my vote would probably get zeroed out and wasted due to the 2 cent threshold.

You are in my replacement pool of witnesses, I like to keep a diverse list of pro and con witnesses based on my own values. Diversity brings balance, one should avoid making votes for all of the same types of witnesses as their views get skewed when grouped together.

So if you go down that means I might take your place? Am I supposed to have a server to be a witness? Thank you for adding me to your pool. I am pretty sure that is a good thing. lol

Yes, you need a node to be a witness.

Uh oh. :( My website is on a server. Could I make it run a node somehow?

If you own it and it meets the chain requirements, yes.

I think my website is on a shared server. Where do I find the requirements?

Why do you want to be a steem witness? Do you have any programming or coding skills?

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your @ecs (eastcoaststeem) community leaders @chelsea88 & @inthenow

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

thats what you doing to my post you cunty chop. i dont care nobody care i dont even know you or want to know. f off my posts you fag

Plagiarism is bad, complaining about flags for plagiarism is dumb.

which posts of mine were plagiarised? and secondly my source my posts. i aint complaining but not blind to see what you are doing. i can do this all day long. your bullying got no chance you man without your hood. hahaha

Just because you source the items in your post does not mean they are considered yours to make money on others work. Learn the actual law.

look whos talking? bully

Are we even having the same conversation? Your responses are nonsense. You seem a little dim.

bully are used to saying this. nothing what we havent seen before sad low life bully you are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47