WHY DOES STEEM NEED WITNESSES-SteemSaunders aka steemit.com/@brad-saunderssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness7 years ago

I recently became a steemit witness here. I am fairly new to steemit and steem dollars. I am not new to blockchain crypto-currency and bitcoin in fact I have even created and launched my own crypto currency and taken it to two exchanges in less than 4 months without any money upfront.arguing-couple.jpg

Now lets talk about steem witnesses and why they are important. @someguy123 has a great article talking about what a witness is in steemit and why its necessary and why you on steemit should care.

"Can anyone become a witness?
The short answer is: Yes.

Becoming a witness requires several things:

A powerful (and reliable) server to run a witness server on
A second powerful server, with good bandwidth - to operate a Steem Seed (similar to a Bitcoin full node, distributes blocks)
Creating a signing key, and then broadcasting your intent to become a witness from cli_wallet
An accurate price feed of STEEM/USD which is updated at least once per day
Technical capabilities - you should understand most STEEM concepts, and be able to deal with server problems quickly
Trust from the community that you would be a good candidate for a witness
Some of these steps are optional (e.g. the seed), while others might not matter until you approach the top 19 (the price feed) however, they're all very strongly recommended if you want to succeed as a witness."https://steemit.com/witness-category/@someguy123/seriously-what-is-a-witness-why-should-i-care-how-do-i-become-one-answer

I have done most of these steps so far. You can get a very easy and trustworthy server here.
You will want a ubuntu server I am using

6 vCore RAM: 16384 MB Storage: 200 GB SSD Bandwidth:
36.48 GB of 5000 GB (1%)

@someguy123 also created a great package to get started with the new updated hard forked witness running and you can find those instructions here. Then set up your price feeder here. Also by @someguy123 wow @someguy123 deserves all of our witness votes, because you are only aloud 30 witness votes per account to curb people from duping the system.(dumb man terms) lol. your reading this far you want to know whats next. Whats next that's easy first vote for @someguy123 and @brad-saunders thats me. you can vote here and you will have to enter my name on the bottom of the screen under the top 50 witnesses, then set up your witness. Once you get there comment on this thread and I will vote your witness to get you started, and help with any questions. VIP members request comes first. Let me explain! This is my website here you will find more information (Site)

Now , lets put the witness topic a side, are you still reading. Most people don't. Most people up-vote and move on we live in a fast pace world. if you are and you need help follow my links. then message me through comments here.

SteemSaunders Vote My NEW Witness @brad-saunders

Written with StackEdit.

https://stackedit.io/

Sort:  

Right on Brad. I will Vote for you!. Cheers @steveblack

EXCELLENT WORK IN THIS BLOG, AND SINCE YA TINES MY UPVOTE, ALWAYS SUPPORTING THE WORK OF MY FOLLOWERS AND FRIENDS, I HOPE YOU IN MY BLOG, I TELL YOUR SUPPORT, FOR MY IS VERY IMPORTANT THAT HAND FRIENDS THANKS, AND FOLLOWS WORKING THERE, EXTENDING POST ,,,

So do you lease your server from this site or did you actually purchase one? I'm really interested in setting up as a witness and I've seen that most witnesses lease the server. What do you think is best?

I am leasing one. I believe this is better for me to maintain.

Thank you for describing what it means to be a witness. I learn something every day on Steemit!

new node 45.32.190.86

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post was resteemed by @reblogger!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @reblogger project in the introduction post.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SteemSaunders from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Your post has been successfully resteemed by @boostupvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64658.37
ETH 3421.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52