Timcliff Witness Update 2016-11-26

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

Here is what I've been up to since my last witness post:

  • The Welcome to Steemit page is now live on the site!! This has been a project that @bitcoiner and I have been working on for some time now, to help present newcomers with helpful information when they first sign up. Now when new users create an account on Steemit.com this page will be the first thing they see! There is still a lot of work to be done to continue to improve the page, but it is a great start - and a huge improvement over what was there before!
  • @the.masses has continued to post, comment, and re-steem. Probably the most interesting comment of the week was a reply to a post Get the Illuminati onto Steemit. The @the.masses replied: "We're already here"
  • I continued to be involved with a lot of the GitHub discussions about feature additions and glitch reports.
  • Updates to some of my witness parameters (details below).
  • I started a new project called Reports from the Witnesses, to give the community a summary of what all the witnesses are up to. It is based on the "Witnesses Exposed" reports that @clains used to do, and will be published once a week.
  • I partnered with @pharesim and the Steemit dev team to create a $300 SBD Bounty to develop a back-end search engine (using ElasticSearch) that will support the addition of an "Advanced Search" feature to the website. So far three users have expressed interest in completing the bounty, but nobody has submitted a claim yet.
  • I created a Witness Voting Guide with helpful tips for users to determine which witnesses to vote for.

Over the next week, I plan to:

  • Continue my involvement with existing projects.
  • I support the upcoming 0.16.0 hardfork, and will be updating my witness/seed nodes this week.
  • I continue to work on more projects in the background, but I don't like to share details until they are ready. (Stay tuned!) :-)

Summary of current witness parameters:

  • Price Discount: I lowered my discount to 8%. Due to the rising price of STEEM, a discount in order for users to receive approximately one USD worth of STEEM is not necessary. Most users are currently receiving more than 1 USD worth of STEEM from their conversions. I am still leaving some discount in place though because I believe that the amount of SBD debt is still too high, and I feel that this is a good time to be encouraging more people to convert SBD->STEEM to reduce the debt.
  • Registration Fee: I currently have my registration fee set to 50 STEEM, which is approximately $7.50 USD worth of SP (at the current market price). This is probably a little on the high side, although it does provide a little extra incentive for new users to sign up. If the price of STEEM continues to go up, I will likely reduce this to around $5.00 USD worth of STEEM.
  • SBD Interest Rate: I reduced this from 15% down to 12%. The SBD to USD peg seems to be remaining fairly stable, so a small reduction seems OK. Since we are no longer heading into 'critical' territory for the SBD debt ratio, I feel there isn't a need to provide as high of an interest rate for buying/holding SBD. 12% still seems high enough to encourage a healthy amount of demand for SBD given the current market conditions.

I welcome feedback on any of my projects or things that I can be doing better as a witness :-)

Thanks everyone for reading my witness report!

Remember to vote for witnesses:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Is it me or does "come for the rewards, stay for the community" hint as if there won't be any rewards. :P

Haha, I had never thought of it that way. It was intended to imply that one you are here you find so many more reasons to stick around than just the $. Hopefully people don't take it the wrong way :-)

Haha, I doubt they will. Just found it a bit funny :D

good catch lol.

Already vote on you! Hope you become a witness soon! you deserve bro! You do a hard work on steemit development! #HesMyPresident

Thanks @celsogoya!
Technically I am already a witness, I am just a backup one. Currently I am at position #64, and I witness around 8 blocks per day. I hope to become one of the top 19 one day :)

RS and UV again for you, good update. TY very much for your work.

Yep, what he said LOL! I never saw anyone on here using it, so weeks ago, to me it just made sense to cut down on keystrokes and use it, you are a #SteemitElder so figured you would know for sure, you are so tech savvy on here, and I am not LOL.

Keep up your good work. I just voted for your witness.

UV and RS..... It may be the only thing I contribute on here to help people LOL!!! #MinnowLife

Thanks! What do RS and UV mean though, lol? ;)

Excellent post sir @timcliff congratulations
I already cast my vote for you, good luck.

Thanks @jlufer :) I always appreciate your support and comments!

Thanks for the detailed update. You've been up to a lot since your last post :)

Welcome!
Steemit has pretty much consumed my life at this point, lol. Any time that is not spent at my "real job" and with my spouse is spent here :)

Haha I feel you! My gf hates that I spend basically all my free time on the computer :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54