Witness updatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness-category8 years ago

I didn't do witness updates so far, because I like to keep my blog tidy. With the upcoming hard fork there's been some changes that I would like to report on. Don't expect this to become something regular though ;-)


Let's talk about the witness parameters first. My price feed is, and has been most of the time, reporting the "correct" price of STEEM without discount. Instead, I chose to use the bias to account for the SBD price. It's set to 1/SBD_price, so right now with a price of >1$/SBD it's <1. I won't change the APR for now, I believe that should be the last parameter to be touched for influencing the SBD price. As long as other witnesses still discount and/or have a bias >1 it's just natural that the price is >1$ imo.


Second, the hard fork. I liked the 2 years lock in and everything around it, but I agree with the point that perception matters and the new scheme seems a lot more attractive at first sight. So I decided to support v0.16.0. Got a new server with SSDs and more neat features for the witness, the old one is used as backup now. For seed/public pevo node we got another one with lots of RAM running two steem instances behind a load balancer. This makes a total of 4 machines running for Steem/PEvO so far. The server park keeps growing :)

With the upcoming hard fork, there's also the change to the witness pay, which leads to...


Third, PEvO funding. While we're still safe for the current team's expenses for a while, all the big plans with paying a board of scientists and registering a foundation are on hold for now. We'll have to look into other means like donations and sponsorships. Post rewards certainly can't cover a lot.


Finally, I'm still on my way to Málaga. Traveling with a big dog in Spain is a lot more difficult than expected, as they have a weight limit of 10kg on trains and buses. I got to Valencia on a commuter train, but they nearly kicked me out in the middle of nowhere. And there's no such trains from Valencia on to the south apparently anyway. So I decided to hitchhike, which isn't easy either as you might have guessed. It took us 5 days to get to Salobreña (90km from Málaga), where I decided to rest for the weekend in a beautiful hotel. I hope to arrive at our destination tomorrow (like every day last week). I broke the lens of my phone's camera and it looks like I'll have to get a new phone to show you some of the awesome landscapes around here. Can't mutilate my blog with blurry photos, and although I replaced the lens I think the focus is damaged. It changes when I shake the phone :D

Here's a view of my current location from http://www.turgranada.es:

So much for now, there'll be another dedicated PEvO update soon. Steem on!

Sort:  

beautiful landspace, it must be warm out there...winter without cold and snow :) thanks for the update!

I only understood a little of what you wrote about. But, that is a beautiful picture!! Enjoy your travels!

The adventures of steemit witnesses!

Thank you for the update pharesim!

that place looks beautiful man... wow. <3

WOAh I fuckin thought this was about thee CURRENt hardfork! hahah woah i was liek fuck the week struckture is changing for powerdowns?
haha now im like oh shit this was six months ago, damn so much goes into steemit witness servers!

so cool how dedicated you guys are so we dnt have to be!

I think I have nervous excitement about the hardfork. I don't understand why we're going from 104 to 13 weeks - it seems so severe - but hopefully it works out for the best and we get an influx of users and investors. Safe travels!

you wiil make it my friend ! save travels and say hello to yuka

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.68 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49