A gentle guide to becoming a steem witness by @jerrybanfield

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Today I was scrolling through Youtube and found @jerrybanfield video below about his new course "#1 Cryptocurrency Mining Opportunity!". 

I had a look and in about an hour or so, I was through with it. I found it to be an excellent and soft introduction for none technical users who would like to become a witness on the steemit network. 

The course is structured into 4 chapters, tackling and answering IMHO questions that I had whilst considering to be a steem witness. 

He goes through the advantages of witnessing on steem and how different and cost effective it is compared with other mining alternatives. He explains DPOS with layman terms, sighting examples along the way.

He goes further to describe how one would get started  and talked about the equipment required.

He shared very useful examples of those who recently became witness. This was the highlight for me as I was glad to further read @sc-steemit journey thus far and that of @rondonson. I only just started witnessing around 15 days ago and haven't created any blocks yet. It was re-assuring to read and learn about others who have spent a month or so before creating their first block. 

In all this would be very suitable for none technical users who need to get their head around the length and breadth in a relatively short time.

For now I am hanging in there as a backup witness.. if your would love to help and see me go up a bit.. give us a vote please.. To vote for me kindly go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll down to the "If you would like to vote for a witness outside of the top 50...." section, enter @mattgimel in the textbox and click the vote button.

 Vote me (i.e @mattgimel) for witness on Steemit.com

This video below also demonstrates the aforementioned. 


Thanks and all the best


Matt


 


Sort:  

The offer by @jerrybanfield looks like it's money for old rope. I wrote my own response to this information, there's no reason why it should cost $180!

@personz I am honored you were motivated to write this by this post and I am reading that now!

I'm glad you're reading it but I want to make clear that I am I criticizing you for charging for information you are not experienced with.

You're right I am charging for information which is freely available if one knew where to find it and what I show have not actually followed through with yet myself because my witness servers are not online yet!

I paid $27 for it by signing up for a month. Theres quite a lot on his site so you are much better off doing 1 month, taking anything of value that you can, and then deciding whether or not to stick with it.

I found it pretty eye opening, I like the idea of this, and will be setting my own witness and seed node up within the next few days.

Hi mattgimel, I am upvoting you as one of my witnesses. I would highly appreciate you helping me also set-up one. Thank you.

Thanks for the vote.. Much appreciated.. Yeah I can help you with the setup..

Hi matt, please check, can you see me as your witness upvoter?

@mattgimel thank you very much for taking the course, getting started as a witness, and sharing your journey here with us!

What benifits do you get by being a witness?

A steem witness help process transactions from steemians and bundle them into blocks, thereby contributing to the growth and sustenance of the steem blockchain. As a steem witness, one gets an opportunity (with posting) to increase influence on the steem network as the amount of VESTs will increase from rewards accrued.

Thank you for the clarification. I thought it's only benifit the top 20 witnesses.

No worries mate.. If you don't mind kindly give me a vote ..

Vote me (i.e @mattgimel) for witness on Steemit.com

Sure thing, Sorry I just upvoted your replay. Will do direct.

Congratulations @mattgimel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mattgimel! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mattgimel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53