Witness Update - lukestokes.mhth - September 2nd, 2017

What I've Been Up To

  • Upgraded both my seed node steem-seed.lukestokes.info:2001 and my witness node to version 19.2.

  • Added 1% APR to SBD as I've seen many other witnesses I respect doing the same. The past month or two, SBD dropped below $1 for what I would consider significant amounts of time so maybe even the token gesture of 1% APR might help there. I've heard some witnesses say APR changes should be made during the beginning of the month, so I figured this was a good time to make it.

  • I did some testing of https://steemitstage.com/ as requested by the @steemitdev blog last month in this post. I was even able to find a bug to help them out.

  • In my last witness update, I talked about being able to help a little bit with an "as-of-yet undisclosed Steemit related project" involving an IPFS node. That project you all know of now as https://dtube.video/ which @heimindanger announced last month. :)

  • I've continued my weekly Witnes Voting Engagement Report and am happy to see the numbers moving in the right direction since starting the report. We now have 21.3% voting participation for accounts with over 100k VESTS. (I've also consistently put out my Exchange Transfer Report.)

  • I resteemed what I think is a fun project by @biophil called POCKET. It's the first side chain STEEM token that I know of, and I want to encourage interesting development projects like this. You can learn all about it here, and you can still resteem the genesis post to get your own POCKET tokens.

  • I'm looking forward to traveling to Europe for the first time for Steemfest 2! Thank you so much for supporting my witness @lukestokes.mhth as I was able to buy a gold ticket with my witness rewards. It also went a long way to convincing @corinnestokes to consider it a business trip. :)

Thanks again for your support!


As of this post, I'm currently holding position 28!

If you want to know more about what witnesses do check out:

You can read my witness announcement post here:

My previous witness updates:

I don't plan to do frequent witness updates unless I have something worth sharing, but I'm always available if you have a question or concern. I'm monitoring my servers daily and keeping up with the #witness channel on Steemit.chat. The daily stuff isn't too exciting, so it's not really worth posting about all the time. :)

Created with ChainBB to support that project.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

When you became a witness, did you listen to Marvin Gaye a lot?

You are my first witness.

You honor me! Thank you. :)

great job!
also, I appreciate the fact that you reported us

So cool I hope to one day become a witness myself. Thank you for all that you do!

I am really curious to know how many hours, on average per day, does a witness need to dedicate from his time to fulfill the duties. If you could take yourself as an example. Thanks for doing all this work and all other witnesses, developers that work hard behind the scenes which allows us to have this platform functioning properly. :)

It's not really an hourly type job. It's more like a 24-hour-a-day on call requirement. If something happens with your server, you need to be available right away to fix it. It's also about being involved in the community knowing what's going on so you can help if needed. Most days, if your server is running great, there's not much to it.

I see, makes sense now. Thanks for clarifying :)

You are an excellent example of what a witness should be, and I take you as a model, along with several others that are doing excellent things for the community as a whole. Keep up the awesome work, sir! I'm glad to be in the same category as you!

I have no idea what's going on in this post....

I hope the links I included to explain what a witness is will bring some clarity.

Hopefully we will be able to restore the peg for SBD.
Great to see you have updated to 19.2 and hopefully that will encourage more exchanges to pick steem up and the current ones that use steem will stop freezing their wallets.
Thank you for all your great work @lukestokes

Hi Luke. How have you been? Today I felt compelled to do a post about all the people who've helped me on steemit including you. I'm planning on going to Steemfest Lisbon. I saw your post, I'm fluent in Spanish. If you are still looking for a roommate.....

Here's the post. Hope you are well.
https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@world-travel-pro/who-do-we-love-on-steemit

Thank you for the update, I will take more notice of what our witness's are doing on here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15