The Witness Voting Engagement Report - 2017-09-20steemCreated with Sketch.

How Engaged Are Steemit Users in Voting for Witnesses?

That's what this weekly report is all about.

This week's engagement rate for accounts with 100,000 VESTS or more is:

21.86%

That's essentially the same as last week, with a 3.4% increase in new users.

With so little change, I'm considering making this a monthly report instead of a weekly report. What do you think?


If you're not sure what a witness vote is, or why it's important, please see my older post Steemit is Free, But Your Witness Vote Determines its Future.

This report uses @arcange's STEEMSQL.

MV stands for Million VESTS.

VESTS are like vested shares in Steemit and relate to Steem by a ratio (485.471 Steem per MV as of this report).

VESTS impact the weight of your vote on posts and the influence of your vote for Steemit Witnesses.

Here's how I'm filtering the data:

  1. All Accounts: No filter applied, includes all accounts.
  2. > 100,000: Accounts with 100,000 or more VESTS.
  3. > 0 Posts: Accounts which have posted at least once.
  4. > 100k & > 0 Posts: Accounts with 100,000 or more VESTS who have also posted at least once.
  5. Active: Accounts which have voted, commented, and posted a root post in the last 30 days.

The percentage values in parentheses show the change since last week's report.

Overview


This shows the total number of accounts and VESTS (excluding steemit related accounts).

FilterAccounts% AccountsVESTS% VESTS
All Accounts376,149 (3.4%)100%176,212 (-4.9%)100%
> 100,000 VESTS26,244 (0.5%)6.98% (-2.8%)171,675 (-5.1%)97.43% (-0.2%)
> 0 Posts153,602 (3.1%)40.84% (-0.3%)127,976 (0%)72.63% (5%)
> 100k & > 0 Posts17,804 (1.5%)4.73% (-1.9%)126,263 (0%)71.65% (4.9%)
Active39,475 (-1.9%)10.49% (-5.2%)55,971 (-0.4%)32.6% (4.7%)

Voters


This shows the total number of accounts and VESTS which have voted for a witness or set a proxy.

FilterAccounts% AccountsVESTS% VESTS
All Accounts15,006 (3.6%)3.99% (3.6%)125,237 (-5.5%)71.07% (-5.5%)
> 100,000 VESTS5,737 (0.4%)21.86% (-0.4%)125,050 (-5.5%)72.84% (-5.5%)
> 0 Posts11,318 (4.5%)7.37% (4.5%)98,189 (0%)76.72% (0%)
> 100k & > 0 Posts5,166 (3.3%)29.02% (3.3%)98,057 (0%)77.66% (0%)
Active6,425 (2.9%)16.28% (2.9%)46,057 (0.6%)82.29% (0.6%)

Voting For Inactive Witnesses


This shows the number of accounts which are currently voting for witness accounts in the top 100 there not currently active witnesses. This number should be 0.

FilterAccounts% AccountsVESTS% VESTS
All Accounts2,490 (1.1%)16.59% (-1.1%)34,962 (-7.3%)27.92% (-7.2%)
> 100,000 VESTS1,081 (-1.1%)18.84% (-1.1%)34,932 (-7.3%)27.93% (-7.3%)
> 0 Posts2,341 (1.2%)20.68% (-1.2%)34,390 (-6.9%)35.02% (-6.9%)
> 100k & > 0 Posts1,048 (-0.4%)20.29% (-0.3%)34,363 (-6.9%)35.04% (-6.9%)
Active1,133 (-2.9%)17.63% (-2.9%)10,423 (-13.7%)22.63% (-13.7%)

If you're voting for any of these inactive witness accounts, you should remove your vote unless you know they are only temporarily inactive:


arhag
kushed
cyrano.witness
nextgencrypto
tdv.witness
dantheman
bue
picokernel
bitcube
hagie
idnit
silversteem
blackwidow
steve-walschot
jabbasteem
enki
nonlinearone
mckenziegary
dele-puppy
nexus-dev
royaltiffany

Have You Voted for a Witness?

If you haven't voted yet, please consider setting @lukestokes as your proxy voter. Otherwise, go vote for some Steemit Witnesses you've interacted with and respect to do what's in the best interest of the network. I hope that includes my witness, @lukestokes.mhth. If you're not sure who to vote for, take a look at some witnesses you respect and see who they are voting for via their account on steemd.com or steemdb.com.

I've been asked quite a bit lately about how to decide who to vote for. Recently @jerrybanfield put together two great posts introducing the current top 20 witnesses and detailing what they do for the STEEM ecosystem. Getting familiar with the efforts of these top witnesses should help you get an understanding what it takes to be a great witness.

Meet Witnesses 1 through 10
Meet Witnesses 11 through 20


Again, if you're not sure what a witness vote is, or why it's important, please see my older post Steemit is Free, But Your Witness Vote Determines its Future.

Thank you! I hope you found this useful.

Previous Reports:


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I appreciate what you've been trying to do with these reports... I suppose I hoped your posts would create a little more awareness (and perhaps they have) but to answer your question in a roundabout way... I fear we may have a little Catch-22 going here.

Information on the importance of witnesses mostly needs to reach minnows... who know little about the underpinnings of Steemit, so the logical thing would be to proxy. Except... how do you know who to trust with your proxy, about something you know little about?

If I were in your shoes, I'd cut back these reports to monthly and use the other three weeks to simply cycle through a series of different "why witnesses are important posts," and tag them not only with #witness-category... but also with MinnowSupport (and similar) because that's where the info needs to go. Off topic? Not exactly... it's minnow education. With the sheer number of newcomers, once you have maybe six posts, you could just recycle them indefinitely and new people would see them.

Just a thought.

Thanks for the feedback!

Thank you for the report and information about inactive witnesses!)))

As always, thank you for your invaluable information and your help. I'm likewise dismayed that there isn't more voter engagement, though for the dead witness voting, I've noticed that there are a small group of accounts (some which are inactive) that are propping up some of the names on that list. I don't know what we could do about that, but hopefully we can move along and push them farther down the list. With any luck, as more dolphins and whales emerge, we can make some more progress.

This is supercool! @lukestokes Thanks! Followed...

Another good one from one of my best witness...I like your pic above

thanks and I cited you on my latest post about Positive attitude, consistency, great quality / Originality-feel free to see it...wish you a happy weekend.

Thanks. @corinnestokes gets the credit for that one, but I asked her to take it. :)

Wow @corinnestokes did a great job-just upvoted her last post to send in my appreciation... I wish you guys a blessed weekend.

Whatever happened to steve-walschot? I remember him being pretty active last year.

That's... a rough story. If I remember correctly, it launched a steem payment system which was horribly flawed security wise while claiming to be a security expert. He got called out on his claims, flipped the table, took his ball and went home. At least, that's my rough memory of how things went down.

That's what I recall as well, more or less.

Oh. 😶

What do you think?
I think that to be an informed voter for witnesses requires more time and technical knowledge than most newbies are willing to expend or aquire.

Consequently...proxy is the answer. That's what I did.
At some point I may feel that I understand the technical aspects well enough to not do more harm than good when I vote for a witness..some day..but today is NOT that day.

Yeah, proxying is the way to go. Also though, for the most part, it's only the high Steem Power accounts which really determine who produces blocks or makes decisions in the top 20 about the economics here and about upcoming code forks. I think moving this report to monthly may make more sense than weekly, but I'm open to suggestions.

seems I heard that it takes $250,000 (equivalent) to become a top 20 witness?
yeah..I agree that monthly, perhaps quarterly would be better...UNLESS there is some HOT NEWS that needs talking about.

@lukestokes These post are a great thing you are doing buddy. We need to bring awareness to more Steemians to get engaged on witness voting.

Some of us work very hard supporting the Steem blockchain and you help get the word out with these posts. Which in turn helps us all.

I would really appreciate it buddy, if you considered taking a look at what I provide for Steemit as a witness and see if I qualify to earn your vote.

For example, I just made a post yesterday announcing a new Full RPC node I put up,on top of running a seed node I run and witness.

None the less though, you are a great asset to Steemit, and I really enjoy reading all your posts and Thank you for what you do for Steemit!!!

Thank you and yes, I did see that! Thank you! I've recently tweaked some votes so I will take another look the next time I'm at my computer. Thanks for asking.

Thank you I am following you, I hope you will also follow up vote me this honor to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53