Witness Update - Upgrading VPS, Back Online Shortly

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

I wasn't getting the same errors as before (this time about sockets after the shared files were loaded), so it seems my VPS has a bug with sockets. I could refresh/reinstall my VPS and OS, but... my VPS is borderline for the memory as the blockchain increased a lot lately, so I will be upgrading the witness node to better specs.

I will be back online shortly, if all goes well as it had previously been for months :\

Sorry for being offline for so long. Thanks for the patience :)


Please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50

Sort:  

who is witnesses? what they do? i voted near your nickname but i dont know what is this :) top46.png

Hey @investwarrior,

Witnesses are the one holding the system together:)

They're runing a node on their server and collecting all the transactions from this page for example than put them into a block.
If you know what is mining from the dictionary of Bitcoin, well, it is almost the same.

Witnesses also set the SBD price according to changes is STEEM price.

so your pc working 24x7 and mine nodes and you receive sbd?

Witnesses only decide the price of SBD, they are paid in STEEM. But Steem is waaay different from Bitcoin. I might just confused you with that reference:) Let me try to clear it this time:

A witness PC runs a node, which collects the transactions (posts, comments, votes, etc) broadcasted by interfaces like steemit.com, busy.org, esteem App, etc. and puts them into the next block.

Steem is being managed trough Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) mechanism. But not every stakeholders taking part in the validation of transactions (you and me are also stakeholders), only elected witnesses securing the blockchain, managing the transactions, and getting consensus. They are doing the hard part:)

When new STEEM is created, witnesses receive 10% of new coins, 15% used to pay interest on Steem Power for everybody (vesting fund), the remaining 75% goes to the reward fund and distributed to authors and curators.

So in a way, every user on Steem is a miner but we have to write posts, comments and vote to receive coins.

Blockchains have blocks of data. Nodes have that data, and witness nodes verify the integrity and immutability of blocks. A witness get some steem for verifying/validating blocks int he blockchain. They can bring changes to the chain if they are in the top 19. So if you like what someone represents, what they stand for, and want to support them in their efforts, vote for their witness :)

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed :)

Thanks :) What about it made you want to resteem?

just checked his last 10 comments he write it to all what he upvoted and resteemed :)

Thanks for the report. I noticed on on Witstats that you were disabled . I do keep an eye on the witnesses I vote for ;)

Thanks for the update !! I know it's pain in the butt sometimes buddy... Not your fault..You're doing great job!!!

Thanks :)

I have upvote you, Thanks for the report. I noticed on Witstats that you have been disabled. Hopefully you get back on

I'm back now :) Thanks for the support.

Thank you, this is a very interesting post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44