Witness Node Updated to STEEM v0.15.0 + List of Top 50 Witnesses That Haven't Upgraded

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

It's hardfork day today! While on the front end Steemit.com looks the same behind the scenes all witnesses should be preparing to upgrade today or already have their node servers updated to 0.15.0. (thanks to @liondani for pointing out my earlier mistake)


(Screencap taken from steemdb.com)

Building the new version from github and resyncing the chain took just under 2 hours on my machine and everything went extremely well with no hiccups or errors found during the upgrade process. This was the 2nd hardfork I've been involved with as witness and this upgrade went far more smoothly than my last one! Glad to finally have the knowledge to upgrade to new STEEM hardfork versions without missing blocks and lagging the network!

I'd like to thank my fellow witnesses for sharing their knowledge and skill with me.

The steem.global seed node will get updated to v0.15.0 shortly as will the streemit.online wallet. Will get those upgrades going here shortly as I continue the streemit development.

List of Top 50 Witnesses Yet to Upgrade to v0.15.0

RankUsernameVersion
#6@complexring0.14.2
#16@smooth.witness0.14.2
#17@liondani0.14.2
#24@aizensou0.14.2
#27@steemed0.14.2
#32@picokernel0.14.2
#33@au1nethyb10.14.2
#34@steemychicken10.14.2
#36@kushed0.14.2
#39@jabbasteem0.14.2
#40@tdv.witness0.14.2
#42@royaltiffany0.14.2
#44@furion0.14.2
#45@bue0.14.2
#46@bitcube0.13.0
#49@crypto7770.14.2

Hopefully those listed above get upgraded ASAP. If you need a hand updating your witness node please feel free to get in contact with me in the comments below. Cheers, <3 KLYE

Big thanks to @smooth for showing me the below command to easily update my current STEEM installation. Do this in the folder you downloaded STEEM with via github and it will get your node upgraded! Worked 100% on Ubuntu 16.xx from STEEM v0.14.2

git checkout master && git pull && git checkout v0.15.0 && git submodule update --init --recursive && make

Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You can vote for me easily by clicking the link above and upvoting klye:



A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada
(News on @steemcanada Campaign Soon!)

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

I am ready in max 1 hour! No worrys :)

Thanks for the update man! I was wondering how you weren't upgraded already!

all of the witnesses should have their servers updated to 0.15.0 as of writing this.

Is the hardfork not 18 hours from now? Your comment is a little bit misleading...

You may be correct.. It looks like it says UTC time here.. I mistook this for my own time zone and panicked to upgrade my server. Sorry! Will change that now.

edit: fixed!

Kudos for a quick and flawless upgrade!

Thanks sir.. Sometimes things actually go properly despite my input... :P

I saw the notice about the hardfork a few days ago. I need to check out what to expect. If I'm correct, the changes from 104 weeks to 3 months is being implemented in this hardfork? I still don't understand the reasoning behind it but I'm not an expert economist or financial wiz.

Economic changes proposed earlier will take effect in next hardfork not this hardfork, and it only happens if community agrees on it.

If I recall correctly (and I really might not be), they were proposing to drop it from 2 years to 3 months for power downs, which seems very extreme considering we're not even 1 year old. But then another part of me thinks, "Bag it" we're in beta - let's try to break it so we know how to make it stronger.

Exactly, that's one of the reasons that it is proposal. There has been number of comments on main thread about it and being discussed as well, I suggest you to comment there as well if you think it is extreme, I think change to 3 month is extreme but that bring some reassurance for future investors, because they know they can withdraw their investments within 3 month not 2 years. Certainly more voice, more brainstorm helps to find ideal model

Good deal, man.
Btw, I'm dropping a sick ass picture of you, @klye, for my Holi-Art post on the 13th. Hope you're ready for that! haha

0_0

I am honoured! Can't wait sir.

It's trippy. I'll let you know when it is up.

I'm still looking into being a witness. Maybe with this new update it may be worth it.

I would like to learn this witness thing, but I have definitely no time :p

Hey mate. I've noticed I can no longer see the "Promote" button on any posts? Is this a bug?

Hmm. I'll have a look and see. It very well may be sir!

@winstonwolfe is seeing the same issue. I have made github issue post to report it: https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/560

It seems to be showing up on the posts I looked at.. Very odd!

Weird I still can't see it. Let's hope they fix it soon:)

In case you didn't see: https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/promoted-posts-bug

Update: It is a known issue and is being looked into: https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/promoted-posts-bug

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28