KLYE Witness Update - 2016/10/28

in #witness-category8 years ago (edited)

Hail Fellow STEEMFOLK... This is my Weekly Witness Update!

Happy Halloween (soon) Everyone!

The State of STEEM

SBD (Steem Backed Dollar) Print Rate = 0

If you haven't noticed you posts aren't paying out Steem Backed Dollars and your getting all your rewards in STEEM! One thing that should also be mentioned is that the Steem Backed Dollar peg has been broken and currently as of writing this post it's price is sitting at $0.86 USD worth of BTC per $1.000 SBD.

The effect the print rate going to 0 can clearly be seen on the market in both the STEEM and SBD price. Is this a good time to load up on cheap STEEM or are we just seeing the beginning of testing of the "Black Swan Event" code @dantheman has built.

With no official word from Steemit Inc as of writing this post it's unclear as exactly what the official plan is and that has left investors, users and speculators wondering exactly what's going on. I think we're likely to hear word in the next few days.

Streemit Updates

Streemit.Online version 0.0.4 got patched in earlier this week enabling users to withdraw their funds! The current withdrawal system only supports 1 withdrawal request per user at a time at the moment so make sure to not stack withdrawal requests.. They should be instant.

Regardless of STEEM price as long as I can find funding to run the required servers I will continue to do so. The web server could use an upgrade as it's currently slightly overloaded. The streeming server is fine for now and the plan is to have the site fully launched ASAP. WIll be working on it today. Feel free to drop by and check out the site.

Witness Rank to the MOON!

I've made some progress on my witness ranking this week.

Half a dozen or so folks pledged their valuable witness votes to suppporting my campaign, most notably today a witness vote from none other than our CEO:

Pretty darn excited to announce @ned of Steemit Inc today cast a witness vote in my direction. I had a chance to talk with him briefly in Steemspeak while he was in a flight today and by the sounds of it we will be hearing some official news soon from Steemit Inc on the future direction and roadmap of the Steem project.

Proposing a Test for Potential Future Top 19 Spot

I'd like to formally propose testing my current witness server to see if it's worthy of Top 19 block production. If even for only an hour or so if those of you wishing to help me test to see if my current witness server is up to the test please feel free to vote me as a witness. More info in the section below..!


Vote @klye for Witness!

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You can vote for me easily by clicking the link above and upvoting klye:



A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada
(News on @steemcanada Campaign Soon!)

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

We will be hearing news on the direction of the Steem project or the Steemit project? You do sound a lot more calm today... the talk must have been reassuring :) Also what is this black-swan event code that you mentioned and why did you guess that it might be being implemented now?

Not entirely sure. I've not been hired for a PR role (yet) and most of the information that was shared with me by Ned is best left to an official post rather than it coming from me, a currently unnofficial reporting. :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dantheman/steem-dollars-have-limits

Thanks for the update Klye. I'd help test but I don't have a clue what to do with that so I'll just wish you luck instead.
I'm so pleased to hear that there will be an update from ned & co soon.
About streemit I keep popping over and checking it out I was thinking of switching to streemer once i find the funds to get a tripod and mic (the cats keep knocking over my current tin can and perspex set up lol) with the current print rate is there anyway to pay for the change over using steem instead of SBD?

I was debating switching tips to STEEM. Will likely do so here ASAP.

I think it's a day or 2 out yet for an official announcement.. I guess we'll see. :)

All right @klye - not bad getting up in the witness ranks considering you were in the 60s when I voted. Keep up the great work. I just referred a musician with some great ideas to streemit.online - but maybe you can check out his post too. It's from @ezravan Could Steemify save starving musicians all over the world?

Thanks for the referral!

Going to hopefully get the site done here shortly.

Could it possibly be a little extreme to say that "the peg has broken?" The price of SBD was down around $0.75 for quite a while recently; is $0.86 really that disastrous?

When converting SBD / STEEM or vice versa you will no longer get $1 worth of STEEM. I think that's a proper way to explain it. Sorry for my inability to say more on it.. Will think on how to explain better here today.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53