Witness Update For 2018.02.25

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

Witness-Update-2018-02-25.png

Current Server Setup:

  • Intel Xenon E3 (4 Core/8 Threads)
  • 64GB DDR3 ECC RAM
  • 20TB Bandwidth

Witness Parameters:

  • SBD Interest Rate: 0
  • Price Feed Bias: 0
  • Registration Fee: 0.2 STEEM
  • Maximum Block Size: 131,072

Witness Ranking:

Full Rank: 143 / Active Rank: 113

Server Upgrade

Since our witness servers now consume around 27GB of RAM, I've decided to move to a new server from @privex. This server has the specs listed above, with the only real difference being that it has more RAM to scale with the blockchain. This server is a price increase for me so I'll have to see how my rank moves over the next month. There is always the chance that I will not be able to afford to pay the bill, but for now, Steem has taken care of the costs.

Also, I moved my price feed to a separate server that I control and switched out the Steem-JS price feed for @yabapmatt's price feed. The reason being that my price feed was crashing every two hours and the cronjob did not always catch it in a reasonable amount of time. With the new price feed running on a different server there has yet to be any downtime. A big thanks to my fellow Pennsylvanian, @yabapmatt for taking the time to create another price-feed option.

Creators' Guild Update

We currently sit at 154 members, with a small - but growing - group of active users. As a thank you to @ravenruis for all the hard work she has done for the guild I moved her to an admin role with much more control over the server. If you have any questions about our group feel free to ask either her or me as she is now acting as my main support for this group.

We are in need of more proofreaders in the guild so that we can make sure there is always someone around to help those in need. If you have experience in proofreading or editing and would like to help improve the quality of Steemit-based content, please send me a message on Discord at jrswab#3134.

jrswab-witness-update-plankton-delegation.png

Plankton Delegation

Last week I re-ran the delegation contest to delegate Steem power to three plankton who create great content. The contest came about due to the bandwidth issues being experienced here on Steemit by new users.

To see who won this past contest, please check out the announcement thread here.

The next round is on February 27th, 2018; with the winners announced on March 1st. I plan to set the delegation at 50 again in this coming contest since there were no issues with bandwidth at that delegation level. My goal with this initiative is to help these hard-working plankton be able to keep working steadily, with the main stipulation that they convert all SBD to STEEM in order to power up.

On top of the delegations, I also upvote their posts at 100% to get them as close to a self-sustainable level as fast as possible. The vote is not worth a lot since all my delegation accounts for about 75% of my Steem Power while running this contest. That said, I continue to power up myself to be of more significant help to the plankton/minnow community.

All images came from royalty and attribution free sources unless specified.

Like what you see?!
You can vote me as witness!
If you have any questions about the future of Steem or my witness, please feel free to message jrswab#3134 on Discord.

vote-jrswab-for-steem-Witnesses—Steemit.gif

Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Scroll down to the bottom of the page.
Type "jrswab" into the box.
Click "Vote" once.
Refresh & check.

Sort:  

@jrswab we are very grateful for your service and I just made a witness vote for you again!

Thank you so much, it's an honor having your support, Jerry!

Great stuff as always, love how you continue to upgrade all in the name of furthering our platform. All the best my friend!

you are doing a great job for the newbies or planktons. salute!
keep informing us. we are waiting for the next. :)

Onward and upwards ! :-)

our witness servers now consume around 27GB of RAM

Scary stuff. Is it fair to say that this will keep going up?

Yes, it looks like it only will go up from here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94