You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lost Top 19 Spot by Showing Support for HF17 & Falling Victim to "Old Boy" Mentality... UPDATE

in #witness-category7 years ago

@klye, I hear you. What I hear most of all though which is a seriously huge concern is what I suspected for a long time but now know to be a fairly sinister aspect of the whole steemit platform. Witnesses.
The witness programme is, at its heart, a situation of conflicted interest, carried out by the Old Boy Network. HF17 is the most toxic report it could possibly be. Blockchain technology promises decentralisation and zero censorship. HF17 makes censorship official and ensures further centralisation. I may not be a techno whizz but I can read a spreadsheet (which I am adding to constantly) - why would you even consider adopting HF17 if you are an aspiring witness? Read this:
Hardfork 17
Witnessing really is a hybrid job. Firstly it is performing the key task of blockchain interfacing which is purely functional. Secondly it is shaping the protocols of the platform.
The first part could be outsourced for less than it costs the community. The second part is a Policy Consensus function. HF17 demonstrates the extent to which the power holders want to rip off the rest of the community. When I say rip off, I mean ensure the centralisation of power and the non-distribution of rewards. Theft is a better description.
I love reading the ideologies of the people who are in these positions of power; their hated for the Googles and Facebooks of this world. When they turn to their own management behaviours, they are about 100,000,000 times more culpable than the people whom they vilify.
The structure of steemit is in a serious mess. It would do you no harm to say something truthful along those lines to the audience which votes for you.
Suggestions and Rationale

Sort:  

You know what ebryans? You hit the nail on the head I think.

There are some parts in HF17 that for lack of a better term are garbage.. Not all of it though. To be honest I was conflicted on if I'd even bother running v0.17.0 on my new server but opted for it as the other options in my mind were just going to delay potential progress.

I do like the way you've spelt it out here for me and everyone else here though. Truly appreciated. I'm going to read through what you have linked here and consider rolling my server back to a less contested version..

Perhaps I martyred myself here a little bit in the hopes of progress an change.

I'm only human and seemingly have made a mistake in showing my intention to try and push through this HF17 to collect feedback once implemented so we can get rid of the crap and keep the good bits in it.

I have some thinking to do here tonight for sure.. Lot's on my mind at the moment in regards to how STEEM is running. Bah

I cannot tell you how grateful I am for that, @klye. I put myself at risk in the name of the truth of what is going on. I do not expect to be liked for that by the whales and so forth but it just happens to all be true.
I now have witnesses such as you and @timcliff whom I respect very much actually realising what HF17 amounts to. I raised the point about comment values and voting quite a while ago but nobody cared to listen.
Now look at it!
My suggestions and rationale document needs ONE solution. How to verify one person one account. The resolution of that in an economic manner will resolve the protocols and there are very large fish who get it.
If we - and I mean we - can resolve that, we have a chance for a healthy platform with all parts of the community recognised - equitably.

Rolling back my server now. Just switched to my backup..

I did NOT do enough research nor understand how FUBAR this hardfork could potentially be.

Retracting my push for HF17. After reading what you have there I'm actually horrified.

I will happily send you the research i have been doing which will show you the reality of the platform and how it is being abused and why there are many people who have absolutely no idea.
There is more toxicity going on than you would believe. I am sure you think I am being a bit overly dramatic. I can assure you it is worse than you can imagine!

To be fair man I've had my suspicions for a while but have been trying to stay out of the politics and crosshairs for the most part..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65