Drakos Witness Update 2018-03-11

in #witness-category6 years ago

Server Upgrades

  • Once more, the dreaded upgrades. 32GB RAM is no longer sufficient to run a witness node, so I upgraded my main node to a dedicated server with 64GB RAM last night. The new node is synched and producing blocks normally. I switched to my backup server during the upgrade so the block production wasn't interrupted and there were no missed blocks.
  • I've using zram on the seed node for a few weeks now since it's not a critical server, so I didn't upgrade it. It crashed two times because of wrong memory tweaks. It's fixed, hopefully it will be more stable.
  • Note that the blockchain file is now over 81GB.

New Setup

ServerCPURAMDiskSpeed
Primary Witness (Scandinavia)8 cores64 GB480 GB SSD1 Gbit/s
Backup Witness (Europe)10 cores50 GB1200 GB SSD1 Gbit/s
Seed (Europe)6 cores24 GB600 GB SSD100 Mbit/s
Additional fail-over2 cores1 GB25 GB100 Mbit/s

Witness Parameters

  • My APR is at 0%.
  • I'm setting my bias to 0% since the SBD price has been going down from the all time highs a few months ago and hopefully it will reach its $1 pegged value.

Miscellaneous News

Security Alert

Always be careful what you click and where those clicks are taking you. Lots of users have fallen for phishing websites like steemil.com and steewit.com
https://steemit.com/scam/@drakos/beware-of-clicking-links-in-phishing-comments-pointing-to-steemil-com

Think before you act. If you're browsing on steemit.com, you click something then you're taken to another website that looks exactly like steemit.com and where you have to LOGIN AGAIN, that's your red flag. Don't do it.

In a nutshell, DO NOT USE YOUR PASSWORD TO LOG ON STEEMIT. Use the Posting key, so if you get hooked by those scammers, at least you won't be giving them your password! Stash that password away, DO NOT LOSE IT, and ONLY use it under extreme necessity.
Read those two guides to learn more about the different keys and the security of your account:


Together we make Steem better.



Logo 2 Steemit-200x200.png
Check out Steemian.Info, the concise information resource about the Steem blockchain



Proud member and delegator of the @minnowsupport project.
Join us on https://discord.gg/GpHEEhV

MSPPAL


Follow

Available & Reliable. I am your Witness. I want to represent You.

🗳 If you like what I do, consider voting for me 🗳

Vote

If you never voted before, I wrote a detailed guide about Voting for Witnesses.

Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses. My name is listed in the Top 50. Click once.

Alternatively you can vote via SteemConnect

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=drakos&approve=1

Sort:  

SBD is going down but the debt ratio is hight and rewards will continue to going down with the fall of the STEEM.

If the debt ratio reach 2%, the SBD print rate will decrease

Your see my little app to see the evolution of financial metrics.
http://steem-supply-steem-supply.193b.starter-ca-central-1.openshiftapps.com

@drakos is one of the best people I have met here at the Steemit community. I honestly realize that he is one of the most wonderful people. He helps everyone and answers all the questions. I really respect him and his ability.
I vote for him for witnesses, support him and power with all my might، You, my friend, always deserve the best, I wish you more and more success for you ، good luck my dear friend @drakos 👍👍😉
All the best for you 🌹😉👍😊😃

Thanks for the nice words. @drakos is indeed a very good person, ready to listen and help when he can, he's a mentor. I vote for him as witness.

Voted for Witness!

Hey dude. First proper day on here and just wanted to drop you a line to say cheers for all your valuable contributions regards account signup and also for sending me that sign up form in Steemit.chat. Honestly have no idea if it made a difference, but my account was verified soon after, so I'm guessing it might. Thanks, brother.

good day, excellent publication, it was very educational, I liked the way you wrote it, although there were parts where I got lost but in the end I could understand it I hope you take into account my humble comment, greeting from venezuela

Just voted for you as witness! Have been hearing and seeing some great things from you. Keep it up! You have our support!

I don't understand the logic to set the bias to zero. If the bias is helping to drive the SBD to its intended value, and it is still 250% of its intended value, then why stop before it reaches the intended value?

It's a consensus parameter, we need the top 20 witnesses to do it in order to have any impact. You can consider my gesture as symbolic, since it had no impact whatsoever on the price. It was decided by the majority of the top 20 not to modify the bias and let the peg resolve on its own. A few months later, it is doing so, but that's because all the crypto market is downtrending.

Thanks for answering. I didn't realize that it is set by consensus. In that case it makes sense. No point in having a symbolic protest vote when the urgency for such a move is decreasing anyway.

valuable information ..we need to be very careful ...Thanks for sharing @drakos
I voted for you

Drakos for witness! He helps members hands on by being active on steem chat and msp (so far that i've known). Vote Drakos for witness!

My friend recently lost her account on the Steemit, when she moved on the link in the comments to her post. She says that she did not enter her password, but she was seized with her accoutrement. It's very scary that all your works can be wasted in one second.
Thank you @drakos for your warning, I will be cautious, it will be very unpleasant, ate my drawings, which I place on the boil down.
I wish you more blockchain file!

If someone hacked/stole her account tell her to do an account recovery at https://steemit.com/recover_account_step_1
But if she lost her password nothing can be done, the account is lost and she will need a new one.

I gave this information, thanks for the help

April fools!?

@abh12345 , @drakos It's working fine here

screenshot drakos 1.png

Heh!

Interesting! I'm not even from 'down under' either!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43