Steemit Democracy: I'm Voting for These Witnesses Today

Steemit-big.png

Good evening Steemians!

I've been doing quite a bit of reading about the Steemit ecosystem, and today I've decided it's time to participate in Steemit's democratic system and cast my votes for witnesses.

If you're wondering what Steemit Witnesses are, check out my interview with @timcliff at this link where we discuss not only witnessing, but he also shares his journey with Steem, and gives advice to the new users of the platform.

witnesses.jpg

Every Steemit user is allowed 30 witness votes, and they can be changed at any time. As I read more about Steemit's witnesses, I will eventually use all 30 votes, as I believe every single one of us should. Today, I will be casting votes for just 4 witnesses. More on that below.

Why should you care about Witnesses?

Steemit Witnesses are in charge of making a number of decisions that affect Steem currency and Steemit users alike, including hardforks, which are updates in the software, adjustments to Steem as a currency to manage SBD's (this subject was discussed in the @timcliff interview, if you are interested), and many more. These are just a few examples of how important Witnesses are to Steem, and how important it is for Steemians to cast our votes.

In this sense, Steem as a currency is democratic, which is something I am fully behind. Votes for Witnesses can be cast or withdrawn at any time, and at no cost to our voting power.

Today, I'm voting for following votes witnesses:

  • @timcliff : This might not be a surprise, as I interviewed him just a week ago, but Tim's involvement with Steem and his dedication are without question. He is a well known Witness who prides himself on being ethical and fair. Feedback from my audience about Tim was hugely positive, and it's no surprise to me that Tim is one of the top witnesses on Steemit

  • @aggroed and @ausbitbank : From very close to the beginning of my experience on Steemit, @aggroed & @ausbitbank have been a great help to me, but more importantly their initiative of PAL/MSPWaves, also known as the Minnow Support Project, is an endeavor to be hugely commended. If Steem is to succeed, as I will work to ensure, it will be these types of initiatives that will be necessary for its success.

  • @pfunk : Being a drummer myself, I like the idea that there is a witness who has been supporting the musician community on Steemit. I read about pfunk's involvement through a post from @luzcypher who is the host of the open mic contest, which runs every week. His post can be found here.

I invite you, if you have not already done so, to join me in voting for your Steem Witnesses on this page

To all Steemians, I ask which witnesses are you voting for, and why?

Sort:  

Hi @davidpakman. I also vote for these worthy witnesses too however, another one to add to your list for consideration might be @reggaemuffin. For reasons why please see an earlier post of my'n here: https://steemit.com/witness/@scooter77/vote-for-reggaemuffin-as-witness

Great post and thanks for sharing.

Reggaemuffin deserves it!

I would like to suggest considering the @OCD project and the recently launched @ocd-witness.

OCD is a curation project which has curated more than 1,000 authors already, all lead by @acidyo who has manually upvoted each curated post with his own SP as well. These curation projects are integral pillars of the Steem ecosystem and critical to improve member retention.

You can find more information about the OCD witness and everything the project does in this announcement post

You beat me to it. I think that as STEEM grows, having community projects among the top witnesses will be great for the platform.

I have voted for @lukestokes and @dragosroua long ago when I joined the platform (okay, that was not so long ago). @lukestokes is a great guy who was vwry involved in the good of Steem and community, he was talking to Steemit developers when Steemit had a very hard time a few months ago facing performance bottlenecks and article loses and he shared the news to us. He is actually one of the top ten witnesses. @dragosroua has nice articles, he is very active here and answered a lot of my questions. He has devsloped steem.supply which is a tool that can be used to verify payouts and more than that. He is also an ultrarunner which at first I didn't even think that exists (those guys are running over 100km at competitions), but this may seem unrelated.

PS: It's nice to see you have updated the Steemit logo, it makes me feel a little more useful :)

Thanks for your support and encouragement! It's very much appreciated.

Hey, I didn't expected that you will read this comment:)) actually you were the first person I voted as a witness and inspired me a lot. I really wish you the best!

Good post you are talking about witnesses.
They are the oil that keep steem rolling.
So far I vote for 26 of them.
I will look more into them.
Timcliff is always update us.
Blockbrothers, exyle is their speaker.
witness.png

Some might know who vote for them. Again it is a vote for their work in the blockchain.
keep on steemit.

Please consider to vote @jerrybanfield and @transisto too. They give amazing contributions to this community

thanks, will consider that!

Vote us your right.

Thanks for the mention and good choices for witnesses. I have upvoted for them all before this post and they do a lot for the Steemit community.

I have also been thinking about this. I have a couple of witnesses in mind but have decided to spend more time on Steemit, understand it's nuances before casting my vote.

Perfect. Just voted for them and some others. I have more votes just don't know who to cast them on. I was reading their threads

My rule-of-thumb when it comes to voting a Steem witness:

If you're not even able to share with me some % of your precious voting-power, than we don't have a business to talk about.

I can be a Steemian without you, but you can't be a witness without us--minnows!

interesting take!

Great post @davipakman, and great witnesses! I'll never forget @timcliff's support, in fact, i'm going to give him my fist vote for witness as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75