Witness Blocks Challenge - Pay-it-Forward Initiative

challenge

In this update, the main focus will be on The Witness Blocks Challenge by @guiltyparties. That initiative was created to challenge witnesses to make a pledge and describe what their block witness income will be used for. A Pay-it-forward campaign for witnesses in other words.

If you are a new visitor you might not know that I'm very fresh on the witness scene. It has been just a little over 2 weeks since I made my announcement post. A total of 2 blocks have been signed so far. I had a rough start as I missed my first block due to the recent spam attack. I know it was not caused by a fault on my end, but it looks bad for the stats sitting there with 2 blocks and 1 miss...

I'm currently ranked #151 of all witnesses. A bit sad to see so many dead witnesses higher up on the list, but hopefully that will change over time. 😀

As part of my Witness journey, I have @davemccoy by my side. We currently have a number of interesting projects in the pipeline which we hope to be able to release soon.
Please stay tuned!

Witness arrangements

Due to some recent controversy about shared witnesses, using one of the involved partners' accounts, I think it would be good to clarify our setup.

As the witness is under my name, @danielsaori, the full responsibility for the witness is mine. I'm 100% responsible for the technical and financial aspects. In my witness announcement post, I introduced Dave as my "PR & Sales Manager". It makes it sounds like he is an employee 😀, but it was necessary to make the split of responsibilities visible. Personally, I see Dave as a friend, and that was how our cooperation started.

Our agreement is based on a mutual vision and a drive to help new Steemians succeed. We have decided to team up to deliver projects together supporting that vision.

The witness will be used to promote these projects and the witness profits will be used to financially support them.

I hope that makes it more clear how our partnership looks like.

Thanks to all for your support so far!

Witness Blocks Challenge

I have @steemcommunity, powered by @abh12345 and @paulag, to thank for this nomination. This challenge is an opportunity for witnesses to show to the rest of the community what they are doing, or aiming to do with their earnings.

The challenge rules are:

  1. Do something useful for others (i.e. free delegation, account creation for others, etc.) with your witness blocks
  2. Write a post about it
  3. Tag it with #witness-blocks
  4. Nominate a witness

As my witness is still brand new and the two signed blocks so far don't even come close to cover the server costs, the aim of this post will be about the future and what I'm currently doing.

Comment Challenge

In the summer of 2017, I started the Steemit Comment Challenge, a contest where the challenge is to write "godlike comments". Via this initiative, I have paid out more than 400 SBD and delegated about 3000 SP (split over several 1 week periods). The delegation of SP is a new component and I expect to increase that over time.

The comment challenge fits well with the vision to help new Steemians, as it encourages participation and teaches the importance of great and impactful comments.

Curation team

One new initiative I'm working on with Dave is to establish our own curation team, where we delegate a fixed amount to a number of new aspiring Steemians over a period of 4 weeks. We want to keep it at a minimum 4 weeks to minimize the impact of the 7 days retention. This is actually a big issue with the comments challenge where the 1-week delegations actually lock up the SP for 2 weeks instead of 1.

Secret .o.o. Initiative 😎

I wish I could tell you more about this, but to avoid the risk of someone stealing the idea, we have decided to keep it 100% secret. At least I can share that it is another initiative to support newbies, something that can be seen as a helping hand to newbie and minnow profits from their posts and comments.

Closing notes

At the moment, the profit from the witness blocks will be going towards server costs, but as soon as the running costs are covered, the profit will be distributed to support these initiatives.

I want to close by sending a big thanks to @guiltyparties for coming up with this idea.

My Challenge Nomination

I would like to nominate Top 20 witness @followbtcnews. Jeff, I hope you, together with your witness partner @crimsonclad will accept my nomination. 😉

SteemOn Everyone And Thanks For Reading!



Please consider voting me as a Witness.

Vote for @danielsaori

SteemConnect Link

Steemit Link
Vote for danielsaori

Vote for danielsaori

Sort:  
Loading...

I'm glad I already voted you as a witness
And I'm even "glader" I knew you

You're a great personality and you're ready to do a lot for the community already....

P.S: My ears are itching to hear that secret o.o initiative already, lol 😎

I do hope you go far and higher with this witness thing, very soon, I'm sure you'll go higher than 151....

Cheers....to @davemccoy also

Thank you Juliet! And I agree, we will get him higher than 151, I'm confident of it ;)

Because you're solidly behind him, I trust that we will....
Cheers

awww thank you :) .... and cheers to you too!

Thanks as always for your support.
I wish I could tell you more, don't want your ears to itch. 😜

Lol
Okay then....
Patiently waiting....

Great to hear how it's all going and good to hear that it's going well @danielsaori. looking forward to hearing more about your partnership with @davemccoy and your new initiatives.

Wishing you another productive week! 😊

I think you are going to like it Gillian! :)

Well now I'm even more intrigued @davemccoy! How long do we have to await before lift off?😁

see below ;)

Thanks Gillian! Hoping to have something out by the end of the week or early next week about that secret initiative. :)

Wish you a nice and productive week as well.

Thank you @danielsaori. I await with bated breath, as they say! 😁

Sorry, i didn't see it before.
i"M going to vote for you as a witness!

Thank you Abdul! That would be awesome if decide to throw me a vote.

No need for thanks <3
you deserve it brother <3

Just a suggestion... promote Dave from 'manager' to 'executive', a title better suited to the man.

lol... thanks for the promotion Professor!!! Good to see you as always my friend :D

A destitute dime lol inspired by the newbie nickel, :)

haha... I have been trying to come up with a name for a dime and quarter... Not that I have many of them yet, but I'm trying to think ahead ;)

On the newbie theme.. A debutantes dime.
There is an old English word 'Quiddle' We in fact me & you Dave could be described as 'Quiddlers' people who talk about things in great length.
The quarter being the bigger prize would have to contain a bit of length I would imagine.
The Newbie Nickel - starter prize
The Debutantes Dime - posher than a newbie nickel
The Quiddlers Quarter - in terms of reward for newbies this makes them a laureate.
A couple of ideas for you :)

Very nice! I now have something to think about. I was drawing blanks on both... I don't have enough VP yet to make it high priority, but hopefully that day comes at some point! I do like both and the explanation behind them! Good job Professor ;)

In this case you are lucky not to be English, We call 10 pence a 'two bob bit' :)

lol... I like hearing interesting facts like this... Now I'm a little more educated thanks to the Professor!

True! but even that might not do him justice. ;)

Our agreement is based on a mutual vision and drive to help the new Steemians succeed. We have decided to join together to deliver joint projects in support of that vision.

I love it when witnesses talk! is a way to know that the witnesses are there and can read what we can contribute with our comments, I think you have a great team, the friend @ has been a role model for everyone! In fact, the support that the new fish have received has been an inspiring reason to follow and support them, although I would particularly like the help to be extended to the Hispanic communities, which we make a great effort to translate and participate in all the projects at all times. I hope that the successes of today will continue and increase in the future, you have my support as a witness, may God grant you a happy afternoon.

Hi Melva, thank you for your comment and your support. Lovely written! This would have done very well in the comment challenge. :)

Good luck mr. @danielsaori I back

I'm excited about your witness from the perspective that it's a community focused witness, and I really like the fact that you're in cooperation with @davemccoy who who does a huge amount of work to inspire newcomers. I believe these are essential elements in building a Steemit we can all use and enjoy in the long run.

I believe the concept of "synergy" is really important-- the idea that in working together, what we create has more value an impact than the simple sum of our individual parts.

I like the whole transparency focus, as well. We talk about the "importance" of wtinesses, and yet it's slightly disturbing/sad how few of the top 50 (and top 20) witnesses post regular updates.

Following your new initiatives with interest!

=^..^=

I'm also excited and I'm looking forward to the things we hopefully can achieve. I'm also eager to find out how the rest of 2018 will treat the Steem blockchain and the crypto market in general.

As an establish witness it is not that critical to post regular updates. It might be nice, but I think it is more important that they post when there is really something to tell, like a change of operation or a new initiative. And I believe many are good at doing that.

Thank you for your support!

Thanks for this update. I think other witnesses should emulate you by giving us witness update. You have had a rough start, it's still going to be lot better

I believe a majority of the witnesses are providing updates. Not all of them does it weekly, but as a new witness, I think it is important to get your words out and to show the rest of the community your true intent.

Thank you for your comment.

Can't wait to see this take off, so when you say to help newbies, are you speaking of minnows as well?.

Hi Teevmoore! Yes, it is meant for minnows and smaller. Bigger accounts can probably participate as well, but it wouldn't make so much sense. One thing we need to decide is if we restrict it to bigger accounts or just leave it available for everyone. Sorry for being vague without spoiling any details. ;)

Oh no, thank you for replying to my question. I had did a blog and included @witness-blocks in the hash tag, hopefully you had the opportunity in reading it, or whenever you have the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57135.10
ETH 2349.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39