What does Witch mean to you?

in #witch5 years ago

Well Witches a very close subject to me!

IMG_20180520_130225.jpg

But first I don't normally enter these competitions as it normally takes my so long to write anything I just run out of time so have not started. I read to much on here and need to readjust my efforts to more content. But seeing as @alchemage named meI feel obliged too, and where better to start a new trend. The competition is from @naturalmedicine and is as follows: Week 1 Round Up: WHAT DOES WITCH MEAN TO YOU? 20 SBD of prizes!

Are you sitting comfortably ... then I shall begin!

Witch ... Well as I have said before I like to keep vaguely anonymous on here mainly due to work constraints but for this post I will have to reveal a little to aid this post. I live in a rather famous area in Lancashire England which is very closely connected with witches. But the area is famous for having a very high number witches in the 16th century who were subject to trials at Lancaster castle; so as you can imagine there is a lot of history to read and walks and buildings relating to witches. The woods you often seen me in are the woods where these witches would have wondered or practised. But these trials back in the day show how badly thought of they were it was something evil and sinister about what they were doing. In my view these were modern day western shaman, well the majority of them, some did jump on the band wagon as it were. If you read the history the problems came when the catholic church and Henry Viii, the area around Pendle hill was deemed by the authorities to be lawless and and wild; maybe thats why the universe placed my here to settle kind of a setting place for me.

What witch it mean to me then?

IMG20170715WA0048.jpeg

Years ago if you would have asked me I would have probably gone along with the typical narrative of witch being a crow nosed old hag who cast evil spells. But hey that's what they want us to think; as it is portrayed in the propaganda machines. Ask me now and i'd be the opposite!

Being a reiki healer I was attuned back in 2011 my perspective on the world has changed. I now try and use natural remedies where ever possible and will often head into the woods to collect some nettles (season permitting) and am currently researching about natural medicines and the like. I promoted as much of this as I can in my life to friend patients and who ever will take in on board. For obvious reason I can go to natural on my patients hence my big project but thats for another day! And I just had another thought about the universe bringing me back here (the back bit was not intended but feel it should stay now) to start my natural OT centre. Hold on wait a minute rewinded back to the 16th century in this very spot holy shit I would be deemed as a witch, hey that's kinda cool. As a nipper I alway thought a male witch was a wizard another propaganda issue but i now realise this in not the case males can be witches too!

So looking into what witches really were or are; we see their healers or should I say natural healers. These are your Shaman or witch doctors in other pastures. As many words and situations in modern days the reality has been twisted. A witch to me is a person who connects with natural healing and power, they know how to utilise it to both positive or negative means, but I think more than often its positive. This is something I'd like to investigate more, personally I think I am more of a Shaman and am looking to learn more from this aspect. Now I have learnt this through my meditations and the universe synchronicities, but thats another post.

Conclusion...

I feel I have ranted my way through this but I will try and conclude some sense from it! I think my point has come across witches to me are healer who use natural remedies and spells which could just be techniques that are not commonly know to the masses. All in all I guess i'm kinda a witch in training as I want to learn Shamanism and also natural remedies. The problem is again words have been tainted and made bad maybe you'd call a witch a homeopath, reiki healer, shaman or herbalist these days. But overall these all come under the umbrella term of alternative medicines which witches were said to practice! So there you go that my answer!

vibeof100monkeysbanner.png

Sort:  

I'm so glad @riverflows tagged me in this post... I was also trained in reiki in 2007 and between that and Taijiquan began the Beginnings of my formal introduction into energy works and (I didn't know it at the time but) shamanism as well. I'm glad you brought up modern western shamanism, as shamanism in general is so diverse in its scope, and there is a real emergence in the western world. It's literally popped up in every culture, in many different forms, so why not the western world!
It has certainly been demonized through the ages, but I think a lot of that is from fear of unknown as well as fear of taking responsibility of the self, energy, and relationships in life. People tend to push away what they don't understand, especially when it has to do with the self, which the practice of shamanism really demands that knowledge of self, inherently.
I love chatting on this topic. Hit me up if you are ever up for a chat!
Great post, really enjoyed it.

Xx ToL

Posted using Partiko Android

ToL,
What do you mean with the fear of taking responsibility of the self? i didn't get that☺

Posted using Partiko Android

I think in this context, it's partly owning our own feelings (no matter what they are), accepting them for what they are, and also being responsible for our own energetics... What we allow in to our own personal energy fields. It's especially important for empaths, this taking of responsibility, as many empaths are open doors so to speak for all the energies around, whether beneficial for the individual or not. By knowing the self, knowing what is our own feelings and own experience in the present (even if it's about a past situation, if practicing for example familial or ancestral transmutation), we can differentiate between what is ours and what is external, and make decisions on what energies we are taking in to ourselves so that we don't become "victims" to energetics or in situations that don't support our being.
Many people are stuck in victim patterning (most people in one way or another, I catch myself in victim speak a lot still, and I've been practicing these things for a long time!) and many do not recognize those patterns as even existing, let alone as being harmful for self. It's scary to take power into the self, as the indication is usually that we have to take responsibility for who we are and our actions, our choices, our behaviors to do it. And it brings more feelings (ie guilt, shame, self loathing) that we usually try to push away rather than just accept in a non judgemental way as integral parts of the self. 😊

How does that land to you? I'd love to know! For some it is a challenging concept to swallow.

Xx

Thank you.
First...becoming spiritual. To fully understand this part needs courage and a lot of work, this i acknowledged being a beginner.
To differentiate external energies to oneself...needs self-learning first..which i got no clue on how without overwhelming myself.
Accepting those feelings is where am a bit better in recognising that loving myself is quite important.. if i don't like some of them, i can forgive myself then work on them too and move on.

How's that? Cheers ToL!

For sure these connections keep cropping up. Would be great to catch up i'm always keen chat about these type of thinks. I am looking to get into Shamanism I feel this is my calling the next stage of my journey. Happy Solstice 💯🐒

I hear ya, that's exactly how I "fell into" it myself. Looking forward to connecting! 😊🙏

Oh thanks for writing - off to google where you live... When I lived in England, I imagined witches and ghosts of Roman soldiers and vikings and monks and all sorts of things (and quite literally saw some of them, I believe) - it's got such a rich history in that regard. I'd love to read/hear more of the witch histories in your area - have you written on them before?

The problem is again words have been tainted and made bad maybe you'd call a witch a homeopath, reiki healer, shaman or herbalist these days. But overall these all come under the umbrella term of alternative medicines which witches were said to practice! So there you go that my answer!

And yes, that's the general consensus for sure. @thetreeoflife is a shaman in training -you should chat! x

So where is Lancashire?😂🤣😄
Every pond in England am sure that one or 2 were thrown in it to check.

I do love it well the environment not much else. I have sensed things when sleeping in the woods but not seen anything. Have heard stories a plenty though.

Thanks for the connection I sure will 💯🐒

I’m glad to see your response to this prompt :)

I bet your town is full of bewildering stories and history. It’s wild how much media can influence our opinions on things. I definitely agree with what you say a witch is, a practitioner of alternative medicine!

Great post, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the prompt definitely the motivation :)

Well more a Hamlet this there are under 1000 people in and no shops or anything well theres a pub!

Yer sure are and the woods definitely have a special feeling. Interesting writing this how much I am connected with the history of this place with my way of think and life 💯🐒

Presumably...the female witches all look like old hags in drab greys with pointed hats. But then again, Hermione and Harry look cute...
I do agree that both sexes can be a witch. So best of luck with that training! Cheers.

Your not wrong there hollywood stance haha. But we are painted a picture from an early age but only truly know when we see things in the flesh 💯🐒

You know...even now, this is a way to manipulate and dissuade people about things, paint the wrong picture, assasinate the character. And we wouldn't know otherwise unless we dig deeper and find out.

That time is changing isn't it?

Posted using Partiko Android

It is changing and the hundredth monkey is stirring. People are seeing thought the media manipulation 💯🐒

Yeah..but still needs a lot of work. u think in UK, the majority knew?
We'll get there that's for sure☺

Posted using Partiko Android

100th monkey? lemme read on this one☺

Posted using Partiko Android

Do I big on it and its coming! I did a post a while back https://steempeak.com/life/@vibeof100monkeys/vibeof100monkeys-its-in-the-name which covers it 💯🐒

thank you..saw the vid. Am more hopeful than ever...will get there.

Its coming slowly but it is 💯 🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75