mininthecity winter bikes

in #winter6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-12-28 at 7.56.10 PM.png

Now that I can feel my fingers again, I'll share my initial experiences as a winter biking first-timer. Since selling my vehicle in November, I've been car-free by choice. This decision supports my passion for environmental consciousness and the desire to expand my opportunities for personal growth.

In the spirit of online community building, I started a youtube channel the same week I joined steemit. Check out my first two videos and look for the steemit promotion in the first one :)

I've been an avid cyclist for a few years during every season in the Midwest except the snowy one. I'm finally venturing out in this white wonderland on a mountain bike with a front studded tire. And it is ADDICTING! The challenges, both mental and physical, are welcome as I value self growth. I feel fiercely independent navigating the city powered at times by what feels like sheer will power, especially when my fingers and toes go numb. As I experiment with gear and layering, it can be hard to ignore the discomforts (a body drenched in sweat while my extremities are begging for heat), forcing me to tap into my mental abilities. Can I warm my hands and feet by focusing my mind on sending heat where I need it? We have a wide range of weather here and it changes dramatically, and sometimes quickly. Pushing the limits of what I thought I was capable of is teaching me about myself and motivating people in my life to challenge themselves. While I'm a role model to others, I greatly appreciate my own mentors. I am fortunate to have friends who are hard core winter cyclists, willing to share trials, errors, and triumphs. Finally, friends who cheer me on and family members who don't understand, yet support me with love, are invaluable.

As soon as I buy a GoPro camera I'll share more of my rides online. The Minneapolis area offers fantastic winter scenery! I will do my best to take at least one winter biking road trip, too. Thanks for viewing and please share your own cycling experiences or questions. As with any new hobby or adventure, building community adds to the experience. Full steem ahead!

#bicycle

Sort:  

Congratulations @mininthecity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

I'm so glad to see this post and I checked out the #thankyoubicycle community page. "Joined" :) Is there a recommended way to share the banner? I copied and pasted the image link and two showed up. Thanks for any advice! Pedal on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30