After the soul-stitch

in #winter6 years ago (edited)

After the soul-stitch

original poetry


winter_solstice__by_sparkle_photography-d89qw2k.jpg


Once the looming soul-stitch burst
And its black fabrications blanketed the earth
With melancholy ash– only then did we feel the chill
Of the eternal winter that suspends crystalline all animatrons.

Glacial in ever-lagging inertia
We sleep in furnished caverns
And stew the days away.

Our cauldron overflowing
With conceptions contradictory
And vague, quite bland yet sufficient
To maintain us through stony decades.

Through prehistoric inklings
That dance on cave walls we travel time
& arrive somewhere it is spring
So again we can believe.

It is not so much that winter makes us doubt
But that it shows the other side
Of what is loathed: grisly beauty
That soft souls would see denied
To us betrothed, we marry darkness
In the fullness of our being.

Now unclothed, we leave aside the bridal veil
And darkest gloom: to dance amongst the stars
In blackest bliss sewed through a starry loom.


winter_solstice_by_waynebenedet-d4kwz4i.jpg


winter_solstice_by_waynebenedet-d4kwz4i 3.jpg

Notes


This is a reflection on the introversion and isolation many experience during winter, especially once the solstice has passed and the chill fully penetrates to the core. It feels as if it may never be spring again. It is also a rumination on the relative slowness of humans, always a few steps behind the universe's incessant transformations. Though we dread the cold and darkness, we are also married to it. Once we become fully bared to harsher truths, their flavor often becomes more palatable. Stay warm my friends! This winter, too, shall end.

Love,
@d-pend
2/5/18

winter_solstice_by_waynebenedet-d4kwz4i 2.jpg


winter_solstice_by_sun_seeker.jpg


the_end_of_a_solstice_by_kirliancamera 2.jpgwinter_solstice_by_sun_seeker 3.jpg

Written by
@d-pend
2/5/18
.
Photos by

.
1 ~ "Winter solstice" by SparklePhotography
2 ~ "Winter solstice" by WayneBenedet
3 ~ "Winter solstice" by Sun-Seeker
4 ~ "The end of solstice" by KirlianCamera


winter_solstice_by_sun_seeker 2.jpgthe_end_of_a_solstice_by_kirliancamera 3.jpg


the_end_of_a_solstice_by_kirliancamera.jpg


Sort:  

What a beautiful poem. Beautiful words and beautiful thoughts. The part about the magical and dreamless connection with our cave-dwelling ancestors through the light of the fires and the paintings in the cave walls touches me specially 'cause I've always dreamed of reading the minds of primitive peoples though the thin veil of time. How many Neanderthals and early humans died in the cold glacial winters? How many fearsome monsters of the imagination are based on real monsters that roamed the earth, their hunger whetted by the harsh winter?

Fascinating thoughts my friend @sansoncarrasco... I appreciate you transmitting your ruminations, and happy you picked up the implication of that part :-)

Wonderful metaphor:

Once the looming soul-stitch burst
And its black fabrications blanketed the earth
With melancholy ash–

Anyone who knows winter will agree. The word "winter" seems to have the origins from something to death but I like to think of it as rest just like there are rests in music. The downs of solitude are given for us to reflect away from the noise of Spring. Walking outside in fresh fallen snow everything is quiet and still. Just when it seems hopeless for life to return then the first signs of Spring bloom.

Being a little more north of the equator, You get to enjoy the solace of the longer nights........and all the damn show shovelling.

Part of the cure is winter sports, a warm vacation, and good friends on steemit to provide lyrical entertainment.

Love it. Not sure when I clicked follow but glad I did.

Haha! I've never had the...pleasure of having to shovel snow, as my present home in the NC mountains is the coldest place I've ever lived (it's not too bad.) I agree that we can learn to provide our own remedy to winter's potential bleakness by our choice of activity and attitude. Thanks a lot for the comment @zekepickleman!

We are buckling down for a winter storm in St. Louis. This poem is just right to the feel of the incoming storm.

This has some heaviness to it.

JGV

Stay warm friend! Glad it was synchronistic, and I agree, there is a bit of heft here. Have a great night @jgvinstl :-D

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 8.51$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Your poetry is so captivating @dpend. Your words make my soul stronger, brighter and deeper. It really shows your talent and skills. It's your great creativity. I love this poetry and images that you have shared. Thank you so much for sharing your feelings and thoughts.

Thanks a lot for your comment @anayakhan :-) I'm happy you get that effect from my work. Have you ever tried writing poetry? It's quite therapeutic :-D

I am not that gifted:( but I try to read some good poetry:)

you really have a talent for this @d-pend. this is mainly because of your approach in making sure that your message reaches the audience. doesn't matter if the reader is into poetry, arts or even in music to appreciate and hear your messages. i guess it has something to do with your intention. the conveying of emotions through your imaginations and relating it (in this context) winter is beyond exemplary.
very deep yet easy to dig! kudos sir! ^_^

Oh wow that's a huge compliment @iamkuyaj. Connecting with people is definitely a main motivator. Otherwise I am just scribbling for my own satisfaction! I will continue to focus in that area and try to get even better at building bridges. Thanks for the comment!

you are welcome @d-pend :)
the audience will always know the intention behind any art masterpieces. ^^)

Being someone who lives where we get multiple feet of snow and negative degree weather, that poem really resonates. It doesn't matter if you are living in prehistoric times or at the present, you captured what winter is like physically and emotionally. Great job.

Wow, that sounds pretty brutal. Glad you thought it encapsulated this time of year well :-) Appreciate you checking out my blog @rivendale!

This is so beautiful!! The imagery, your choice of words and how you fashioned them only reflects how brilliant your thoughts are! I am most certainly in love with this poetry! Keep on inspiring this world with your magnificent thoughts!!! ❤

Thanks for your encouraging message @brewingstories! I enjoyed your Thursday freewrite about light and darkness. You keep it up too! :o)

Not half as good as your writings, but I try! 😂 Thank you for reading it btw 🤗

Well said and beautiful at the same time. I usually head for the warmer climates in the winter, but this year...dang there is a lot of snow :)

Yeah, I grew up my whole childhood in Dallas, TX and went to college in Nashville so this is my first slightly colder winter, since I moved to the mountains in NC. It's not that bad, though. I actually like winter, maybe because I was born in December :-) I also adore the snow, which I rarely got to experience when I was younger. However, once spring arrives it is always a happy occasion :o)

You said you got a lot of snow, what area?

The way you used imageries to describe the winter, it's so amazing, I mean it wasn't even an intended praise but yet you made sure you left the reader in awe.
This is a free verse without really a metric arrangement, and I love the way you flew in and out of the rhythm.

Amsxing work buddy I'm awed again

Thanks @josediccus. I love using free verse because of the fluidity and ability to shift surprisingly. What's your favorite metre?

I love using the four line per stanza format, with a rhyme pattern but at most cases I go with the free verses too, it's always amazing when one uses free verses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81