The Wim Hof Diaries . . . Taking The Icy Plunge!

in #wimhofdiaries5 years ago

bath.png

Previously I had been using my gym showers for my cold therapy, they weren't the best but they got pretty cold and I found it really helped muscle recovery after heavy workouts.

Alas I cannot afford my old gym membership any more, and my new gym's showers manage to spurt out a pitiful dribble at best. Plus you can't control the temperature, it's warm or nothing.

I'm one of the few people in the western world that don't have a shower in their bathroom, and the thought of having a cold bath didn't fill me with joy.

Anyway, today I had a huge workout, and I knew that without cold therapy I'd be stiff as a board tomorrow.
So about 20 minutes ago I got into a pretty cold bath, not ice, or as cold as it could be, but pretty close to that.

Before hand I did a round of Wim Hof breathing and holding my breath for about 90 seconds or so. It was a really good session and the first I've done in the evening for a long time.

I did that because I find I warm up naturally and often have to remove clothing to cool down during my breaths in the morning, so I figured it would be good prep for a cold dip.

*(The bath wasn't full and I don't usually get dizzy after the breathing (safety first!)).

##The Plunge

I got straight in and managed to sit down pretty immediately. It was bracing to say the least. I leant back and slid my body down, poking my knees above the water, even dipping the back of my head in.

After about 15 seconds I started shivering, I tried to focus on relaxing, but had to sit up again, fighting the urge to jump out.

Then I just said to myself; "you're going back under, force yourself if you have to!"

So I stretched my arms to my toes and brought my face to the water, got a good stretch, sat up straight, and sunk back in again.
I lasted about another 12 seconds.

Maybe.

The Charge

I then got out and patted myself dry, shivering violently all the way.

But here's the thing...

I had this big idiot grin on my face, I felt frickin amazing!

Also I had this sharp, not altogether unpleasant metallic taste in my mouth. On top of that my fingers and toes, forearms and shins had a tingling like I'd never felt. It was kind of like thin ice crystals, shooting up my arms and legs.

The sensation was just incredible.

By the time I had got to drying my feet, my shivering had abated and I was just left with a big silly grin, and an urge to tell you lot about my experience.

I've told my inner chimp (shout out to Prof. Stephen Thompson fans) to expect that again. I definitely want to experience some more of that!

All in all, I lasted about a minute, it felt like 2 or 3, but realistically I don't think it was anywhere near that.

So I hope that's inspired some of you doing the Wim Hof method, who like me, have just been copping out by doing the breathing only, to just go ahead and take the chilly, cleansing, refreshing plunge.

Just do it for ten seconds, go on, I dare ya, do it... do it...

go on...

DO IT!
😀

HAVE YOU TRIED THE WIM HOF METHOD YET? OR PERHAPS YOU'RE A FAN OF COLD BATHS OR SHOWERS ANYWAY? IF NOT ARE YOU CURIOUS TO TRY? WHATEVER THE CASE, AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Duplicated as a facebook post
Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I haven’t officially tried it in the way of sitting in the Arctic naked but I do apply some of the principles in certain situations and did try it last time I used the plunge pool!

Nice, you mean plunge pool after a sauna? I love the contrasting feeling of doing that.

I've only done one since writing this post, I should do it again... hmm, maybe today.

Cg

I took an salt/ice bath once and held my head under the freezing cold ice water fo 30 seconds to win a bet and made 50 bucks, thanks for asking!

Wim Hof fan here! Taking cold shower every morning the past 2 years. And swim in open water during winter 👌

Nice! I'm not such an open (green) water fan, but I'd love to progress to a point where I could do one of those Nordic chilly dips :-)

Cg

It's very warm in Nothern Europe at the moment. But water temperature during winter and autumn is around 2-7 degrees Celsius. So that's when I like it 💪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28