Synereo's WildSpark beta - First impressions

in #wildspark7 years ago (edited)

So I just got accepted into the WildSpark beta.

WildSpark is created by the Synereo team and uses the cryptocurrency AMP to curate and share web content. It is currently in beta stage and new members are being added every day.

I didn't really know what to expect, but I figured I should atleast try to get into the beta. Today, I got the mail telling me I was accepted into the beta. Now for some reason, I could not use the Playful Foodie (or Playfulfoodie, etc.) name.

So if anyone stole my name, [instert lots of bad words here]!

Anyway, so I had to go with Anteia instead, which wasn't taken yet and is my go-to game name.

So the first step certainly did not go as planned and I hope the name isn't too important in WildSpark. But with the extension installed and armed with a less than ideal name, I started checking it out. Now you have to remember, I did not read up at all about what WildSpark would let me do.

Wildspark

I was on Youtube and checked out the icon. Looks neat. I verified my account by linking it to Facebook and hey! I got 10 AMP. Now this is what is used to curate content. Where Steemit allows you to upvote for free (you simply lose some voting power, which regenerated automatically), WildSpark needs you to curate by donating your AMP.

I was missing the icon on other tabs, which were opened on other sites. Turns out that WildSpark allows you to curate Youtube content. So I can't just surf the web for other stuff. I don't know if this will change in the future, but for now: Youtube only, check!

This is where I decided to check out a video to explain things to me. It made things much clearer! Apparently, you donate some AMP to the video and that creates you your own personal ref link. You can use this link to bring others to the video and they, in turn, can also donate their AMP. If they do so, not only the content creator earns AMP, but the curator does aswell.

Wildspark

So I made a link to a Poets of the Fall music video by donating some AMP. This is what the link looks like: http://go.wildspark.me/26s37

As you can see, it doesn't do the regular thing Youtube links do when you post them to Steemit. It doesn't show the video. I guess it shouldn't either, because people will have to visit the Youtube page to donate. I also shared it to Facebook, where they did show the video.

Wildspark

You can also check out your currency and followers. Now how you can find people to follow, I don't know yet. From what I read, https://www.wildspark.me/ will become a central hub, so I think once that happens, there will be more for me to check out.

The WildSpark extension itself looks pretty good and it hides itself well when you don't want to use it:

I'm very curious to see what the website will be like once they release it as the central hub for all the shared content. Exciting stuff!

Has anyone else gotten into the beta yet? Have I missed any functionalities?


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |


Want to satisfy your creative needs?Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

For now, you can sign up for the beta through this link: https://www.wildspark.me/


Sort:  

This is a weird concept. I have to spend money first, than spam the internet in order to other people spend their money so I can get something in return.

It's like one big referral program, a pyramid. Hope it won't make it, otherwise people will spam whole internet with their amp links.

Yeah, that's basically what it looks like, but I figure, as long as it's not popular, and I mean, mainstream like Facebook, you need a community hub to even earn. I shared the link on Facebook, but none of my friends know about WildSpark, let alone use it, so they can click it, but they will never spend AMPs on it and I will not earn.

I think their website (which is still in the making) will be the most important part of this whole thing.

It says it will give me free 20 AMP if linked to my Facebook account. I did and I got no AMPs.

Also, after you logout. How to sign in back?

Aww I'm sorry, I'm not quite sure! You use a chrome plugin, right? For me, there's a small icon in the top right of my browser screen, do you have that aswell? I'd think you can use that icon to sign back in if you log out.

wildspark looks promising I'm still waiting to be approved on beta.. how long did you wait to get accepted?

I got in this morning, but I signed up a month or two ago I think. I might have signed up a few months before that aswell, so I'm not sure if that one stuck or it was the last one :-)

I guess it still early for me get approved, i signed up few days ago. i will follow you once i get there

By then, if you can tell me how to follow people, I will follow you back :D

I signed up about 3 weeks ago.

hi ... thanks for the post !! - ))
.. i signed up today - ))
.. not sure when i'll get in ?? - ))
nor, how it will play OUT ???? - ))

.. but, i'm curious - )))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

.. here is a picture from a post i'm working on - ))

I'm really curious to see how the site will play out!
That's a beautiful painting :-)

.. i'm curious too ??? - )))
The potential .. 'feels' .. hmmm ??? - )))
GooD .. seems lame .. and GREAT feels to big - ))
.. for now - )))

.. thanks for the 'compliment' - ))
and, for the upvote on "itchy's" POST - )))

SO nice hearing people's 'connection' to STEEM - ))
.. i like that - )))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48