WILD & STRANGE CONTEST - Season 5 Round 4 - POETRY CONTEST - 50 STEEM FOR THE WINNER

in #wildnstrange7 years ago (edited)

Attention all poets and creative writers! 50 STEEM is on the line!


Round 4 of Season 5 of my WILD & STRANGE Contest has officially started! It’s time to out your pens to page and print your prose! The grand prize for this round will be 50 STEEM. Who wants to give it a go?

Here is the progression that this contest follows.


ROUND 1 = PHOTO – Take a photo to enter – COMPLETED


ROUND 2 = ART – Use winning photo from Round 1 to make a piece of art – COMPLETED


ROUND 3 = MEME – Use winning art from Round 2 to make a meme – COMPLETED


ROUND 4 = POETRY – Use winning meme from Round 3 to make a poem - STARTING NOW


ROUND 5 = SONG – Use winning poem from Round 4 to make an original song.

Contest Progression Thus Far

In Round 1, @liberty-minded won the photo contest with this entry! It was his winning photo that provided the inspiration for the artwork in Round 2, which had many excellent entries. Eventually, I had to call this one the winner.

This winning artwork from @fubar-bdhr was the base for the MEME contest in Round 3. Round 3 also was an incredible round with many excellent entries submitted.

AND THE WINNER IS...

@skcamper


This winning meme from @skcamper will be the inspiration for you poetry in Round 4. Thanks very much to all who entered. I seriously appreciate your participation, even though I did not reply to all the entries that came in. A lot of originality and creativity was put into your entries, and it took a lot for me to choose one as the winner.

Here are the rules for Round 4:


  • Create an original poem based on the winning meme from @skcamper.
  • The poem must be at least 8 lines long.
  • The poem must rhyme in some way.
  • The poem will be used as lyrics for a song next round, so you may want to keep that in mind.
  • Enter original work and provide your entry in a reply to this post.
  • You can still make a post out of your entry, but your post does not count as an entry, only your reply.
  • Keep everything kid-friendly and G rated.
  • You must enter by midnight next Sunday (CST) in order for your entry to be considered valid.
  • By entering, you are giving me full permission to use your entry however I wish.

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Thank you so much papa-pepper! First time I won anything in my life Lol !

Good win, that's over $100! Now let's see the poems you'll inspire!

This is my entry

Of Peanuts and Nuts

I brought peanuts for a potluck
Ya, I know it sucks
The host thought that I was a nut
But then I was stuck in a rut

For when I was down and out
And my life was heading nowhere but south
Peanuts and nuts were my sustenance
As I pray and say my penance

Oh how do I get out of this situation
Before it drives me to desperation
That's why I must win this contest
By putting my skills to the test

Papa-pepper has thrown me a lifeline
Now I enjoy my salted peanuts in the airline
Living life in the fast lane
Shuttling around the globe in airplane
Of peanuts and nuts
Never will I forget that they once fill my gut.

@papa-pepper
How do you judge the winner? It is based on the number of votes that each entry gets?

No, I just pick the one that I like the best. No real formula or criteria, sorting through it now.

Keeping my fingers crossed and hope to get the results soon. Do follow me if you like poems and positive posts.

Nuts by jaybird – June 13 2017

Nuts nuts nuts, sometimes you drive me nuts
You never want to talk to me, what’s happening to us?

Won’t talk about the elephant, sitting in the room
Sometimes it feels like I’m from Earth and you’re from the Blue Lagoon

We tried to take vacation and spend it on the beach
I went swimming with the fishes while you toured the coral reefs

I thought that I got through to you and that this time you’d open up
I’ve laid awake so many night thinking did we do enough?

Can’t get it passed my peanut brain, I just can’t give you up
I want to know you inside out but sometimes you drive me nuts

Nuts nuts nuts, sometimes you drive me nuts
You never want to talk to me what’s happening to us?

Is this song is about a man and his elephant…?

Haha great meme and Congrats to the winner @skcamper ! For some reason I couldn't get the photo onto meme maker ! But I will do my best to enter the poem contest ! 👍👍👍
I just hit 1000 followers @papa-pepper ! Its so exciting for me ! Thanks for being one of them and helping out along the way , over these 11 months ,What a ride it has been ! Heres the link if you get a chance later to check it out !! Steem on my friend ! https://steemit.com/steemit/@karenmckersie/wowzza-1000-followers-celebration-time-promotional-steemit-post#@tj4real/re-karenmckersie-wowzza-1000-followers-celebration-time-promotional-steemit-post-2017613t123811217z

Thanks Karen! Congrats on 1000!!

thanks ! And your welcome !👍👍👍

awe thanks for checking it out its much appreciated !

Loading...
Loading...

Peanuts, we nuts
Gladly talk about trees and crust

Ball games cracker jack
You already know we wack

Elephant beside me in the ocean
Underwater with the fishes coastin'

In the waves this is a race
Wet and wild in this place

Loading...

Elephant looking far and wide,

Up, down and side to side,

Looking for peanuts he could not find,

In the physical realm, or deep recesses of his mind,

Searching and finding nothing but bland,

On the surface of the earth a barren wasteland,

In a last-ditch effort took deep to the sea,

At last he found a nut, but of a different variety,

Inflicted with crazy!, no wait insanity,

The very last one of all humanity.

You are in @kepo777! (and my Goji Berry plant is looking great!)

Yup! I use to do a lot of poetry from 7th-12th grade and thought this shouldn't be to hard and looked at the parameters, at first I thought how am I going to make a poem that makes sense and relates to the meme. It's only when I started writing it out on paper did it start to come together nicely. I did have to play around a little with certain lines but for the most part it flowed out on it's own. (That's great to hear about your Goji Berry plant! I have to do an update soon on mine. They just started putting out berries and are taller than my fence.) I'm happy for all your success you have achieved on Steemit and wish you much more in the future! You deserve it!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65