THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 48 – TIGER SALAMANDER

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is one of my favorite salamanders!


The Tiger Salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum) in the largest and most widespread salamander in North America, however, it is unlikely that you will encounter many of them.

A member of the mole salamander family, much of the adult life of Tiger Salamanders is spent underground in burrows. Their size and color make them a striking specimen when you actually do get the chance to see them.

A special thanks goes out to The Ridges Sanctuary & Nature Center in Baileys Harbor, WI for this one. While touring their sanctuary and nature center on Friday, they allowed me to remove this Tiger Salamander from its display case to use in my video. We had an amazing time both walking the sanctuary paths and touring the nature center, and I plan on featuring it in an upcoming post.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 48

TIGER SALAMANDER


If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-tiger-salamander



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Not for some species!

Are you finding all these animals in Wisconsin? I can't remember seeing half the amount of animals in southeastern Wisconsin. Are you up north?

Oh now I see Arkansas. Just confused!

Where in Southeastern Wisconsin? Some of that is pretty densely populated by humans, which can mean less amphibians and reptiles.

Definitely! I grew up near Milwuakee, mostly in Menomonee Falls. I enjoy your passion for amphibians and reptiles!

These last few have all been in Wisconsin. They have seven species of salamanders up here, of which I've recently shown two. Found a few snakes and frogs too. If it has the red "WISCONSIN ADVENTURES" at the bottom of the cover image, it is Wisconsin for sure, but some other ones are too.

Thank you for sharing... another learnings! It actually looks scary for me.

Cute charmander! I mean salamander! Good job @papa-pepper! :)

Chances are as you say I will never see one, but at least now I have seen one and learnt a bit, thanks for sharing

That Salamander is awesome! You are super cool!

Wow that is one big Salamander! I've only seen very small ones before. They're very elusive to say the least. I'm surprised you were able to hold it like that. I've never tried catching or picking one up before.

The area I live in is home to a type of salamander called a Hellbender. I have never seen one up close and I've only seen pictures of them but they can grow to 2 feet long. They live in the Smoky Mountains in TN, NC, VA and some other eastern states.

I am familiar with HELLBENDERS, but never met one yet. I have caught a few Mudpuppies up here though.

Wow looks more like a lizard
But oh papa wow i'm suprised you not scared of anything at all. That's awesome

That is a chubby salamander. His colors are awesome, he reminds me of some type of shark or something. Very cool @papa-pepper.

They can be chubby for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97